English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 May 2013, 10:55   #1
OscarBraindeaD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: madrid/spain
Posts: 23
A500: Supra Ram 1MB + A501 expansion

Hi all,
I've an A500 with 512KB of chip ram and a Supra Ram expansion (in the Amiga's left side) with 1MB. I'm updating it (bought a HxC Slim to play games from it) and, in order to code something in Blitz2 or Amos, I've thinking buy a A501 expansion to get 2MB of ram (0,5 chip and 1,5 fast). Anybody knows if is possible have the supra ram 1Mb and the a501 expansion working together?
Any conflicts could happen?

Thanks in advance.
Regards.

Oscar
OscarBraindeaD is offline  
Old 03 May 2013, 11:33   #2
attle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: RAM:
Posts: 65
Should work. Actually the A501 won't be fast ram, it will be slow ram (or "ranger" ram). If you'd rather have 1MB chip ram you can make a simple modification to the motherboard that changes how the A501 is mapped.

The Supra will be fast ram so it shouldn't conflict with the A501 either way.
attle is offline  
Old 03 May 2013, 12:01   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@OscarBraindeaD

Hello there, I think I can certainly help you with your project.

Firstly I would suggest buying one of the following

A500 / 68k DIP 8mb FAST RAM adaptor
$49 CAD (Aprx €37.00 Euros) + Postage

(stock image, thanks to Kipper2k, 68kDIP (A500) memory adaptor left, 68PLCC (A600) right)




Modifying your A500 for 1MB CHIP

With that you can slightly modify your A500 motherboard - very easy if you have a common Revision 6 A500 -

Overview



JP2 Location



JP7A Location



Those modifications will asset the trapdoor ram as 1 contiguous block of 1MB of CHIP RAM. with the addition of a K508 8MB FAST Adaptor - you will have quite a pokey system. I would say that you wouldn't need (or be able to use) Supra RAM with that set up, so sell it on or find a deserving soul / computer

You could then look for a very cheap mass-storage (Hard drive) based side car - since you have the fast RAM you wont need to look for one that has that as well - hence cheaper.

One option (mainly because its crazy awesome) is to get an A570 with SCSI adaptor - that way you can have a side card Optical CD Drive and an External 8GB SCSI HDD!!!

Its what I have but on an A500+ (well once I get / build the A570 SCSI Adaptor)

Last edited by Zetr0; 03 May 2013 at 12:06.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 03 May 2013, 14:19   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Alternatively

a fellow AmiBayer Tomthul offeres a very clever trap door upgrade that has a portion of memory with a batter backup - this allows one to create a setup RAM disk that loads on boot.

Tom has this loading up with the use of his 4MB RAM / IDE adaptor - allowing for internal IDE hard disk / mass storage.


(stock photo, image thanks to Tom Thull)



(stock photo, image thanks to Tom Thull)


Another option is an external product that plugs into side expansion bus granting IDE -


(stock photo, image thanks to Tom Thull)


This with this adapter one could have 4MB FAST RAM - 1MB CHIP + RAM DISK + IDE

I have a version here that asserts the FAST RAM and then loads the IDE driver from floppy disk. Once thats done you then have access to all the yummyness that is WHDLoad games and the such like!


Also a great little development platform for Blitz / Amos and C / C++ =)


There, that should give you some ideas =)
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 03 May 2013, 16:51   #5
OscarBraindeaD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: madrid/spain
Posts: 23
I'm impressed with you knowledge and all the options out there.
I'm specially interested on Tomthul´s device. I'll seek for it.
In the worst case, now I know, I can use my old supra ram and a a501 expansion.

Really thanks, guys.
OscarBraindeaD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing A501 RAM upgrade in A500 paul2010 support.Hardware 4 16 June 2011 01:41
For Sale: A500 with A501 Expansion. PowerPie5000 MarketPlace 0 15 November 2010 14:43
A500+ 1mb RAM Expansion PowerPie5000 MarketPlace 2 02 November 2010 23:19
WTB: A600 1mb ram expansion PowerPie5000 MarketPlace 4 10 February 2010 23:23
FS: A600 1mb RAM expansion €20 Smiley MarketPlace 6 21 September 2009 00:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11175 seconds with 13 queries