English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 February 2007, 18:19   #1
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,351
Clockport extension? (cable?)

Is there anyway to move where a clockport is through use of some sort of cable?

One side would need to have the clockport female plug and the other side would need male pins (a clockport).

Can this be done? Would be useful for clockports hiding behind busboards
Smiley is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 February 2007, 18:23   #2
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
I'm not familiar with the clockport exactly - but couldn't you hack up an old IDE type cable to do the job?
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 13 February 2007, 18:25   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Some clockport expansions come with a cable, so it's definitely possible.
Jope is offline  
Old 13 February 2007, 18:47   #4
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
Some clockport expansions come with a cable, so it's definitely possible.
Problem is that they come with female <> female cables

I would need a female to male (clockport pins)
Smiley is offline  
Old 13 February 2007, 20:13   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Yes. Perhaps make a cable with the connectors facing the opposite sides of the cable and then push a pin grid into one of the connectors.

Naturally it's a good idea to measure that the signals are still on the right pins. I haven't given this a lot of thought, so it might be an incorrect idea.
Jope is offline  
Old 13 February 2007, 20:35   #6
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,351
I wonder. If I bought a female<>female cable from Amigakit.

Could I not just get some 'pins' at double length, stick one in each hole and attach the device as normal?

What are pins made from in computing? Can you buy a length of the material they are made from?

I could just measure and cut my own.

Myabe im talking rubbish, im not very good with electronics

Last edited by Smiley; 13 February 2007 at 21:31.
Smiley is offline  
Old 14 February 2007, 00:54   #7
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
as long as you keep the cable under 8cm to the device it shoud all be good...
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCMCIA extension cable? Andymiga support.Hardware 24 06 May 2014 16:18
WTB: Clockport cable , A4000D Case o0Nosferatu0o MarketPlace 1 01 September 2012 02:43
looking for a controller extension cable for amiga albino MarketPlace 4 11 July 2010 23:14
Amigakit clockport cable - useless? CU_AMiGA support.Hardware 1 21 June 2008 16:22
Problems using the controller extension cable genesis in Amiga frikilokooo support.Hardware 1 16 April 2008 09:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13374 seconds with 12 queries