English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 April 2019, 01:00   #1
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,219
Alien Breed 3D [AGA] - Graphics Issue in WinUAE v4.2.0

Heya Toni,

With the release of WinUAE v4.2.0, tonight I thought I should test out the usual 30 x games that I do with each release to make sure all is still ok

All of them passed except for Alien Breed 3D.

In previous versions it looked like this in-game:



Now it looks like this:



Tried a Quickstart A1200 and numerous other settings but couldn't get this working again

Configuration file attached.

Do you need me to work out which beta broke this?
Attached Files
File Type: uae Alien Breed 3D [AGA].uae (11.2 KB, 24 views)
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 April 2019, 01:41   #2
Steve
Truth seeker...
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,268
Hi Damien. Just tested this and can confirm that I'm getting the same issue using the original IPF game files.

Something seems to have broken between 4.1 and 4.2.

Having a look at the beta thread quickly I am guessing that beta 4 broke the game. Too late now for me to test - need sleep!

Quote:
- 68020/030 cycle-exact: CPU to AGA chipset bus write waited full chipset cycle to finish which is not correct. Written data is latched by chipset buffers allowing CPU to continue executing after 68020/030 CPU memory cycle finishes (which is shorter than chipset cycle). This update slightly increases write speed to chipram/custom registers. (and probably fixes some demos and breaks others as usual)
Steve is offline  
Old 11 April 2019, 06:04   #3
sean_sk
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 202
I can confirm this also happens with the CD32 version using the CD32 quickstart config.
sean_sk is offline  
Old 11 April 2019, 09:14   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,219
Cheers for testing guys
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 April 2019, 20:32   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,147
It was actually introduced in b2 ("Fixed AGA HAM graphics corruption if same scan line had BPLCON4 non-zero, border sprites enabled and at least one sprite visible in left border and HAM bitplane active."). It wasn't wrong update but it missed one extra condition.

(btw, never try to guess when there is simpler ways to confirm..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 April 2019, 22:13   #6
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,767
Sorry for O/T, just reflecting on the two meters. Kill until you die. Now, that's a MAN's game!
Photon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alien Breed 2 AGA Vollldo request.Old Rare Games 45 06 September 2017 12:07
Alien Breed & Alien Breed '92: SE - delay when picking up items / opening doors Ian support.WinUAE 16 23 December 2016 15:50
A new crack for Alien Breed 2 AGA :) ??? Vollldo support.Games 26 13 October 2010 16:25
Working WinUAE config for Alien Breed and Alien Breed II takeobass support.WinUAE 2 22 July 2008 14:48
Amiga - Alien Breed 3D 2 - AGA decrunch? Hillsy_ support.Games 1 13 August 2004 12:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06621 seconds with 16 queries