English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 June 2017, 19:18   #41
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
On OS3 there is a CLI command called RequestFile that pops up an ASL file requester that I believe can be passed a switch to make it return the path of a directory. Then you could use IconX to launch the completed shell script as a launcher. No modifications needed for the executable if done that way.
I've put together a bunch of scripts to do just this, combined with newly made dualPNG icons:

OpenBOR_SelectionScripts.lha
James is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 June 2017, 20:23   #42
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,143
Resolved, the games tested were not supported, found compatible game

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 23 June 2017 at 19:29.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 June 2017, 21:15   #43
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 455
Was a bit rushed with my previous post, so didn't get a chance to say thanks for this great port!
James is offline  
Old 16 June 2017, 21:54   #44
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 153
that is great - thanks!
lantus360 is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 02:38   #45
Schlachtwerk
68k RULEZ
Schlachtwerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 178
Now it will work here too, AHI was not working right here and a other thing, now it works with Beats of Rage, i will test other, nice Port.

A 030 version with FPU where really nice to see. only to see how fast it will run.
Schlachtwerk is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 08:51   #46
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlachtwerk View Post
A 030 version with FPU where really nice to see. only to see how fast it will run.
Why not run the 040 version in the 030? There is just one 040 instruction that the 030 lacks. Chances are that the 040 version runs just fine.
grond is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 18:48   #47
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,412
Great stuff @Lantus360
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 21:20   #48
TrashyMG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Vermont - USA
Posts: 41
If you don't have a windows machine and need to extract the .PAK files You can get the tools here: https://sourceforge.net/p/openbor/to.../tools/borpak/

the source is included just incase your target isn't x86
TrashyMG is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 21:27   #49
Schlachtwerk
68k RULEZ
Schlachtwerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
Why not run the 040 version in the 030? There is just one 040 instruction that the 030 lacks. Chances are that the 040 version runs just fine.
Why it say on start 68040 Required
Schlachtwerk is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 21:47   #50
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djole501 View Post
Dont you think its a little bit too Havie for 030 ?
One could hope - fair enough...I'll wait till I get a Vampire 1200!!!
Havie is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 22:03   #51
aszu
Registered User

aszu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leeds
Posts: 95
Correct me if I'm wrong but if we manage to get new gfx and msx we could create a new beat em up game for amigas, couldn't we?
aszu is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 22:35   #52
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlachtwerk View Post
Why it say on start 68040 Required
There is only one user mode integer instruction added to the 68040 (MOVE16) and I have never seen a compiler generate it. This means integer only code compiled for the 68040 (and 68060) will almost always run on a 68020/68030. The 68040 FPU has several new instructions variations (FS<op> and FD<op>). Code compiled for the 68040 (and 68060) with GCC which uses the FPU would likely *not* be compatible with a 68020/68030 with 6888x (not true for vbcc or SAS/C compiled code).

There are several potential reasons for the requester and it may be too generic to be helpful. Perhaps the code needs an FPU and you don't have one. Perhaps lantus360 explicitly checks exec base for a 68040 and exits as he expects anything less to be too slow. There may be some fast 68030s with fast RTG or FPGA Arcade RTG with 68030 simulation that would be tolerable performance though.
matthey is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 22:38   #53
Djole501
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Prijedor
Posts: 30
It doesnt need FPU, since it runs on Vampire....
Djole501 is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 23:39   #54
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 153
I hard coded 040 or higher at startup - I'll remove this restriction for the next build but honestly I wouldn't expect miracles . Especially if you're using AGA (chunky 2 planar)
lantus360 is offline  
Old 18 June 2017, 08:24   #55
TrashyMG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Vermont - USA
Posts: 41
@lantus360

Noticed an odd quirk in the controls when doing a jump kick that I don't see on other platforms I played this game on. Here is a video sort of explaining what I see. And I think I see the same issue in your video. in my demonstration Both are using the same .PAK file, of course extracted on the Amiga version.

[ Show youtube player ]
TrashyMG is offline  
Old 18 June 2017, 13:09   #56
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by lantus360 View Post
I hard coded 040 or higher at startup - I'll remove this restriction for the next build but honestly I wouldn't expect miracles . Especially if you're using AGA (chunky 2 planar)
Not going to happen eh! sadly have realised even if you get it working on 030 I don't have enough memory - boo hoo
Havie is offline  
Old 18 June 2017, 20:51   #57
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrashyMG View Post
@lantus360

Noticed an odd quirk in the controls when doing a jump kick that I don't see on other platforms I played this game on. Here is a video sort of explaining what I see. And I think I see the same issue in your video. in my demonstration Both are using the same .PAK file, of course extracted on the Amiga version.

[ Show youtube player ]
Good video and yes I can see the issue. Thanks for posting that
lantus360 is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 08:49   #58
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,143
Available on Aminet openBOR GUI, some small imperfections on the GUI on a RTG screen

openBOR GUI (GadTools) Download

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 28 June 2017 at 20:00.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 10:31   #59
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 679
A version working on 030 would be welcome!
vulture is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 13:42   #60
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,047
A version working on an A500 would be even more welcome.
idrougge is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Found: Battle Valley] Side scrolling jeep/helicopter john32 Looking for a game name ? 5 10 September 2016 03:52
side scrolling, ball kicker platform game AnonA Looking for a game name ? 15 17 August 2010 22:15
[Found: Australo Piticus Mechanicus] Side scrolling barb game, old? Wasagi Looking for a game name ? 5 03 July 2010 01:08
Legends of Hyboria - Arcade side-scrolling brawler Rebel-CD32 project.Amiga Game Factory 8 12 November 2006 09:41
Side scrolling terrorist game. Jay Fat Looking for a game name ? 8 25 November 2004 01:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21901 seconds with 13 queries