English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 May 2019, 11:52   #1
Antiriad_UK
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 82
ASMPro 1.18 on A500/A600?

Hi,

All my development at the moment is for A500 OCS. I'm editing in visual studio code in Windows and then flicking into an A500+ config (just for extra chip ram/slow ram and Kickstart 2.0 nicer environment) to assemble and test (WINUAE warp mode is great). Then finally a A500 OCS 512K chip + 512K slow for final exe checks.

The only assemblers I can get working in this config are ASMTwo, ASMOne 1.20 and Devpac 3.18. I wanted to give ASMPro 1.18 a try but I can't find an A500/OCS-ish configuration that runs. They all say they need KS 2.x but I'm getting these results:

I've set all the preference files to No FPU/68000 etc.

ASMPro
A500+ with KS2.04+WB2, crash on startup
A600 with KS2.05+WB2, crash on startup
A500+ with KS3.1+WB3, loads ok, but crashes during assembling
A1200 config, works.

ASMOne 1.48 won't even start without the config having a 68020

Am I missing a special config to get these to work or is ASMOne 1.20/Devpac 3 the best option for what I'm doing?
Antiriad_UK is offline  
Old 17 May 2019, 00:14   #2
Bruce Abbott
Registered User

Bruce Abbott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hastings, New Zealand
Posts: 255
Asm-Pro 1.18 has source code, but it appears to be based on a buggy disassembly of some ancient program, and the source is very poorly documented. I wouldn't trust it.

Devpac is 3 is system friendly and stable. Just don't try to load very large source files into its editor (it won't crash, but gets pretty messed up). I use CED and ProASM for editing and assembling now, but I still use Monam for debugging.
Bruce Abbott is offline  
Old 17 May 2019, 00:31   #3
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 51
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiriad_UK View Post
Hi,

All my development at the moment is for A500 OCS. I'm editing in visual studio code in Windows and then flicking into an A500+ config (just for extra chip ram/slow ram and Kickstart 2.0 nicer environment) to assemble and test (WINUAE warp mode is great). Then finally a A500 OCS 512K chip + 512K slow for final exe checks.

The only assemblers I can get working in this config are ASMTwo, ASMOne 1.20 and Devpac 3.18. I wanted to give ASMPro 1.18 a try but I can't find an A500/OCS-ish configuration that runs. They all say they need KS 2.x but I'm getting these results:

I've set all the preference files to No FPU/68000 etc.

ASMPro
A500+ with KS2.04+WB2, crash on startup
A600 with KS2.05+WB2, crash on startup
A500+ with KS3.1+WB3, loads ok, but crashes during assembling
A1200 config, works.

ASMOne 1.48 won't even start without the config having a 68020

Am I missing a special config to get these to work or is ASMOne 1.20/Devpac 3 the best option for what I'm doing?
Yes, ASMOne 1.20 or Devpac 3 or Phxass are the best for kick 2.0 (68000). I runned higher versions of asmone and asmone pro on 68000, but i dont like these assemblers. Perhaps you must have stored correct config file in S: to run these assemblers. Use SnoopDos or DosTrace to check, what is missing.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 17 May 2019, 09:52   #4
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiriad_UK View Post
Am I missing a special config to get these to work or is ASMOne 1.20/Devpac 3 the best option for what I'm doing?
I think (from memory) I used ASM-One up to V1.25 on a 1.3 machine back in the day (TM), the newer versions won't run on such config anymore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
Asm-Pro 1.18 has source code, but it appears to be based on a buggy disassembly of some ancient program, and the source is very poorly documented. I wouldn't trust it.

ASM-Pro is based on a disassembled version of ASM-One which has then been improved. The source is indeed quite a mess and almost impossible to maintain.
StingRay is offline  
Old 17 May 2019, 11:37   #5
Antiriad_UK
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 82
I always used Devpac back in the day. But I like some of the features of AsmOne since I watched Photon's tutorials. I'm sticking with AsmOne 1.20 for now. But I've been playing with the visual studio code plugin that uses Vasm and allows really nice debugging and I think I'll move to that next project.
Antiriad_UK is offline  
Old 17 May 2019, 11:44   #6
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiriad_UK View Post
I always used Devpac back in the day.
Like most other UK coders. Rest of the world used ASM-One or one of its many derivates.
StingRay is offline  
Old 17 May 2019, 16:29   #7
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 609
Asm-Pro, Asm-One and whatnot are, AFAIK, non-authorized hacks of the K-Seka assembler. Might not be much left of the original, much as my grandfather's beautiful axe that my father replaced the blade on and which I replaced the shaft of, but if you start from the original and go one by one on the mods you'll see the red thread.

Myself, I have used ArgAsm (yep, have it on my shelf here), Macro68 (real solid that one), and since then Barfly. Can't beat BDebug IMO.
NorthWay is offline  
Old 17 May 2019, 17:10   #8
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthWay View Post
Asm-Pro, Asm-One and whatnot are, AFAIK, non-authorized hacks of the K-Seka assembler.
ASM-One is not a SEKA hack and since ASM-Pro is based one ASM-One it is not a SEKA hack either. ASM-One was coded from scratch by Promax (source is available), before coding ASM-One he did various modifications to SEKA though.
StingRay is offline  
Old 18 May 2019, 05:15   #9
Bruce Abbott
Registered User

Bruce Abbott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hastings, New Zealand
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Like most other UK coders. Rest of the world used ASM-One or one of its many derivates.
I started with the Metacombo assembler. Then I got AssemPro, which came with a nice book called "Amiga Machine Language" from Abacus. Several years later I got Hisoft Devpac 2, which I thought was heaven because it was 5 times faster than AssemPro and never crashed!
Bruce Abbott is offline  
Old 19 May 2019, 20:57   #10
oRBIT
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 260
I'd *love* a new assembler for AmigaOS, something like AsmOne/Pro but without the bugs and with more modern features. Anyone up for the task?

Sorry, offtopic.
oRBIT is offline  
Old 20 May 2019, 13:48   #11
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 999
There's AsmTwo by Photon, but it is aimed at 68000 only IIRC.
kamelito is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AsmPro and INCLUDE sources OCrowley Coders. General 2 06 July 2014 11:42
AsmPro copse Coders. Asm / Hardware 4 25 April 2012 11:41
A1200, A600, A500+ and A500 maddoc666 MarketPlace 1 22 May 2011 09:11
AsmPro sources question(s) Asman Coders. General 13 03 September 2010 12:21
AsmPro CmdrVimes Coders. General 5 01 September 2010 12:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07517 seconds with 15 queries