English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 July 2019, 23:25   #281
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
I don't understand. I've been waiting for years and now we are expecting for 060's from Jens (ACA 1260) and also from Poland (Warp 1260) and the Vampire 1200...

All at the same time?

Last edited by Retrofan; 21 July 2019 at 23:40.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 22 July 2019, 08:52   #282
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
I have three questions for you about Vampire Standard and V4 Standalone.

- Does FFPlay work on the Vampire?

- Can NetSurf by Arti display Youtube videos in MP4 format?

- AfA OS, can AmikitX be installed on the Vampire?

Any of the vampire's owners can answer this question of mine? Thank you.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 22 July 2019, 10:31   #283
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I don't understand. I've been waiting for years and now we are expecting for 060's from Jens (ACA 1260) and also from Poland (Warp 1260) and the Vampire 1200...

All at the same time?
you have alternative to choose
Seiya is offline  
Old 22 July 2019, 13:20   #284
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I don't understand. I've been waiting for years and now we are expecting for 060's from Jens (ACA 1260) and also from Poland (Warp 1260) and the Vampire 1200...

All at the same time?

I'll believe it when I see it.
Where exactly are they going to source a large amount of 060 CPUs?
They are scarce (not to mention expensive) these days.


As for the V1200, after waiting years for it I'm actually disappointed.
Only 128MB of memory? for this price?

In this regard, that would be a step back for me, as I currently have 256MB in my 1200
UberFreak is offline  
Old 22 July 2019, 17:08   #285
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Any of the vampire's owners can answer this question of mine? Thank you.
I'll give it a shot on my A500 when I get home tonight. NetSurf and IBrowse are actually usable on it, I'll give it that much! Much more so than they are on my CSPPC with 060@50.
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 22 July 2019, 18:46   #286
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Any of the vampire's owners can answer this question of mine? Thank you.

I did not try ffplay nor playing videos through NetSurf but I confirm AfaOS works well since FPU is available (GOLD2.7)
TuKo is offline  
Old 22 July 2019, 20:36   #287
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,174
FFPlay is very important and is the only Player on OS3 that allows you to run video AVI, FLV, MP4, M4V, MOV, MKV, DiVX, XiVID, MPG, FLI, ASF and Audio WMA, M4A, MP3 ect, My AROS One 68k distro uses FFPlay for the files association.

NetSurf Play MP4 Video Youtube
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1_c...UanicNWpVwSZLU


About AFA-OS at the moment I have not seen any video where the Vampire performs this extension, found AmikitX but AfA-OS and Icons DualPNG seems to be disabled.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 22 July 2019 at 20:48.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 23 July 2019, 22:30   #288
Ledfoot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Posts: 61
I would have to check on FFPlay. I know there is some video player on the coffin OS but I forget which one.

Also, keep in mind that most stuff on the Vampire right now is still compiled for 68000, or at best 040/060. There is ongoing work to support the 080 in GCC by Bebbo with support from the Apollo team and that might actually yield some additional performance improvements for critical software like FFPlay, etc. where the source code can be rebuilt to take advantage of the processor improvements and possibly the new AMMX instructions as well.

I put in my declaration of interest/preorder at Vesalia for the V4SA last weekend before the posts went up showing the preorder page so hopefully I’m pretty early on the list!
Ledfoot is offline  
Old 23 July 2019, 23:59   #289
Dr_Procton
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Forli'
Posts: 28
FFplay 060 fpu binary works perfectly on vampire as expected. But it's a linux port that uses ixemul libraries and is not very efficient. It's good for windowed animations with moderate resolution. Riva plays another league on vampire..
Dr_Procton is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 00:12   #290
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,174
@Dr_Procton
RIVA, what do you want to do with it, Riva only sees Video MPG1, an old format that you will never find anywhere on the net, FFPLay reads all the latest generation Audio and Video Multimedia formats, as well as allowing you to watch Videos on Youtube in MP4.
The ffmpeg package that includes FFPlay is cross-platform and also exists for Windows.

@Ledfoot
On CoffinOS it seems that something is missing for NetSurf + FFPlay to work, now I see what's wrong and maybe I'll let you know
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 00:36   #291
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,174
@Ledfoot
On CoffinOS there is a problem on Shell, long names are not supported, some time ago i solved this problem on other OS.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 20 August 2019 at 16:39.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 01:49   #292
sean_sk
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
@Ledfoot
On CoffinOS there is a problem on Shell, long names are not supported, some time ago i solved this problem on other OS.
I'm having this problem myself in 0S 3.1. Could you please explain in detail how you fixed it? Thanks.
sean_sk is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 02:08   #293
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,174
I solved the problem a long time ago after trying everything, at the moment I do not remember exactly, tomorrow I make a few attempts, unfortunately my 65 years begin to weigh.
The problem however is not only on OS 3.1, you can find it also on Amikit8 and AmikitX and on many other OS, only on AfA-OS Standard the problem was not present.

Here is the thread where I discussed the problem:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=89550
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 04:19   #294
Ledfoot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Posts: 61
Ah, got me man... I'm only just recently gotten back into the Amiga and barely had time to relearn this stuff. So far it's been strictly a "boot up and play an old game nostalgia run" for me. Probably going to sell off my A500+Vampire and A1200 (not working) + '030 card and other gear when I get the V4SA.

I haven't even gotten close to the point of installing the OS from scratch...
Ledfoot is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 06:16   #295
Mr-Z
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post

As for the V1200, after waiting years for it I'm actually disappointed.
Only 128MB of memory? for this price?

In this regard, that would be a step back for me, as I currently have 256MB in my 1200

Only difference being that the 128 MB on the V1200 being a whole lot faster and that together with the AC68080 you'll notice.
Then 128 MB is more then enough for 68K Amiga.
I have a very graphical WB , run lots of heavy stuff (quake,netsurf,Riva etc) i never ran out of memory on my V600.
Mr-Z is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 08:49   #296
Dr_Procton
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Forli'
Posts: 28
There are other things that broke passing from coffin R53 to coffin R54, like AmiSSL. R53 was very sleak, very good looking, almost all programs well configured and functional. R54 seems half finished, especially on the icons set. I think that a new version is due as the latest one was released almost an year ago. By the way..that black drawers are awful, get rid of those in next version, please!
Dr_Procton is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 11:03   #297
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,174
Stefano there are many things that need to be fixed on CoffinOS, assign and update AmiSSL so that iBrowser, AWeb etc... can enter HTTPS sites, assign SSLROOT for NetSurf. As you say you change the old icons not suitable for RTG screens, maybe create a nice set of icons as I did (see screenshots), and to complete install the AfA-OS extension to enhance the graphics of the Workbench and windows, as you can see in my screenshots.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 23 August 2019 at 22:11.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 13:01   #298
Dr_Procton
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Forli'
Posts: 28
The picture of Coffin with AfaOS extension on your previous post looks very nice.
I'm trying to setup a barebone install of 3.1.4 with new icomp picasso96 and AfaOS and see if it works without 3.9 and boing balls. Just for fun ..
Dr_Procton is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 14:14   #299
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,174
It is convenient, CoffinOS in my opinion is an unstable system, I was able to fix the problem of "Long names" on NetSurf, but then crashes "Wget", fixed Wget, just started FFplay the system restarts, in short always problems for anything new that you try to start.

I already have OS 3.1.4 RTG + AfA-OS and it works fantastic, see screenshots

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 07 September 2019 at 22:43.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 14:19   #300
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 48
Posts: 303
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
Looking forward to the Vampire 4?

@Amigasystem: excuse my ignorance but I thought Afa-OS was a system by itself, how do you « install » it on top of 3.1.4?

Last edited by seb132; 24 July 2019 at 15:17.
seb132 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to forward data to serial port? utri007 support.Hardware 10 11 November 2016 14:26
CF won't boot A1200 - best path forward? AmigaJules support.Hardware 13 28 June 2016 15:46
"LAG 38 meeting date brought forward a month !!!" rockape News 2 11 June 2014 18:42
CD32 Pad Reverse+Forward+Run Reset Game Problem Hillsy_ support.Games 10 04 May 2014 21:14
Which FPGA Implementation of Amiga are you looking forward too? digiflip Amiga scene 44 05 June 2011 23:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09670 seconds with 16 queries