English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 October 2008, 13:58   #1
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,523
Desoldering the RF modulator on A1200

So I now got the marvelous Indivision AGA and I'm very pleased with it!

The A1200 I install it on uses the expansion slot for SCSI already, so I need to find some other place to mount the VGA connector. The most obvious thing to do, is to remove the RF modulator and put the VGA connecor there instead.

Is there anything I should be aware of when desoldering the RF modulator? Can I just solder it out, and that's it? No need to rewire anything?

Thanks!
kolla is offline  
Old 31 October 2008, 14:01   #2
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 40
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
yes, just solder it out, and that's it. I always get rid of it when I get a 1200 board.
coze is offline  
Old 31 October 2008, 16:34   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@coze

now now my good friend.... need pictures please
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 31 October 2008, 18:10   #4
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@coze

now now my good friend.... need pictures please
Perv!
rkauer is offline  
Old 31 October 2008, 18:19   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
Perv!
i am more Pro-verted

besides its nice to have a little hardware pr0n now and then my friend

as you know very well indeed
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 31 October 2008, 18:39   #6
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 791
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@coze

now now my good friend.... need pictures please
Dirty Zetr0!
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 31 October 2008, 18:47   #7
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyyeb View Post
Dirty Zetr0!
I revel in my Dirty Hardware Pr0n Addiction
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 01 November 2008, 13:30   #8
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
yes, just solder it out, and that's it. I always get rid of it when I get a 1200 board.
Hmm, is there a reason you do this Coze? Do they leak some sort of evil goo or something that I should be aware of?

You've got me worried now!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 01 November 2008, 13:34   #9
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 40
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
sorry zetro, couldn't find any piccies while I'm on it but I'll keep that in mind next time.

FLB: Nopes, nothing to worry about, but it opens some space where is usually cramped with IDE adapters/scandoubler and stuff and you get an extra port to put something out.
coze is offline  
Old 02 November 2008, 02:41   #10
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,237
Ah, cool

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 05 November 2008, 14:43   #11
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@coze

now now my good friend.... need pictures please
Maybe I can help now?

http://amiga.nvg.org/moro/Indivision_AGA

Oh, and it works!

Last edited by kolla; 05 November 2008 at 14:50.
kolla is offline  
Old 05 November 2008, 14:55   #12
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 40
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
ah, kolla very nice finish indeed my friend ! looks like it came like this straight outta factory.
coze is offline  
Old 05 November 2008, 15:55   #13
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
ah, kolla very nice finish indeed my friend ! looks like it came like this straight outta factory.
Thanks

I will try to build some bracket to screw it tight to the mobo though (using the holes left after the RF modulator), it now just hangs onto the outter shielding and sadly isnt quite steady when I insert the VGA cable. So... more images later
kolla is offline  
Old 05 November 2008, 16:54   #14
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
May I suggest a way?

Grab some old VGA card, sack the backplate (without the VGA connector) and file it to be a bit larger than the taken RF modulator hole.

Fix it in place with some glue (epoxy is good for this, I hate superglue!) and screw the VGA socket on it.
rkauer is offline  
Old 13 November 2008, 00:03   #15
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,523
Thanks for the tip, good idea

In the mean time, more porn... my own disk-mounting bracket made of cardboard, to lift disk (in my case flash disk) high up above the Indivision.
It's looking very good IMNSHO

http://amiga.nvg.org/moro/Indivision...-bracket_1.jpg
kolla is offline  
Old 13 November 2008, 02:20   #16
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Excellent hack!
rkauer is offline  
Old 13 November 2008, 04:15   #17
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@Kolla

now thats a nice *elegant* bit of hackery my friend, well done!!!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 November 2008, 17:13   #18
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
@Kolla - that's very nice work there old chap
Charlie is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 20:06   #19
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Thanks for this thread!
Now I can peacefully remove that piece of crap that nobody uses nowadays
Akira is offline  
Old 17 December 2008, 22:51   #20
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 40
Posts: 3,197
RF modulator society is displeased
Paul_s is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 RF Modulator Solo761 support.Hardware 25 17 September 2013 14:44
A4000 desoldering hardware pr0n for Zetr0 8bitbubsy Hardware pics 18 20 October 2011 00:05
Tips on how to avoid clogging of desoldering station spring filter Hewitson support.Hardware 4 10 March 2011 01:28
Wanted: CPU desoldering job 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 2 18 February 2010 18:30
Removing the RF modulator of an A1200... Akira Hardware mods 1 17 December 2008 02:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17384 seconds with 13 queries