English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Demos

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 June 2018, 02:09   #1
part12studios
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Randolph
Posts: 20
An Amiga 1200 demo noob (only owned hardware for 22 years)

Hi everyone, so on June 8th 2018 I'm doing a demo of my Trusty semi-tricked out Amiga 1200. I'm mostly focusing on audio software i've used in the past and found in recent years.

The event is the Boston @party which is a demo scene based event so it seemed very fitting to do a little show and tell session for an audience.

That said I thought it would be a bonus to show off some demos from the original hardware.

However I really never did any AGA demo stuff but i do have a 030 / 40mhz (no fpu) accelerator. 128mb ram.

So i never was great with amiga files even back in the day. I was mostly a GUI user and didn't do a lot of cli shell command. so when i downloaded some of the best ones (from another thread here) i saw that

I have a mac and a CF card reader so i can move files between mac and Amiga seamlessly.. that said i feel very unsure where to put the demo files on the computer or on a floppy in a way that the system runs them.

Thanks,
Caleb
part12studios is offline  
Old 02 June 2018, 03:35   #2
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 45
Posts: 836
They should run from any location, probably even from CF card, if the demo is OS friendly and does not require to disable startup-sequence to get the most Chip (Video) RAM.
Copy to and run it from HD if you have one.
Some demos boot from floppy disk.
Try it first.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 02 June 2018, 03:36   #3
part12studios
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Randolph
Posts: 20
yea really most mods i ever had used were WB 1.3 floppy based demos where you booted from the floppy. i take it they were more "modern" on AGA systems?

Last edited by part12studios; 02 June 2018 at 06:13.
part12studios is offline  
Old 02 June 2018, 06:11   #4
part12studios
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Randolph
Posts: 20
ok so one other help. i dislike dealing with cli commands since i pretty much don't know any of them. i have found some programs that unzip lha and such on my mac so i like doing the unzipping here and then just move thing around on the amiga when i copy them over..

my question is this.. i downloaded some programs from the web and these files have no extension.. for example turbo silver which i'm hoping i can get to run on my A1200 but it was pre AGA and might never work. I didn't have luck last time i tried but i'm going to give it a go again.

ok the question really is.. how do i know what these files are encrypted with if they have no file extension? if not lha, what else could it be?
part12studios is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1200 problem! please help me (noob) Anders1984 support.Hardware 65 22 September 2013 07:13
FS: Several Hardware Amiga 500/1200 etc. Amiga mia MarketPlace 9 14 May 2009 09:27
Using the HARDWARE REF MANUAL on a Amiga 1200 xampi Coders. General 17 03 December 2007 13:34
Amiga 1200 hardware trouble... Hammy support.Hardware 26 22 March 2005 05:10
Amiga 1200 hardware for Sale CHiEF MarketPlace 6 07 May 2002 22:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06067 seconds with 15 queries