English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 December 2008, 01:12   #1
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,507
input delay

Am I the only user of beta 4 that experience a sort of too long "keystroke_down event" playing games? Sometimes it's like the direction keys (I use cursor keys + rcontrol + ralt) stay pressed for longer times I actually do (e.g. your sprite in the game continues to go left for a second).
Attached my settings.
Attached Files
File Type: uae Real A1200 (060).uae (27.2 KB, 108 views)
hexaae is offline  
Old 25 December 2008, 20:54   #2
Steve
Don't be a sheep. Baaaa!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Am I the only user of beta 4 that experience a sort of too long "keystroke_down event" playing games? Sometimes it's like the direction keys (I use cursor keys + rcontrol + ralt) stay pressed for longer times I actually do (e.g. your sprite in the game continues to go left for a second).
Attached my settings.
I've also noticed this effect using my Sidewinder joypad where the input sticks for a second or two longer than has been held. The problem however is not with this beta as it started a few versions ago when there was some Direct Input changes. Mabe 1.5.1 or 1.5.2?? I've mentioned the problem a few times but its never been fixed. Its also hard to replicate and seems to occur randomly. Can you provide clear directions to reproduce the bug? That would help a lot.
Steve is offline  
Old 26 December 2008, 00:27   #3
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
I've also noticed this effect using my Sidewinder joypad where the input sticks for a second or two longer than has been held. The problem however is not with this beta as it started a few versions ago when there was some Direct Input changes. Mabe 1.5.1 or 1.5.2?? I've mentioned the problem a few times but its never been fixed. Its also hard to replicate and seems to occur randomly. Can you provide clear directions to reproduce the bug? That would help a lot.
No, sorry... as you said it's random..
hexaae is offline  
Old 02 January 2009, 13:37   #4
Steve
Don't be a sheep. Baaaa!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Am I the only user of beta 4 that experience a sort of too long "keystroke_down event" playing games?
I'm not sure if this will help you out but I think I've found a 'workaround' to the problem. When the bug occurs (in 1.5.3) I press F12 and change the input settings to 'Compatibility mode' and this stops the joypad/keypress delay. When I change back to 'Configuration #1' I can play as normal with my input settings and the delay bug is gone. While I was investigating the problem I also timed the duration between lags and it seemed to occur every 12 seconds. Not sure if that is significant or not.

Last edited by Steve; 04 January 2009 at 11:38.
Steve is offline  
Old 02 January 2009, 21:30   #5
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
I'm not sure if this will help you out but I think I've found a 'workaround' to the problem. When the bug occurs (in 1.5.3) I press F12 and change the input settings to 'Compatibility mode' and this stops the joypad/keypress delay. When I change back to 'Configuration #1' I can play as normal with my input settings and the delay bug is gone. While I was investigating the problem I also timed the duration between lags and it seemed to occur every 12 seconds. Not sure if that is significant or not. Hopefully this solves your problem. Sorry Toni, I know this isn't beta related.
Thanks... if it's a bug in WUAE new (?) input routines hope will be solved...
hexaae is offline  
Old 02 January 2009, 21:35   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,954
Moved from beta thread.

More (much more) details needed..

Does it only happen with keys that are mapped to joystick? Only if using built-in joystick keys? etc..

(and as usual, windowed mode + a500 quickstart required)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 January 2009, 13:04   #7
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,507
WinUAE 1.5.4b4.
I have serious issues with keyboard: using a500 quickstart, using default Input + Game & I/O Ports the emulated joystick inputs are ignored. I can't start a single game (tested f.e. Dynablaster bootable ADF) because fire button and the other keys (Port1: Keyb alyout A or B) are ignored.
hexaae is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A2000 startup delay Hewitson support.Hardware 8 19 May 2011 01:20
output delay? jharrison support.WinUAE 16 01 February 2009 23:16
Keyboard delay glue support.WinUAE 4 09 January 2008 22:54
Minimize delay in WinUAE? Photon support.WinUAE 7 06 December 2005 21:19
Print Delay Unregistered support.WinUAE 0 11 August 2002 22:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07115 seconds with 16 queries