English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 December 2016, 15:53   #1
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 3,427
New FS-UAE branches with updated emulation code from WinUAE

FS-UAE is being updated with new emulation code from WinUAE. This work is being done in the "winuae3300" branch, because the changes currently break quite a bit of functionality:

* Directory hard drives are not available. Filesys code is not working properly. Reason unknown, looks like the Amiga side is not calling into the UAE filesys code.
* UAE bsdsocket.library is disabled (code needs to be updated).
* Clipboard integration is disabled (code needs to be updated).
* There's a good change that other UAE expansions are not working.

Classic emulation is assumed to be working as usual.

No binaries are available at this time, but brave souls can try out the new code by compiling from the GIT repo

EDIT: New winuae3400 branch available.

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 29 December 2016 at 19:46.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 30 December 2016, 01:56   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 3,427
The winuae3400 branch is now up to date with the latest code from WinUAE 3.4.0 final. Unfortunately, most UAE expansions are not working yet.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 31 December 2016, 11:17   #3
jbl007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Posts: 371
Cool, thanks for your work, Frode.
Looking forward for a new version to get at least the HAM6-on-AGA-issue fixed

Both branches compiled fine and basic emulation works. JIT compiler seems to work fine as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
* Directory hard drives are not available.
It looks like uaehf has problems, I couldn't get a .hdf to boot, only IDE controller works.

Last edited by jbl007; 31 December 2016 at 11:29.
jbl007 is offline  
Old 31 December 2016, 14:56   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 3,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbl007 View Post
It looks like uaehf has problems, I couldn't get a .hdf to boot, only IDE controller works.
Makes sense that this too struggles. Looks like the interaction between the UAE boot ROM and FS-UAE is broken. Have done quite a bit of debugging without finding a clue. I may need to add a lot of tracing code to both WinUAE and FS-UAE and run both with identical configs to see at what point they do something different...
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 21 June 2018, 14:54   #5
BastyCDGS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Freiburg / Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 61
Send a message via ICQ to BastyCDGS
Anything new related to this?

Maybe trying current updated emulation core of WinUAE 4.0.0 will help some issues?
Also I'm asking if I can be of any help with debugging?
BastyCDGS is offline  
Old 11 August 2018, 11:32   #6
prb28
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 27
@FrodeSolheim do you have some plans to merge with the main WnUAE 4.0.1 ?

There is a lot of work from Toni Wilen on the debugger that will be interesting for https://github.com/FrodeSolheim/fs-uae/issues/63.
prb28 is offline  
Old 17 August 2018, 10:48   #7
guidobartoli80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Loro Ciuffenna
Posts: 6
+1!

I volunteer for debugging and testing too on Linux platform!
guidobartoli80 is offline  
Old 23 August 2018, 17:05   #8
markore
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Posts: 2
Post testing Linux. illumos

Also I am here to to test it on Linux, possible illumos too.
markore is offline  
Old 15 September 2018, 12:58   #9
pixelsmack
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 29
Eek FSUAE development? DEAD?

Is it dead? Nothing since 2016. WinUAE has seen some impressive updates.
pixelsmack is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 21:27   #10
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 46
Posts: 2,432
I haven't update WinUAE, seems like I missed a lot.

What impressive update happened since 2016?
Anubis is offline  
Old 20 September 2018, 08:50   #11
Romanujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szczecin/Poland
Posts: 286
- much improved OS4 support (filesystem, uaegfx, etc.)
- several CPU and FPU updates (including full 80 bit FPU)
- bunch of Amiga chipset fixes
- big PC Bridgeboard emulation update
- lagless v-sync
- and probably more...
Romanujan is offline  
Old 21 September 2018, 14:08   #12
midimax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romanujan View Post
- much improved OS4 support (filesystem, uaegfx, etc.)
Thats WinUAE 3.4.0 (end of 2016) already, nothing new OS4 related after that, but it has unfortunately partially not worked with FS-UAE.
midimax is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Voices8" 8 Channel Soundtracker "DemoSongI" song - "This is the Amiga with 8 Voices" DemosongIHunter request.Music 40 13 April 2017 06:06
Help for code an effect called "Blitter Tornado" Powergoo Coders. Asm / Hardware 9 21 September 2015 05:16
Mediator A1200 "Hardware ID code missing..." Bamiga2002 support.Hardware 63 28 June 2013 21:30
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 01:06
ANSI control-code (?) bug in "all" AsmOne versions under Kick 2.0+ Photon support.WinUAE 4 17 July 2011 20:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07494 seconds with 13 queries