English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 October 2018, 11:28   #161
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,420
Haha, no problem Looks like 2-3 weeks away, but hopefully will have a new batch ready some time in November.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 15:55   #162
project23
Used Register

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Liverpool
Age: 35
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Haha, no problem Looks like 2-3 weeks away, but hopefully will have a new batch ready some time in November.
I'm sure you've already said this but whats the cost plus shipping to England? (and no adding spiteful charges just coz i'm south of the border )

Just so I can keep it to one side.
project23 is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 22:33   #163
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by project23 View Post
I'm sure you've already said this but whats the cost plus shipping to England? (and no adding spiteful charges just coz i'm south of the border )

Just so I can keep it to one side.
Hehe It's £35 plus shipping, which is £7 to the UK. £42 in total.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 17 October 2018, 13:12   #164
appelkoos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Hehe It's £35 plus shipping, which is £7 to the UK. £42 in total.
Ok i have someone in the UK who will keep this for me - Postage all the way to me will be stupid
appelkoos is offline  
Old 04 November 2018, 06:19   #165
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 336
I RECEIVED THE CARD! IT IS SO BEAUTIFUL SO SHINY I CAN SEE MY OWN REFLECTION...VERY HIGH QUALITY...VERY HIGH QUALITY CARD.

Everyone who owns an Amiga 500 SHOULD MANDATORY OWN THE Z-500 by default and it is 100% compatible with v500!! Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :
xboxown is offline  
Old 04 November 2018, 20:26   #166
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,420
Eh, thanks very much
Daedalus is offline  
Old 07 November 2018, 14:30   #167
hlide
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: VIGNEUX SUR SEINE
Posts: 10
Hi,

I have a hard job to understand the goal of such a card. Not that I'm questioning it, but I would like to have more examples of uses. I may be interested in depending the examples I could get.

Is there any picture of the board?

Regards.

EDIT: I can see some pictures.

Last edited by hlide; 11 November 2018 at 03:45.
hlide is offline  
Old 07 November 2018, 14:44   #168
hlide
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: VIGNEUX SUR SEINE
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matze View Post
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=50215

You can order diy-kits here: http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=55852 (registration and some posts required - approx 15€ with parts)
For some reasons, I cannot access those links correctly and especially cannot even register. Why is that so?

Regards.
hlide is offline  
Old 07 November 2018, 15:26   #169
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,420
A1k.org (and other German sites) were, perhaps justifiably, more than a little concerned about GDPR being introduced, and so access and registration have become particularly restricted.

As for the goal of the card, it's for people who want to expand their A500 beyond the usual limits by letting them use a Zorro card. For example, a graphics card can be fitted, or a network card. This video shows you a very extreme example I put together during development. There are of course much more practical and sane ways to achieve similar results, but it's more a case of "because you can"

[ Show youtube player ]

For those waiting on boards, I have the parts I need for the next batch, now just need the time to put them together...
Daedalus is offline  
Old 07 November 2018, 15:48   #170
BrooksterMax
Registered User
BrooksterMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk UK
Age: 38
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlide View Post
Hi,

I have a hard job to understand the goal of such a card. Not that I'm questioning it, but I would like to have more examples of uses. I may be interested in depending the examples I could get.

For me, just because! Here is an A2088XT card on an Amiga 500+, an unlikely combo!

BrooksterMax is offline  
Old 07 November 2018, 19:14   #171
amigo-mexicano
Amiga's Power!

amigo-mexicano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
For those waiting on boards, I have the parts I need for the next batch, now just need the time to put them together...
:O Fantastic news! Waiting to order mine!! Thanks for all your time & work!
amigo-mexicano is offline  
Old 08 November 2018, 00:03   #172
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
For those waiting on boards, I have the parts I need for the next batch, now just need the time to put them together...
Great! I'm keen to order too, I assume it will work with the A1000 also? (same side up but spun 180 degrees to face 'backwards' right? - I always get confused about that...)

Last edited by Marchie; 08 November 2018 at 00:11.
Marchie is online now  
Old 08 November 2018, 00:51   #173
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marchie View Post
Great! I'm keen to order too, I assume it will work with the A1000 also? (same side up but spun 180 degrees to face 'backwards' right? - I always get confused about that...)
I haven't tested it myself, but I have been told that it works. Yes, it faces the other way, so a full-length Zorro card will point towards you instead of the back of the desk as normal. Just keep it facing upwards at all times and it will be fine.

Also, bear in mind that it will need to be physically supported as the A1000's slot is much higher than on the A500.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 11 November 2018, 04:09   #174
hlide
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: VIGNEUX SUR SEINE
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
A1k.org (and other German sites) were, perhaps justifiably, more than a little concerned about GDPR being introduced, and so access and registration have become particularly restricted.
Is that a concern for a european would-be-member?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
As for the goal of the card, it's for people who want to expand their A500 beyond the usual limits by letting them use a Zorro card. For example, a graphics card can be fitted, or a network card. This video shows you a very extreme example I put together during development. There are of course much more practical and sane ways to achieve similar results, but it's more a case of "because you can"
Ok, so this card adds a ZORRO bus while still allowing the bus expansion. Since A500/500+ has originally a 68000 CPU, I guess it can accept only a ZORRO II card and not a ZORRO III card. I have a 68030TK but I would be surprised if a ZORRO III is still possible through the 68000 socket.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
For those waiting on boards, I have the parts I need for the next batch, now just need the time to put them together...
I think I would be interested to get one if the overal price is not to much for me. A PM will be sent.
hlide is offline  
Old 11 November 2018, 04:49   #175
Amiga4000
Registered User
Amiga4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: The Ford Galaxy
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlide View Post
Ok, so this card adds a ZORRO bus while still allowing the bus expansion. Since A500/500+ has originally a 68000 CPU, I guess it can accept only a ZORRO II card and not a ZORRO III card. I have a 68030TK but I would be surprised if a ZORRO III is still possible through the 68000 socket.
Yes, ZII only. However, anything is possible with a Z-500 expander!

Amiga4000 is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 13:38   #176
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlide View Post
Is that a concern for a european would-be-member?
Not really for the member, but for the site owners. A quirk of German law means that it's possible for the site owners to get stuck with a hefty legal bill if anything is amiss, even if nobody has had problems with the site.

Quote:
Ok, so this card adds a ZORRO bus while still allowing the bus expansion. Since A500/500+ has originally a 68000 CPU, I guess it can accept only a ZORRO II card and not a ZORRO III card. I have a 68030TK but I would be surprised if a ZORRO III is still possible through the 68000 socket.
Indeed, it is only possible to use Zorro-II cards. For Zorro-III, not only do you need a 32-bit CPU, but you also need fully 32-bit data and address buses, and you need a Zorro-III Buster chip or equivalent. Even with a 68030 in an A500, all the other requirements for Zorro-III are missing.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 21:12   #177
hlide
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: VIGNEUX SUR SEINE
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiga4000 View Post
Yes, ZII only. However, anything is possible with a Z-500 expander!

LOL! I can see that!
hlide is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 21:14   #178
hlide
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: VIGNEUX SUR SEINE
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Indeed, it is only possible to use Zorro-II cards. For Zorro-III, not only do you need a 32-bit CPU, but you also need fully 32-bit data and address buses, and you need a Zorro-III Buster chip or equivalent. Even with a 68030 in an A500, all the other requirements for Zorro-III are missing.
Yeah, it makes sense but better ask to be sure.
hlide is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 23:02   #179
DrMistry
Dusted with glucose

DrMistry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Maidstone / UK
Age: 44
Posts: 5
Yes Please Mr Sir!

Hi! I'm in the process of rebuilding my retro collection after a long and much lamented 10 year hiatus. I'd be very very interested in getting my hands on one of these beauties - are they available right now, or have I missed the boat?

Cheers!
Mike
DrMistry is offline  
Old 13 November 2018, 10:49   #180
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,420
Don't worry, they will be available again very soon - just as soon as I find an evening to do some soldering
Daedalus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Micronik Zorro II slots 6860 rev 5.44 with video slot enabler stachu100 MarketPlace 3 28 October 2010 09:48
single/seven slot zorro busboard or mediator which do you think lambrettadave support.Hardware 9 12 October 2010 22:59
Adding a Zorro II port to an A1000 via CPU slot Paul_s Hardware mods 12 01 November 2009 20:04
What sound card (zorro slot) is the best ?? Kristian95 MarketPlace 13 15 September 2007 19:37
Zorro II Card - Zorro III Slot ? THX1138 support.Hardware 4 03 May 2003 12:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10098 seconds with 16 queries