English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 January 2014, 23:39   #1
renejardin
 
Posts: n/a
philips cm8833-II 60hz?

Hi,

I own this crt :



a philips 8833-II

i want to play my old consoles (jap or us version, i live in "pal" system country),i want to buy a rgb to scart adaptator.

But my simple question is: is this philips compatible with a 60hz mode in RGB output??? I have the same connectors as the picture...

Thanks!
 
Old 17 January 2014, 00:37   #2
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,087
I would think so. I used to have a 1084S (the new model) which is almost the same monitor, and it did great with both 50 and 60 Hz modes. In WB I often ran it in NTSC mode to get a nicer picture (less flicker) and smoother mouse motion.
demolition is offline  
Old 17 January 2014, 00:56   #3
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,568
It should work fine, even my old C= 1081 (RGB Scart) works great in 60hz.
Retroplay is online now  
Old 17 January 2014, 01:09   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,394
this monitor works fine in both 288p and 240p @ 60 hz
alexh is offline  
Old 17 January 2014, 03:18   #5
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,747
Were there any official CBM monitors that did not work in both 50 and 60hz? I have never encountered one.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 17 January 2014, 03:56   #6
AmmoJammo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 57
I'm more concerned that you want to buy a scart cable for a monitor that doesn't have a scart socket...
AmmoJammo is offline  
Old 17 January 2014, 06:51   #7
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 47
Posts: 1,083
Note thoguh that in RGB it will happily show colour picture in 60Hz (and it will be rock solid too). But when you use Composite the colours will NOT show up - you will have a B&W picture.
So it is NTSC compatible for RGB input but not for Composite!
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 17 January 2014, 08:20   #8
renejardin
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmmoJammo View Post
I'm more concerned that you want to buy a scart cable for a monitor that doesn't have a scart socket...
i want to buy this:

http://www.retrogamingcables.co.uk/p...-for-sale.html
 
Old 17 January 2014, 08:22   #9
renejardin
 
Posts: n/a
i'm a little bit confused with 60hz and ntsc, i think i want to say if the monitor can handle ntsc mode in color (not in b/w) with the rgb 9pin input ...

I have a highscreen kp548 with a scart entry but unfortunatly the picture is in b/w...
 
Old 18 January 2014, 00:01   #10
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,819
Yes it does, all CRTs obey the frequencies specified on the sticker on the back. Specifically, all CRTs made for RGB video and home use during the 'fat' TV era do 50Hz and 60Hz to cover PAL and NTSC, so they could be sold worldwide.

Additional technical: Since it obeys the video output, it can do PAL 60 Hz and NTSC 50Hz, if it would get such a signal. Certainly, if it's not a CRT specialized for consumerism, it could go down to 1 Hz, and up to 120 Hz, at constant kHz.

"CRT: It JUST BENDS LIGHT, MKAY??"

Last edited by Photon; 18 January 2014 at 00:07.
Photon is offline  
Old 18 January 2014, 11:40   #11
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat666 View Post
Note thoguh that in RGB it will happily show colour picture in 60Hz (and it will be rock solid too). But when you use Composite the colours will NOT show up - you will have a B&W picture.
So it is NTSC compatible for RGB input but not for Composite!
This doesn't make sense. You can't have NTSC over RGB.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 19 January 2014, 19:41   #12
manic23
Only Amiga!

manic23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromley, Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 477
I have two philips cm8833 monitors and they both work fine with 60hz so im sure the philips cm8833 II will also.
manic23 is offline  
Old 29 January 2014, 23:03   #13
renejardin
 
Posts: n/a
i received the scart adaptator from coolnovelties... it works fine with my old consoles with true rgb! Nice graphics, true colors...
but it don't works with my panasonic 3do (it has composite out to scart but it's not "true rgb" then no image to screen...
 
Old 30 January 2014, 00:09   #14
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,394
you connect it to the phono jacks (no scart adapter) and push the button on the back marked CVBS / RGB
alexh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: POWER and RGB/CVBS switches for Philips CM8833-II monitor caiusfabricius MarketPlace 11 13 November 2019 19:48
C64 on Philips CM8833-II BarryB support.Hardware 22 16 March 2014 09:02
Creating a 50/60Hz interrupt? oRBIT Coders. General 5 13 May 2010 21:13
Philips CM8833-II monitors- did they come with cables? Cazalinghau support.Hardware 1 03 May 2008 19:24
power switch on a philips cm8833 mk2 Paul_s support.Hardware 1 23 September 2007 23:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08163 seconds with 15 queries