English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

View Poll Results: Would adding ability to use PC floppies to read/write ADF files be Cool code change?
Yes, this would be a cool Idea!! 6 54.55%
No, Floppies are dead.... 5 45.45%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 January 2017, 03:39   #1
Unicron
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Whitley City
Posts: 1
Question Add ability to select PC floppy drive so you can read ADF files from PC Floppy

I would like to add the abliity to select the PC floppy drive as the AMIGA drive in the config section so I can put a ADF file on a regular PC floppy, that way it uses the real floppy disk to read and write the ADF file too simulating "Kind of" the Amiga floppy drive.

I know it's not practical but hey I have aPC that I run Amiga Forever on and it has a real PC 1.44 meg floppy drive and I can put a ADF file on it and it would give that feeling of a real Amiga!!


I don't how to edit and compile the code, and I think it would be easy to add to the source and distribute with all Newer distros....

I grew up with the Amiga 500 so I kind of miss it a lot, wish commodore had pushed it more instead we are left with a PC or MAC no other hardware.

What do other think of this, is it stupid??

Thanks!!!

Last edited by Unicron; 28 January 2017 at 03:44.
Unicron is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 January 2017, 05:23   #2
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 79
You could approximate this effect by setting the virtual floppy drive to use A:\file.adf. Not sure how disk swapping would work, but if you want to run a single-disk game I think that would do it.

I think a more practical/exciting future option would be to use a Catweasel/Kyroflux/etc. as a real, native floppy drive (DF0: ) instead of an adf file.
Matt_H is offline  
Old 28 January 2017, 06:25   #3
Anakirob
Unregistered User
Anakirob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tasmania
Age: 35
Posts: 846
But you CAN put an ADF onto a HD floppy and use it from within UAE as the above post states. No need to go messing with the UAE source code for that.

I agree that support for the floppy drive controllers Matt_H mentioned using real Amiga floppies would be great. Even though I don't use floppies if I can avoid it I respect that many Amiga users, real or emulated, like the experience of running games from original floppies.
Anakirob is offline  
Old 28 January 2017, 13:00   #4
honx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 544
i guess, without catweasel or similar this couldn't work by hardware.
as far as i know pc drives are not able to read or write amiga disks.
floppy access needs a secondary floppy controller like catweasel.
i assume, without catweasel this would be a pointless undertaking.
furthermore most pcs (like mine) don't even have any floppy drive.

but:
in combination with catweasel, full catweasel support and integration,
this would definitely be a nice and of course a very important feature!
if future is bright, it brings usb based catweasel with integrated drive!
and it brings a winuae being able to boot directly from this hardware!
honx is offline  
Old 28 January 2017, 13:18   #5
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_H View Post
You could approximate this effect by setting the virtual floppy drive to use A:\file.adf.
That would work, kind of. It would even be possible to arrange the ADF file so the data of each Amiga track is on the corresponding track of the PC floppy, meaning that head movement sounds could be approximately correct. (You'd miss out on sounds of seek to track 0, since the PC drive head wouldn't move then.)

But emulation would keep pausing waiting for data to be read from the PC floppy drive. Until all tracks are in the Windows disk cache when there would be no floppy drive head movement.
mark_k is offline  
Old 05 February 2017, 17:14   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 18,746
It lacks option "practically impossible".

It can't work. Required pauses would make emulation unusable.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 07 February 2017, 16:12   #7
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,127
Not really the same, but it should be possible to use a real floppy drive for sounds. Either a real/native one, or more feasible for most PCs these days a USB floppy drive.

You'd issue seek commands to the floppy drive (USB floppy drives do support that according to the UFI spec) whenever the emulated Amiga moves the head. It might not be perfect though, since you don't know in advance which head the Amiga program is stepping to.
mark_k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC floppy drive for adf files transfer to amiga 500 Galder support.Hardware 9 19 November 2014 23:59
How do you convert ADF files to a real floppy disks? c0dehunter support.Hardware 36 06 July 2011 10:29
A500: Floppy Drive . read/write error for every single disk!! iggydix support.Hardware 11 23 August 2008 15:19
Anyone seen this cd32 with floppy drive add-on? ElectroBlaster MarketPlace 4 21 November 2005 16:34
ADF files to Floppy Disk LaFey support.Apps 1 07 December 2004 17:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19832 seconds with 14 queries