English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 June 2020, 20:55   #1
amigatime
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 40
Floppy disk Twinworld Gets Stuck at Intro Text

One game I was really looking forward to playing on my A600 is Twinworld. But unfortunately it gets stuck at the intro text while the theme music plays on loop. It does the same for me in WinUAE.

Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Twinworld Intro.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	967.2 KB
ID:	67993  
amigatime is offline  
Old 29 June 2020, 21:23   #2
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Federativnaya Respublika Germaniya
Posts: 4,960
Fire Button?
mai is offline  
Old 29 June 2020, 21:45   #3
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,183
Can you try a cpu not 68000 in winuae?
jotd is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 01:55   #4
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,433
Works as an A500 (half+half)

http://hol.abime.net/1546
Says it is OCS only

Do you have WhdLoad ?
There is a version which may work
TwinWorld: Land Of Vision 1.1, 812.49 KB, 2017-11-02

#EDIT#
Just tried S-Kick and that worked

Last edited by Nobby_UK; 30 June 2020 at 04:11.
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 11:07   #5
amigatime
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by mai View Post
Fire Button?
Haha, could it be as simple as that? I did wonder. I don't have a joystick yet, but I've got one coming in the post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Can you try a cpu not 68000 in winuae?
I'll give it a shot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
Works as an A500 (half+half)

http://hol.abime.net/1546
Says it is OCS only

Do you have WhdLoad ?
There is a version which may work
TwinWorld: Land Of Vision 1.1, 812.49 KB, 2017-11-02

#EDIT#
Just tried S-Kick and that worked
Yeah, I'm running WHDLoad on a ClassicWB CF installation. According to the readme, I've got version 1.2.
amigatime is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 12:03   #6
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigatime View Post
Haha, could it be as simple as that? I did wonder. I don't have a joystick yet...
Then You cannot play in most arcade games for Amiga, because joystick or joypad is required.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 13:18   #7
amigatime
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo Kazuki View Post
Then You cannot play in most arcade games for Amiga, because joystick or joypad is required.
That will hopefully be fixed by the end of the week
amigatime is offline  
Old 02 July 2020, 16:46   #8
amigatime
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 40
The game mysteriously started working once I plugged in a joystick and hit the fire button

And what a game! Lovely fluid controls, great music and graphics, lots of secrets to discover, and even a bit of a strategic element to it when it comes to managing ammo and power-ups. I loved it as a kid, but it's more fun than I remember. Perhaps that's because I used to play it with the keyboard (Acorn Archimedes A3000), or maybe I'm just playing it properly now.
amigatime is offline  
Old 02 July 2020, 22:02   #9
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,183
get a CD32 joypad & whdload. Most games are enhanced, and Twinworld is one of them, you can use a second button to jump, and change shots with another button instead of space.
jotd is offline  
Old 03 July 2020, 17:06   #10
amigatime
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
get a CD32 joypad & whdload. Most games are enhanced, and Twinworld is one of them, you can use a second button to jump, and change shots with another button instead of space.
I've thought about getting a pad, and I probably will for some games. I quite like the experience of using a joystick though for the older games that were written with them in mind. I didn't think I would enjoy pushing up to jump, but it feels right in Twinworld. I'm thinking of buying an arcade-style joystick for nicer feedback.
amigatime is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuck after level or during intro? How to proceed? bodomalo support.Games 1 26 December 2018 16:35
Twinworld Joe Maroni project.Maptapper 1 02 July 2013 03:26
Twinworld dlfrsilver HOL contributions 0 14 October 2009 08:13
Twinworld sareks support.Games 40 23 October 2006 15:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09909 seconds with 15 queries