English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 September 2017, 18:22   #21
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Why do you think it would?
Setting up ports?
Starglider 2 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 October 2017, 20:57   #22
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
#1) i did a test with 68030 only, no FPU. and I get the software failure.
so i think you should use the femu tool.
download link in 1st post.
use the femu 080 with your vampire. start it in the shell, before you try amivnc.020
I'm trying that but even though I have matthieeedoubbas.library installed and working elsewhere, I get the error:

Code:
Cannot open mathieeedoubbas.library!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 24 October 2017, 21:11   #23
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
v1: RTG & Planar/AmiVNC.020 does work here.
I get:

Code:
Cannot open cybergraphics.library version 39
I have a version in Libs. Can you share your version please?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 00:19   #24
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 952
Well, no luck here so I decided to go another route.

I took a photograph of my Amiga and then Photoshopped in a screenshot taken with SGrab showing my YAM icon on my Workbench.

I then made the YAM icon a hotspot that, when tapped from my phone, opens my Amiga email account!

This is probably the least retro retro project out there but to me it was a fun way to access my Amiga emails if I need to on vacation, without forgetting the Amiga entirely.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 00:58   #25
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
oh, I missed/forgot about that topic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
I get:

Code:
Cannot open cybergraphics.library version 39
I have a version in Libs. Can you share your version please?
i dont have that lib in my system. i think it wants that CyberGraphX software installed.
I'll have a look, if i find those lib.

did you test the "planar" version of amivnc 1.0 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Well, no luck here so I decided to go another route.
hmm. yeah, not that retro

#1) documentation says "Picasso 96 or Cybergraphx" - so the "request" for that
cybergraphics lib must come from another library?

you have your vampire running? installed picasso96 from aminet and you
can use rtg screenmodes?

Last edited by emufan; 04 November 2017 at 01:06.
emufan is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 01:04   #26
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
oh, I missed/forgot about that topic

i dont have that lib in my system. i think it wants that CyberGraphX software installed.
I'll have a look, if i find those lib.

did you test the "planar" version of amivnc 1.0 ?


hmm. yeah, not that retro
Thanks. Yes I tried that too. I get the Suspend/Reboot error.

Last edited by Starglider 2; 04 November 2017 at 01:25.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 01:33   #27
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
#2) I tested the planar version with winuae and a local vnc viewer (realvnc 6.17).
It does work somehow, it gives some protocol error, but i can see a bit of the workbench.
workbench runs in 640x512 / 640x400 (aga - but ecs should do too, so the docs) screen mode.

first i set the password: amivnc.020 -xPASSWORD
next i run in verbose mode: amivnc.020 -v

connecting now with the vncviewer: 127.0.0.1:5900

i need to find an older/different vnc viewer.

#3) old tightvnc looks good - download the viewer only.
it does work - use "default connection" in tightvnc connection requester.
do _not_ use 8bit mode in tightvnc options.

#4) I also had to reboot after some session: once you disconnect from amivnc,
the workbench became very slow -> reboot, restart amivnc.020.

amivnc has problems with new opened screens, so stay on workbench,
start email program before you start amivnc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Thanks. Yes I tried that too. I get the Suspend/Reboot error.
*argh* , since the source code is included, we may have an option

#5) I wrote Hedeon, he has the StormC4 compiler. I asked him to build a non-fpu version (000/020/030)
of amivnc 1.0
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amivnc.png
Views:	37
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	55285  

Last edited by emufan; 04 November 2017 at 02:42.
emufan is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 02:40   #28
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 952
Thanks!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 02:54   #29
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
there is another vnc on aminet:
http://aminet.net/package/comm/tcp/TwinVNC0.8beta

not yet tested.
emufan is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 02:56   #30
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
there is another vnc on aminet:
http://aminet.net/package/comm/tcp/TwinVNC0.8beta

not yet tested.
I'll give that one a roll when I can. Maybe Sunday. Thanks again.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 02:58   #31
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
I'll give that one a roll when I can. Maybe Sunday. Thanks again.
it is a vnc viewer only. no server included :/

so lets wait some moons for the non-fpu build by Hedeon
emufan is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 03:04   #32
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
it is a vnc viewer only. no server included :/

so lets wait some moons for the non-fpu build by Hedeon
Ok, @Hedeon it is! For this project the aim is to be able to check and reply to email, rather than just view
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 05 November 2017, 14:53   #33
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Hedeon wrote he was not able to build it: "Parse errors, missing functions etc"

with the next update of the Vampire firmware, there will be a better femu - math-co-processor support.
I hope it wont take to long, to be released.
emufan is offline  
Old 05 November 2017, 17:12   #34
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
Hedeon wrote he was not able to build it: "Parse errors, missing functions etc"

with the next update of the Vampire firmware, there will be a better femu - math-co-processor support.
I hope it wont take to long, to be released.
Great! Where do I follow for updates?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 05 November 2017, 23:17   #35
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Great! Where do I follow for updates?
do you know about their message board: http://apollo-core.com/knowledge.php ?

in any case you must register your vampire to get email notifications about vampire-news and future updates:
http://apollo-accelerators.com/
http://register.apollo-accelerators.com/
Apollo Team Activity Report (November)
emufan is offline  
Old 11 November 2017, 19:04   #36
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 952
In the meantime I took my web based solution a bit further with a live toolbar clock
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 11 November 2017, 19:28   #37
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
I was able to build AmiVNC 030 noFPU Planar binary.

tested in winuae A1200 030 noFPU. does not crash,
it starts and does wait for connection.
in the shell use: amivnc -v

in the zone: AmiVNC_030_noFPU_Planar.lha

just test it, maybe it will work now.

#1) problem here with the rtg version, some stupid error, related to some RTG function,
dunno yet how to fix.

Last edited by emufan; 11 November 2017 at 19:36.
emufan is offline  
Old 11 November 2017, 23:18   #38
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
I was able to build AmiVNC 030 noFPU Planar binary.

tested in winuae A1200 030 noFPU. does not crash,
it starts and does wait for connection.
in the shell use: amivnc -v

in the zone: AmiVNC_030_noFPU_Planar.lha

just test it, maybe it will work now.

#1) problem here with the rtg version, some stupid error, related to some RTG function,
dunno yet how to fix.
Thanks very much. I'm in Hawaii for a couple of weeks but will test when back. In the meantime I have my hack to access the Amiga emails

What's the main difference between the Planar and RTG versions?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 12 November 2017, 01:47   #39
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
too bad, but a trip to Hawaii is a good excuse

planar is using the standard amiga screenmodes, hires-lace 16 colors for example.
while the rtg version is using the picasso96/cybergrphics screen modes.

if you use your vampire in standard screenmode, you may use the planar version.
if you have an rtg mode - saga (!?) screenmode - use the rtg version.

the interim solution is good enough for now.
emufan is offline  
Old 12 November 2017, 01:55   #40
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 952
Thanks, yeah I like the standard screen modes. Aloha!
Starglider 2 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE: Connection Desktop Remote AMIGASYSTEM support.WinUAE 1 14 June 2017 10:29
LOL Just re-discovered an old website I did on the Amiga ami_junkie Nostalgia & memories 10 15 February 2011 13:02
WinUAE and remote desktop connection exoticaga support.WinUAE 4 25 August 2007 00:13
New OS4 Remote Desktop client available Paul News 3 21 February 2005 14:40
Remote Desktop client for MorphOS released Paul News 0 12 January 2005 12:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09290 seconds with 16 queries