English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 October 2017, 23:53   #21
Lyverbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anakirob View Post
But Captive cannot be finished anyway as it goes on forever in theory!

Also, I seem to recall that it was possible to simply skip some missions, but I could be remembering incorrectly :P
You can only do that by editing saved games, but there's nothing in Captive itself that allows you to skip a base or mission.
Lyverbe is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 October 2017, 01:28   #22
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,191
Played Zeus today and managed to play all levels! Thanks again for the fixed version

I know many more games that needs to be fixed. Will post soon...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
Another game with broken ending is the Polish game Łowca Głów.
Found a way to see the ending. On disk 2 there is a file called ZK. Run this from Workbench or boot from disk 2 (disk is bootable) and type ZK.

For some reason game does not load this file when you completed the last level. Which makes me think this is a similar problem as with Pinkie.
hipoonios is offline  
Old 08 October 2017, 23:23   #23
Dan
Registered User
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 393
Hi, here is the Level Editor for the Zeus Game. (windows 32bit)

It edits/modifies the ADF or the levels can be exported as Dat files.
I hope it will be usefull.

It is written in BlitzBasic3d, which does not have native Windows File Requesters.

So be carefull in choosing the ADF files, because if you choose a wrong one
(e.g not Zeus Game Adf) it may get corrupted, as there is no check for the
valid ADF file.

Always apply the patches to a Copy !

Have fun.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z Zeus-Amiga-Adf-Editor.7z (530.4 KB, 37 views)
Dan is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 18:52   #24
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,191
Here is the next one. A little shareware game from 1995 that was reviewed in The One and the Amiga Power Magazine.

Game title: Coin Mania
Level that needs to be fixed: 16
Screenshot: attached
Savestate: attached
Link to game: in The Zone and authors site.
Password to level: CASH (well, you only receive a level code every 15th level, so this is the code for level 15). To complete level 15, just bounce to the right...

The problem: Level 16 (out of 50) can not be completed because you do not have enough time. I tried for more than an hour, so I'm pretty sure this level can not be completed. But you can always try to prove that I'm wrong

How to fix it: Don't know what is easiest to do:

Add 20 seconds more time (that should be more than enough). Or remove the three slime blocks that is marked in the screenshot and make them solid blocks. The slime make you stop for 5 seconds and you really have to bounce in the slime to complete this level.

How will take the challenge?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	coin_mania_level_16.png
Views:	125
Size:	4.9 KB
ID:	55823  
Attached Files
File Type: uss coin_mania_level_16.uss (260.6 KB, 39 views)

Last edited by hipoonios; 11 December 2017 at 19:21. Reason: typo
hipoonios is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 21:31   #25
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 2,245
Is it me, or if you fall into the wide spikes (which need wings to cross) after getting the wings in superfrog last level of world 6, you're stuck there forever?
jotd is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 21:51   #26
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
game will throw frog into pit until last life?
s2325 is offline  
Old 12 December 2017, 14:11   #27
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 2,245
well, you don't have any wings handy after having lost once or twice there. Unless I'm mistaken.
jotd is offline  
Old 25 December 2017, 10:37   #28
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,191
Catch 'Em has a bug on the second last level. Have tried all available versions and all have this bug. The problem is that you start with 3 clubs and you need 4.

I made a longplay video in 2006 and could finish it by hacking the savestate. This is the only time I have used cheat in my longplays

It would be nice to have a fixed ADF

Level Name: THE HELL
Level Code: GUNSMITH
hipoonios is offline  
Old 25 December 2017, 20:49   #29
Dan
Registered User
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
Here is the next one. A little shareware game from 1995 that was reviewed in The One and the Amiga Power Magazine.

Game title: Coin Mania
Level that needs to be fixed: 16
Screenshot: attached
Savestate: attached
Link to game: in The Zone and authors site.
Password to level: CASH (well, you only receive a level code every 15th level, so this is the code for level 15). To complete level 15, just bounce to the right...

The problem: Level 16 (out of 50) can not be completed because you do not have enough time. I tried for more than an hour, so I'm pretty sure this level can not be completed. But you can always try to prove that I'm wrong

How to fix it: Don't know what is easiest to do:

Add 20 seconds more time (that should be more than enough). Or remove the three slime blocks that is marked in the screenshot and make them solid blocks. The slime make you stop for 5 seconds and you really have to bounce in the slime to complete this level.

How will take the challenge?
Just today i saw that there were more entries to this thread, and so i decided to look on the coin mania.

After a few hours of playing with the editor, i came to following results:

On the adf, there is a level editor, but the original levels are not included.

The game must either contain the levels within the compiled binary or loading them as extra file.

The Problem: The Game is holding the Level Data as compressed bitmap.


The level editor is saving the data as either unpackable data, or finalized data (which is saved, as well, as packed picture bank, but probably remove or change some bytes, so it can't be unpacked as iff picture, from the amos-pro direct mode)

So theoretically, if someone wanted to find the level data, he could use the level editor, to recreate all 50 levels in it, to setup all passwords and the right timers, and save it as finalized data.
And then hope to find the exact bytes somewhere on the disk.

Iv uploaded a picture with 50 levels, where only level 1 is the same as original level. It contains random passwords, which are probably the square on the far bottom right side.

Maybe the author of the game still has the sources and would like to share them ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	test.png
Views:	71
Size:	1.3 KB
ID:	55936  

Last edited by Dan; 25 December 2017 at 21:01.
Dan is offline  
Old 26 December 2017, 00:23   #30
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
Catch 'Em has a bug on the second last level. Have tried all available versions and all have this bug. The problem is that you start with 3 clubs and you need 4.
Fix done (into The Zone!). As a bonus a better crack.
Please test.

Last edited by ross; 26 December 2017 at 01:34. Reason: done :)
ross is offline  
Old 26 December 2017, 06:04   #31
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotareneg View Post
Captive can't be played past base 1 of mission 2316 because the map generator crashes, but I somehow doubt anyone's actually gotten far enough to run into that issue.
How on earth did you find that out?
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 26 December 2017, 12:17   #32
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 11,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Fix done (into The Zone!). As a bonus a better crack.
Please test.
Nice one ross

...what crack did you apply this fix to though? I can't see any "Prestige" disks in TOSEC.
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 December 2017, 12:52   #33
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
...what crack did you apply this fix to though? I can't see any "Prestige" disks in TOSEC.
Hi Damien, crack is by me, Prestige is the developer:
http://hol.abime.net/hol_search.php?N_ref_developer=480
ross is offline  
Old 26 December 2017, 13:23   #34
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 11,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Hi Damien, crack is by me, Prestige is the developer:
http://hol.abime.net/hol_search.php?N_ref_developer=480
Ah, gotcha.

Sorry, I was thinking of "Prestige" the cracking group
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 December 2017, 10:41   #35
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Fix done (into The Zone!). As a bonus a better crack.
Please test.
He did it again! Finally a working version of one of my favourite games

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Maybe the author of the game still has the sources and would like to share them ?
Thank you for taking the time looking at this game

I actually contacted Alex Aris (the guy who did the graphics). He commented on my video and confirmed the bug. His mate (David) did the code and Alex things the code is lost forever.

[ Show youtube player ]
hipoonios is offline  
Old 27 December 2017, 15:32   #36
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
He did it again! Finally a working version of one of my favourite games
My pleasure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
Here is the next one. A little shareware game from 1995 that was reviewed in The One and the Amiga Power Magazine.

Game title: Coin Mania
Level that needs to be fixed: 16

...

Add 20 seconds more time (that should be more than enough).
How will take the challenge?
I've chosen this way

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
The Problem: The Game is holding the Level Data as compressed bitmap.
Yes, too much troubles, better patch the main code.

[EDIT]oops, forgot to say that's in The Zone!
Please test

Last edited by ross; 27 December 2017 at 15:38. Reason: []
ross is offline  
Old 28 December 2017, 15:02   #37
Lyverbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsn8887 View Post
How on earth did you find that out?
First bug listed on http://captive.atari.org/Miscellaneous/Bugs/Bugs.php
Lyverbe is offline  
Old 08 January 2018, 22:29   #38
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,702
Anyone care to have a look at The Grail as this can't be completed due to something stopping the % probability in the Talespin engine working on the Amiga and thus stopping a certain 'Cripple' appearing when you sleep in the gutters so you're not able to complete the game!
BarryB is offline  
Old 08 January 2018, 22:52   #39
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Anyone care to have a look at The Grail as this can't be completed due to something stopping the % probability in the Talespin engine working on the Amiga and thus stopping a certain 'Cripple' appearing when you sleep in the gutters so you're not able to complete the game!
I'm out. Its of such low quality that I don't honestly believe anyone would play the end result should it be fixed.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 08 January 2018, 23:02   #40
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
I'm out. Its of such low quality that I don't honestly believe anyone would play the end result should it be fixed.
Granted, but it would be another game 'fixed by the Amiga community' and after pissing about with it so much I would just want to finally complete it to the end just to honestly say what a steaming pile of crap it was, know what I mean
BarryB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arcade games you really completed in 1 credit jotd Retrogaming General Discussion 101 18 February 2018 23:42
ACA500 tested Photon News 674 21 August 2016 19:06
LucasArts to release 10 of their classic games on Steam, including 4 SCUMM games DamienD Retrogaming General Discussion 12 08 August 2009 20:17
Games You'd Thought You'd Completed (But Haven't Really) Titler Nostalgia & memories 9 15 July 2008 21:39
GameBase Amiga v1.1 released with over 1250 fully configured games! eLowar News 15 07 May 2006 01:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09630 seconds with 16 queries