English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. C/C++

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 February 2014, 14:12   #1
Yesideez
(2b)||!(2b)
Yesideez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 216
SAS/C: Undefined symbols

I've been playing around with integers without problem but now I want to play with floats I'm now being told I've got undefined symbols and it's asking me to enter a DEFINE value of which I've got no idea. All I know is that no matter what I enter the program fails.

At the end of compiling (after I've given it junk info) it does say:

Code:
Warning 625: Proper math library has not been included
I have tried including proto/mathffp.h in the first include line but still no luck.

(The manual I'm following is the "Amiga Shopper Complete Amiga C" which was given away with a free version of DICE although I'm using SAS/C v6.58 instead so if anyone knows of a much better source of learning material - I'd welcome it with open arms)

Last edited by Yesideez; 12 February 2014 at 14:44.
Yesideez is offline  
Old 12 February 2014, 15:20   #2
marduk_kurios
move $dff006,$dff180

marduk_kurios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 66
*checks bookmarks*

http://www.pcguru.plus.com/tutorial/amiga_c.html
http://www.bombjack.org/commodore/am..._Beginners.zip
http://www.bombjack.org/commodore/am...d_Atari_ST.zip
http://www.bombjack.org/commodore/am...nd_Edition.zip
marduk_kurios is offline  
Old 12 February 2014, 15:41   #3
Yesideez
(2b)||!(2b)
Yesideez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 216
Thanks for the links but any chance a quick explanation of what I need to do to be able to use floats please?

EDIT: Thanks for that first HTML reference manual/guide - amazing read

Last edited by Yesideez; 12 February 2014 at 15:56.
Yesideez is offline  
Old 12 February 2014, 16:49   #4
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,265
You need to specify a math model, and possibly a math library depending on what model and what functionality you use. I think the command line option is "MATH=model" for the compiler, and "LIB library" for the linker, but I can't remember what to specify.

It's easier if you use scsetup to set up a project, and then use scoptions to configure it.

EDIT: try MATH=standard and LIB scm.lib, it should use the software-based math library that runs on all machines.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 12 February 2014, 18:14   #5
Yesideez
(2b)||!(2b)
Yesideez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 216
I just typed "scoptions" and nothing happened. Tried it with a ? on the end and the template makes no sense without a manual.
Yesideez is offline  
Old 12 February 2014, 18:31   #6
Yesideez
(2b)||!(2b)
Yesideez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 216
While I'm extremely appreciate of the assistance I'm receiving here, SAS/C is by no means simple.

Using the instructions on http://www.pcguru.plus.com/tutorial/screens.html to try and open a screen, I've typed everything in exactly and this is what I get:
Yesideez is offline  
Old 12 February 2014, 19:40   #7
marduk_kurios
move $dff006,$dff180

marduk_kurios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 66
it's "scopts"
marduk_kurios is offline  
Old 12 February 2014, 19:41   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,837
This is a horrible piece of a tutorial. Full of mistakes. Most information given there is just wrong.

CloseScreen needs a pointer to the screen as returned by OpenScreen and not the NewScreen pointer.

OpenScreenTagList takes a pointer to a taglist. OpenScreenTags is the function which uses inline tags.
thomas is offline  
Old 12 February 2014, 19:59   #9
Yesideez
(2b)||!(2b)
Yesideez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 216
See, that's what I don't understand. I can see some of the errors in that tutorial and I much PREFER TO USE ASSEMBLER BUT IT TAKES SO MUCH DAMN TIME TO MAKE anything (excuse damn caps key bloody thing) and some routines need to be coded from scratch.

I'm half tempted to finish expanding my 1200 and use it for a games machine.

Anyone used GCC and think much of it? That's been suggested to me but if it's as user unfriendly as SAS/C I don't think I'll bother.

(Hate this mix of diazepam/morphine and naproxen)
Yesideez is offline  
Old 13 February 2014, 00:05   #10
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,265
You don't have to do everything via command line. Run scsetup to create a project template, open your project drawer and click on scoptions, click on Code Options, and click on NoMath until it says Math=STANDARD, click save, and you're done.

I linked a complete SAS/C 6.58 install in another thread of yours, and it contains all the SAS/C help-files in Amigaguide format. I think I also included the SAS/C 6.50 manual in it.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 13 February 2014, 10:23   #11
Yesideez
(2b)||!(2b)
Yesideez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 216
I've run scsetup and nothing happens.
Yesideez is offline  
Old 13 February 2014, 10:56   #12
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 400
Did you clone the SAS-C example project as a starting point? You will get all the necessary icons and tools, if you do.

Reading the manual is also recommended.
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 13 February 2014, 11:17   #13
Yesideez
(2b)||!(2b)
Yesideez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 216
To be honest - no idea. I'm a typical bloke and I dived straight in and I've just started reading the manual now.

I tried SnoopDOS to see if scsetup needs something it can't find and nothing flagged up but I did try this in AmigaDOS...
Code:
makedir tester
scsetup tester
I now have several info files in that folder: Build.info, Debug,info, Find.info, Debug, Edit.info and SCoptions.info although I'm running everything through AmigaDOS - seeing all those info file should I be running this all through Workbench?
Yesideez is offline  
Old 13 February 2014, 13:23   #14
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yesideez View Post
I now have several info files in that folder: Build.info, Debug,info, Find.info, Debug, Edit.info and SCoptions.info although I'm running everything through AmigaDOS - seeing all those info file should I be running this all through Workbench?
Yes, try it. And continue reading that manual.
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 13 February 2014, 16:36   #15
Yesideez
(2b)||!(2b)
Yesideez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 216
Aye, I've been reading the manual for a little while now and it's amazing what I've learnt so far.

Typical bloke thing, eh? Manuals as the last resort

While I'm on these pain killers due to severe muscle spasm taking me out of work for a week this is the ideal thing to relieve boredom. I tried watching a film and the diazepam knocked me out and I slept all day. This is keeping my mind active
Yesideez is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AsmOne: Undefined symbol copse Coders. Asm / Hardware 2 02 April 2012 01:41
Undefined symbol bsr.b init_bitmaps VoltureX Coders. General 12 13 November 2011 16:11
Sas C 6.58 AmiCoder request.Apps 3 06 February 2010 01:19
Settlers/copy protection Symbols macpegg support.Games 8 27 February 2009 05:23
Hardware symbols includes like cia.i Photon Coders. General 6 10 March 2006 23:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07987 seconds with 13 queries