English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 March 2018, 19:58   #1
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 351
Question Problem with mouse on A600

Guys, I've got a really annoying mouse problem on my Amiga 600 + Vampire 2. Basically when I move it pointer would randomly move in any direction and random mouse buttons get pressed. It happens in workbench and in boot menu so I exclude it can be caused by some program.

So far I have:
checked with other mouses
had a full recap of the motheboard
replaced both CIAs

but the problem persists. I was quite sure replacing the CIAs would resolve the issue but no luck so far...

Any idea, please?
KONEY is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 March 2018, 00:19   #2
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,443
Does this happen without Mr Vampire as well?
idrougge is offline  
Old 14 March 2018, 10:04   #3
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 351
I didn't check because I got rid of the kickstart rom, but I'll try since you suggest, thanks!
KONEY is offline  
Old 17 March 2018, 03:55   #4
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 351
OK, no Vampire: same problem...
KONEY is offline  
Old 17 March 2018, 04:53   #5
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 351
Also, I tried this little program http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/jswap and changed the porf for mouse but the problem persists.
KONEY is offline  
Old 17 March 2018, 10:24   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,376
CIAs don't control mouse movement (CIA = left/fire button, Paula = second/third button, Denise = movement).

Most common reason for joystick direction/mouse movement problems is damaged TTL chip between mouse ports and Denise. (A500 = U15, A600 = U34)

But in your situation it can't be the cause because it can't explain random button presses.

Possibly bad power/ground connection?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 March 2018, 13:57   #7
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
Have you checked the DE9 port itself? Also look for any trace problems. It could be a short or loose PCB pin. Is the other DE9 working OK?
MigaTech is offline  
Old 18 March 2018, 23:15   #8
volvo_0ne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 303
I had a similar problem (except the button press issue) AND it was just the same with my spare mouse.

I cured it by buying a PS2/usb (inc mouse) converter from Ebay which worked a treat.

I think it was only about £15 or so but it fixed the problem (strangely BOTH original mice exhibited exactly the same fault) .

Not sure if you want to go this route, but it worked for me.
volvo_0ne is offline  
Old 18 March 2018, 23:26   #9
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 573
Are you using a real Amiga mouse or a PC mouse with an adapter?
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 01:22   #10
r.cade
Registered User
r.cade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 309
Send a message via AIM to r.cade Send a message via MSN to r.cade Send a message via Yahoo to r.cade
I have this exact problem with my A600. In fact, I convert old Bus/Inport mice to Amiga, and this never works on the A600- it's like the circuitry is different.

The mice work fine on A500, A1000, A3000, but not A600. A600 only works with original mice. I don't have the button issue, but the mouse will not move properly, it just jitters and works it's way into a corner...
r.cade is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 12:33   #11
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 351
A600 is SMD technology, makes sense. At the moment I got an optical tank kit and I'm quite happy with it. Expensive but reliable.
KONEY is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 13:58   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,376
Interesting because mouse/joystick direction logic and circuitry is practically identical to A500.

Denise has 4 input pins for joystick/mouse ports and ports are multiplexed with 74LS157 TTL chip. (U34). This chip is most common cause for mouse/joystick direction problems, in A500 at least.

Perhaps SMD Denise has some internal IO pin differences?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 July 2018, 15:52   #13
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,930
Yeah, it's a strange thing to mention SMD technology, since all the directional signals go through the 74LS157 chip, which should be functionally identical to its DIP counterpart. If you check any manufacturer's data sheets for logic ICs you'll see that they don't distinguish between package types when detailing I/O characteristics.

Have you tried different A600s? The original tank mouse uses a logic chip to buffer and drive the direction signals, but later Amiga mice don't have this, and conversion guides for other mice that I've seen don't include this chip either. This means that the photodiodes are driving the inputs directly, and I would say it's possible that these other mice are having some sort of trouble with that machine, perhaps a problem with pull-up resistors or similar that is masked by the buffered signal from a tank mouse and the open-circuit nature of a joystick. The 74LS157's inputs will float high in these cases, without a pull-up, but placing a photodiode across them is probably enough to drag them down, resulting in unreliable movement.
Daedalus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600 Mouse/Joy Ports Methanoid support.Hardware 3 22 December 2017 08:51
Mouse click problem with cintiq companion and virtual mouse driver donmikko support.WinUAE 9 19 February 2017 11:32
Best way to replace a mouse for A600 foob support.Hardware 35 03 January 2013 18:12
A600 mouse partially working salax54 support.Hardware 3 13 March 2009 11:38
A600 mouse problem :( Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 13 23 February 2007 13:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12460 seconds with 15 queries