English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 October 2008, 20:27   #21
lennonlives
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 97
Yes, it's fully compatible with an A1200. I actually use it on such a machine. You have to use a different version of WHDLoad though since the one included with this toolkit runs on AMIGA CD32 only.
lennonlives is offline  
Old 10 October 2008, 20:50   #22
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,661
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by lennonlives View Post
Yes, it's fully compatible with an A1200. I actually use it on such a machine. You have to use a different version of WHDLoad though since the one included with this toolkit runs on AMIGA CD32 only.
Indeed, good work, .
FOL is offline  
Old 11 October 2008, 02:41   #23
Dexther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: italy
Age: 41
Posts: 145
In the future create a simple guide to get all in amiga 1200 ?
Dexther is offline  
Old 11 October 2008, 09:23   #24
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Age: 33
Posts: 1,138
I'd say the guide would be the same for making the system work with an A1200, except you just don't need to burn a CD, and you'd use the normal version of WHDLoad. But I agree it would be handy if the manual pointed out how to do it on an A1200 too.

GREAT MANUAL, by the way! Very intuitive, I can't wait to try it out.
Cammy is offline  
Old 11 October 2008, 10:51   #25
lennonlives
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 97
Thanks for the praise

IT'S BEEN RELEASED! FIND THE DOWNLOAD LINK IN MY FIRST POST!

Last edited by lennonlives; 11 October 2008 at 15:24.
lennonlives is offline  
Old 11 October 2008, 14:41   #26
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 51
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
will wait till some kind person puts it in zone or on magic`s ftp
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 11 October 2008, 15:05   #27
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
will wait till some kind person puts it in zone or on magic`s ftp
Kind person is here and uploaded the pack and the manual to Magix FTP in the folder 'new apps'
TCD is offline  
Old 11 October 2008, 15:15   #28
lennonlives
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 97
An updated version of the manual is inside the pack!
lennonlives is offline  
Old 11 October 2008, 15:15   #29
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
Nice one mate! Downloading now, great manual by the way too, can`t wait to boot this up on my A1200.
 
Old 11 October 2008, 15:18   #30
lennonlives
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 97
I'm working on a version of the toolkit specifically for the A1200

Be sure to replace WHDLoad when using the pack on an A1200. The one included with the pack is WHDLoadCD32.
lennonlives is offline  
Old 11 October 2008, 15:35   #31
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lennonlives View Post
An updated version of the manual is inside the pack!
Sorry, just uploaded it without having a further look. Thanks for the pack btw
TCD is offline  
Old 11 October 2008, 15:38   #32
lennonlives
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 97
You're welcome, mate I hope I didn't screw up anything and it works just fine.
lennonlives is offline  
Old 11 October 2008, 15:41   #33
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
The music mods are a realy nice touch - Ill have to update my AGS setup on my A1200.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 11 October 2008, 18:32   #34
crabfists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: warrington UK
Posts: 100
This looks amazing! Can't wait to try it.

Thanks so much. Must have been a lot of work.
crabfists is offline  
Old 12 October 2008, 13:13   #35
lennonlives
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 97
I'm already working on version 1.1 of the toolkit, which will include a version specifically for the AMIGA CD32 and one for all other AGA AMIGAs.

I reorganized the toolkit's folder structure a little to prepare support for running the toolkit from the Workbench rather than having it boot automatically on turning on your AMIGA, which might be feature sought after by quite a few users I suppose. Both ways of running the toolkit will be supported. It would be nice if someone contributed a nice-looking icon for AMS

I also dropped the idea of using an archive to move some AMS data to the RAM disk for caching purposes. It seems to have been a meander. Using the 147 data file bundles provided with the toolkit I compared a 1.0 build and a 1.1 build of the same CD. The CD created with version 1.1 of the toolkit took 10 seconds less to boot than the 1.0 counterpart. Quite some gain. Everything is read directly from the CD now with some changes made to AMS's source code to make up for the CD drive's slower seek times.

Please share your impressions of the toolkit, report bugs and make suggestions for improvements.

I hope you're enjoying the toolkit,

Lenny
lennonlives is offline  
Old 12 October 2008, 17:33   #36
Dexther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: italy
Age: 41
Posts: 145
A good idea for amiga user or cd32 a boot a varius workbench in amigaforever stile
Dexther is offline  
Old 12 October 2008, 21:05   #37
Josh
Lord of Amiga-Manuals
Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kassel / Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 552
@lennonlives:

Thanks a lot!!!


Cheers Josh
Josh is offline  
Old 12 October 2008, 21:07   #38
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Age: 33
Posts: 1,138
I hate to say it, but it was a little buggy for me. I made a disc with five games on it, yet for some reason when the menu booted up, it showed one of the games twice and one wasn't there. Also, it could not load the games, and I am pretty sure I did everything right. One other thing I noticed, not a bug but still something that is worth noting, it seems the menu selection is TOO fast! It is hard to acurately select an item on the menu because it keeps skipping past them too quickly. I have to go up and down, up and down, until it finally selects the one in the middle that I want.

I'm sorry to let you know my unfortunate experiences, hopefully it works fine for everyone else.
Cammy is offline  
Old 12 October 2008, 23:42   #39
illy5603
Registered User

illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 554
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
@cammy,

This is the kind of stuff I was talking about with NTSC CD32 systems in the hardware mods thread.
illy5603 is offline  
Old 13 October 2008, 00:13   #40
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 50
Posts: 1,792
Marvellous!
Charlie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMIGA CD32 Games Compilation Toolkit - Need it j_sntos request.Apps 3 23 March 2012 02:08
Amiga CD32 Compilation Toolkit help markeggertsen support.WinUAE 0 21 November 2011 07:21
CD32 Games Compilations Possible? chrispy support.Games 4 03 October 2010 20:40
An ultra noob writes... loading cd32 games Volumetric project.WHDLoad 11 04 April 2009 18:04
AMIGA HD Games Compilation Toolkit: create your own ultra-fast compilations! lennonlives Amiga scene 23 27 November 2008 16:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09449 seconds with 16 queries