English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 June 2015, 21:48   #1
Yoji
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: newcastle-under-lyme
Posts: 34
Anyone any joy with the KX light install?

I had an old x86 PC knocking around - so thought I would try the AF KX light install, which seems to install a Linux core and then AF on top.

I did send an email to AF, but perhaps I upset them as they not replied
Here is my email (with the screen shots as attachments).
Has anyone done this and got it working OK?

Quote:
Hi Again.

Different question today!! I had a spare x86 machine lying around - so
thought I would install AF per this article
http://www.amigaforever.com/kxlight/installation/
(having created the iso and burnt it to a DVD)
Didnt go well . First off I got this error (or very similar - cant recall
exactly)
http://linuxconfig.org/fatal-error-bad-primary-partition-0-partition-ends-in-the-final-partial-cylinder
So I had to muddle through clearing out all old HDD structure and starting
again (you would have expected the install to have managed me through that
without bombing out)
Having got through that.. it then failed saying there were errors is copying
amiga files .. so never completed.
I know SFA about Linux - but I managed to find and look at the log file..
which reported lots of "vanished" files (see attached screen shot .. sorry
it from phone.. like I said - I know nothing about Linux and how to get it
piped out to text somewhere).
As an example .. if you look at the third entry from the bottom - I checked
on the DVD to see if the file was there or not... and it was, but had
special characters (as seen in windows)... so I wonder if that why it (and
other files) failed... may be due to code page differences between the linux
script and DVD ? I dont know.. but it was never going to work by the look of
things. Here is screen shot of that file on the DVD (as seen in windows).
You can also see from the time stamp - I not fiddled with it - those files
look to be exactly per the original Amiga Forever 2014 structure?

I know this feature is a bit experimental - but would you have expected it
to work? I cant think if what I might have done wrong.
Any ideas?

Thanks and best regards

P.S. the install did say it was going to check (via internet I guess - the
PC was connected at the time and it didnt say it failed) but said there was
no update to the install script avail.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture2.JPG
Views:	227
Size:	110.4 KB
ID:	44412   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	207
Size:	51.5 KB
ID:	44413  
Yoji is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 June 2015, 01:39   #2
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
I installed it on 3 (or so) computers, each time without problems. (my latest af is 2012)
From your screenshots it looks like it can't read from cd.
Does the cd work when booting directly to workbench? type nothing on the bootprompt, just wait.
tero is offline  
Old 09 June 2015, 10:56   #3
Yoji
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: newcastle-under-lyme
Posts: 34
Yes - its boots fine if I just let it boot from the DVD.
If you look at the all the files that the log is complaining about - they ALL have some kind of special characters? which makes me suspicious (per my comment in my mail)
If your successful installs are all from 2012 -they wont be with AF 2014.
I thought this was a new, still experimental feature in 2014? Anyway, even if it was in earlier versions, I wonder if they changed the install script and introduced the error?

Thanks for your reply and best regards
Yoji is offline  
Old 09 June 2015, 19:22   #4
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
Could be they screwed something, does the log contain other errors before the file read errors?
One other thing that comes to mind is that a wrong charset is used. Try to press F2 at the boot prompt for the help screen, you should be able to set it manually.

It should be something like:
afinstall lang=ch|cn|de|da|es|fr|it|nl|pl|ru|sk|tr|tw|us
(I'm not sure which of those languages are supported, or if afinstall support it at all)
Or try to change the language with one of those (but i don't think they can cause that)
afinstall keyboard==ch|cn|de|da|es|fr|it|nl|pl|ru|sk|tr|tw|us
afinstall xkeyboard==ch|cn|de|da|es|fr|it|nl|pl|ru|sk|tr|tw|us

BTW:The new feature is that you need to burn the cd yourself, in older AF's it was directly on the AF-plus CD. iirc it first appears 2004 (AF6). But if i understand it correctly you can now modify the setup, which was hard to do in the past.
tero is offline  
Old 10 June 2015, 23:05   #5
Yoji
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: newcastle-under-lyme
Posts: 34
Thanks,

I wonder? My system (the one I have AF installed on and burnt the DVD on) will be English (real English - not US English) and there is not an EN in the list of Languages - I wonder if that threw it, and got it confused.
I have reinstalled AROS on the spare PC and packed it away for now - but may be I will have another go when I get a chance.
(though I feel we are clutching at straws somewhat!! )
Thanks.
Yoji is offline  
Old 19 March 2017, 22:16   #6
Yoji
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: newcastle-under-lyme
Posts: 34
I came back to thi s- since I upgraded to AF 2016..
So I hoped they might have fixed.
Unfortunately - I got the same error.. (i.e. copy amiga file error), I have not checked to see if it exactly the same files.. but it is ominous.

Anyone else done this without issues?

Cheers
Yoji is offline  
Old 20 March 2017, 08:16   #7
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 983
AF 2016 creates a corrupt iso file. The last version I have that creates a useable iso is AF 2012. Cloanto knows about this and have had several emails from several different people about it and have done nothing. They can screw off from any more purchases from me in future until they sort this and themselves out!
ptyerman is offline  
Old 28 March 2017, 23:49   #8
Yoji
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: newcastle-under-lyme
Posts: 34
Thanks for the tip...
I acquired a copy of AF 2012 and it almost worked.. it got further than AF2016, but failed..
It installed KX lite OK.. and tries start up Amiga Forever.. almost gets there, but then bombs out - with KX lite shutting down.
So don't know if I got a dodgy ISO (it starts up AF fine in CD mode).

Anyone any ideas? or where I can get a known good AF2012 iso? Can you get them for Cloanto?

Hugely frustrating
Cheers
Yoji is offline  
Old 29 March 2017, 01:35   #9
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 983
You have got the same results as everyone else, I haven't heard of anyone actually getting KX Light to work without modifying the install. Installed as supplied it just constantly shuts down before it loads Workbench making it totally useless.
There is someone on this forum that has messed with it and got it to work but it was a lot of messing about, I haven't tried it myself as I find it easier and a lot less messy to just use Amikit on top of Windows XP, I no longer have any desire to use or support Cloanto products..
If you want to try what he did you can find the thread here: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=84480&page=2
The last post.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 15:54   #10
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 654
I had similar issue, AF tech support sent me a link to download an iso and that worked. Maybe just ask then for a working iso for your version and they can send you a link also?


EDIT: you can read all about it here or just skip to my last comment which explains what I did to get it to work.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=84480&page=2

Last edited by Sinphaltimus; 23 June 2017 at 16:07.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 17 July 2017, 00:41   #11
Yoji
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: newcastle-under-lyme
Posts: 34
Now that AF7 is out - anyone tried with a new ISO from that and got it working by any chance?
Or it still FUBAR?

Cheers
Yoji is offline  
Old 17 July 2017, 01:11   #12
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 654
Haven't tried yet but plan to. I want to take an image of the laptop first and just haven't had time to get around to it yet.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 17 July 2017, 02:33   #13
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 983
Kxlight will just be the same as the last version of Amiga Forever.
It is based on X-Amiga which was abandoned in 2007 and has had no updates since, Cloanto just renamed it to Kxlight and included their ROMs and Workbench versions. X-Amiga had the same problems so Cloanto inherited those problems with it.
The X-Amiga web site can still be found through the Internet Archive here: https://web.archive.org/web/20081010....net/docs.html.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 17 July 2017, 04:17   #14
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptyerman View Post
Kxlight will just be the same as the last version of Amiga Forever.
It is based on X-Amiga which was abandoned in 2007 and has had no updates since, Cloanto just renamed it to Kxlight and included their ROMs and Workbench versions. X-Amiga had the same problems so Cloanto inherited those problems with it.
The X-Amiga web site can still be found through the Internet Archive here: https://web.archive.org/web/20081010....net/docs.html.
I think he's talking about the ISO build option in AF2016 vs. AFv7. In 2016 it simply didn't work. I had the guys at AF tech support send me a working iso to install KX-light since my AF2016 install was digital download without a disk.

We're both hopeful that AFv7 can build isos without errors now.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 30 July 2017, 16:58   #15
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 983
Had some time this weekend so have been working on getting this booting after a full install.
It was so simple, makes you wonder how it was missed!
I currently have it booted after a full install in Virtualbox. I'll put it on real hardware later, I used Virtualbox for the convenience while working on the problem.
And I hope Cloanto read this also, it needs addressing to end the errors.
The problem is as simple as a misnamed ROM in the .uaerc config file. Scroll down the list a bit and you come upon the line that calls for amiga-os-3x0.rom, the problem is Amiga Forever doesn't install a ROM with that name in the ROM folder.
I renamed the amiga-os-3x0-A1200.rom and now it boots, problem solved.
I used a Puppy Linux iso to boot from as it gives easy access to the KXlight install on the drive.
First do a full install of KXlight on hard drive or in Virtualbox. Once installed boot from a Puppy CD or similar and mount the KXlight hard drive. Open the Amiga/Rom folder and rename the A1200 ROM to amiga-os-3x0.rom, that's it. Reboot after removing the Puppy CD and all should be well.
I think the main problem with X-Amiga is also a misconfigured .uaerc file and will work on that at some point but for now, enjoy your KXlight install!
ptyerman is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joy of the Single - BBC DDNI Nostalgia & memories 2 16 July 2013 12:32
Install native nvidia drivers on amiga forever KX light ? demether support.Amiga Forever 0 05 May 2012 21:59
KX Light Install doesn't boot from HD/LiveCD boots very well ?? gerograph support.Amiga Forever 9 02 February 2011 23:05
Joy stick has delay Vars191 support.WinUAE 4 23 May 2009 23:02
Maximum joy from the stick.. CRAZG support.Hardware 7 31 May 2007 07:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20320 seconds with 15 queries