English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2019, 16:22   #161
Gordon
Settler

Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,377
I will answer the thread title. I am not looking forward to the release of the vampire standalone.
Gordon is offline  
Old 20 February 2019, 16:33   #162
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 527
Oh, that looks nice!!
MartinW is offline  
Old 20 February 2019, 19:56   #163
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 323
V1200 is finally progressing, and that's way more interesting to me than the standalone.
Can't wait!
UberFreak is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 12:51   #164
Amiga-agima
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3
For sure!
Amiga-agima is offline  
Old 22 February 2019, 01:36   #165
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,110
Yes.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 22 February 2019, 20:26   #166
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 969
Same here. Looking forward to the V1200, not much interest in the standalone though.
Steril707 is offline  
Old 27 February 2019, 15:31   #167
Syntrax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: The Hague
Posts: 81
also waiting for it
Syntrax is offline  
Old 27 February 2019, 18:09   #168
hUMUNGUs
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: T√łnsberg / Norway
Posts: 34
Yes
hUMUNGUs is offline  
Old 27 February 2019, 23:38   #169
sean_sk
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 201
I'm with the "crowd" that's looking forward to the V1200 more than the standalone. Gotta get that A1200 pimped!
sean_sk is offline  
Old 28 February 2019, 01:33   #170
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,074
I cant wait for the Vampire 6!

Pyromania is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 16:54   #171
activist
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: here
Posts: 48
Why not the standalone version or negative view ?
Would this not open the door to new users ?
Is this not an actual realization of Netami, Minimig ?
Is it not a true 68k Amiga i.e. an actual successor to A1200/A4000?
Aren't the other 'successors' - amigaone x1000, x5000, a1222 - merely PCs running linux and uae for 68k compatibility i.e. not true Amigas ? (and for that matter why don't they just recompile amiga os4 for raspberry pi and be done with all these systems)

In light of Netami, Minimig, would be amazed if this standalone version makes a release. I live in hope..
activist is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 17:11   #172
sean_sk
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 201
According to Gunnar here:

[ Show youtube player ]

Vampire 4 Standalone (and V1200) production may start July. WOOT!
sean_sk is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 18:02   #173
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by activist View Post
Aren't the other 'successors' - amigaone x1000, x5000, a1222 - merely PCs running linux and uae for 68k compatibility i.e. not true Amigas ?
Nope. Those machines run AmigaOS natively. UAE is used for classic chipset compatibility, not 68k compatibility, which is provided transparently within the OS, meaning 68k applications can use native OS4 system calls and therefore integrate seamlessly with the system.

Quote:
(and for that matter why don't they just recompile amiga os4 for raspberry pi and be done with all these systems)
It's been covered plenty of times before. But a couple of reasons:

- It's not as simple as just doing a recompile
- It would lose compatibility with all the existing OS4 and OS3 software
- It took many years of slow development to get to where it is - porting to another platform would probably take decades at that pace
- If you want Amiga on Raspberry Pi, there's an AROS port that's struggling to find enough interest. Maybe because, even if it was complete, there would be no software to run. Anyway, try giving support to that and you might just get a similar result to an OS4 port to the Pi.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 18:35   #174
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Nope. Those machines run AmigaOS natively. UAE is used for classic chipset compatibility, .
Sorry for my ignorance, do I understand correctly? V4 via UAE Emulates ChipSet

EDIT:

I think I mistranslated. You were probably talking about OS4. Sorry.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 06 June 2019 at 18:43.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 18:38   #175
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 527
I was going to ask similar - sorry, I know it's OT for the topic

If I for example attempt to start a traditional 68k demo that obviously needs the original chipset, does OS4 know this somehow and auto-magically start it under a UAE layer, or do you have to explicitly start the UAE layer first and then run the demo from within that?

Genuinely a bit curious is all...
MartinW is offline  
Old 07 June 2019, 00:20   #176
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinW View Post
I was going to ask similar - sorry, I know it's OT for the topic

If I for example attempt to start a traditional 68k demo that obviously needs the original chipset, does OS4 know this somehow and auto-magically start it under a UAE layer, or do you have to explicitly start the UAE layer first and then run the demo from within that?
Well, it's not *quite* that simple, but it does have a way of doing that. By default, OS4 will try to run 68K software just emulating the CPU, meaning most demos and old games will fall over. Unfortunately it can't tell whether the chipset is needed by an executable or not. It comes with a 3.1 UAE setup that you can use, and it also comes with the RunInUAE utility, which intercepts 68K executables as they launch and asks you whether you want to run it in UAE or under OS4. If you choose UAE, the emulator will be started and the file run within it automatically. That choice can be saved for that file, so the next time you run it, it goes straight into UAE without asking. Alternatively, you can just drop a 68k demo or game executable onto the RunInUAE dock icon and it will launch the emulator and run the file within it. ADFs can also be used in much the same way, and there's a WHDLoad wrapper that launches any WHDLoad slaves directly under UAE too.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 07 June 2019, 00:48   #177
quantum8
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: BNE AU
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
I will answer the thread title. I am not looking forward to the release of the vampire standalone.

Same here.


It's always good to have more hardware to play with!
quantum8 is offline  
Old 07 June 2019, 15:03   #178
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Well, it's not *quite* that simple, but it does have a way of doing that. By default, OS4 will try to run 68K software just emulating the CPU, meaning most demos and old games will fall over. Unfortunately it can't tell whether the chipset is needed by an executable or not. It comes with a 3.1 UAE setup that you can use, and it also comes with the RunInUAE utility, which intercepts 68K executables as they launch and asks you whether you want to run it in UAE or under OS4. If you choose UAE, the emulator will be started and the file run within it automatically. That choice can be saved for that file, so the next time you run it, it goes straight into UAE without asking. Alternatively, you can just drop a 68k demo or game executable onto the RunInUAE dock icon and it will launch the emulator and run the file within it. ADFs can also be used in much the same way, and there's a WHDLoad wrapper that launches any WHDLoad slaves directly under UAE too.
Ahh, thank you! I really should use my copy of 4.1FE for emulation more!!

And as for the original point, I'm coming round a lot more to the standalone concept. BUT I have a MiSTer now so while that is clearly not going to be anywhere near as fast or as feature rich as a Vampire 4, it does fill my requirement for now in the FPGA world, especially given it has many cores, not just Minimig. Will have to see how available the Vampire becomes and the cost. Maybe for Xmas!
MartinW is offline  
Old 07 June 2019, 19:47   #179
Agilent
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Gentofte/Denmark
Posts: 88
No.
Agilent is offline  
Old 08 June 2019, 00:15   #180
SvladJelly
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Portland / USA
Posts: 79
I will sacrifice to the dark gods for the Vampire A1200. My wallet is ready!
SvladJelly is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to forward data to serial port? utri007 support.Hardware 10 11 November 2016 14:26
CF won't boot A1200 - best path forward? AmigaJules support.Hardware 13 28 June 2016 15:46
"LAG 38 meeting date brought forward a month !!!" rockape News 2 11 June 2014 18:42
CD32 Pad Reverse+Forward+Run Reset Game Problem Hillsy_ support.Games 10 04 May 2014 21:14
Which FPGA Implementation of Amiga are you looking forward too? digiflip Amiga scene 44 05 June 2011 23:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09979 seconds with 16 queries