English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. AMOS

Old 11 June 2016, 15:55   #1
Brick Nash
Prototron

Making tiles and maps out of large images then reconstructing

Hey folks,

I've reached that stage where I'd like to try to get a scrolling background into my game and I have some cool beat 'em up backgrounds downloaded that I'd like to use that are made up of tiles.

Thing is I'm not sure how to go about this and am wondering if there is a program for this job, one that will analyse a large picture then chop out all the tiles and remember their positions (including multiples) of the large picture for reconstructing later within a game.

I tried TOME and I can indeed load a large image to be chopped up and I can save the tiles but I found no way of reconstructing them into the background except by hand.

Am I missing something? I read the tutorial but I couldn't see anything about reconstructing once the tiles had been extracted......

.......or am I thinking that this job is easier than it probably is in reality?

Thanks folks!
Old 11 June 2016, 16:33   #2
Retro1234
Phone Homer

I wrote my own program on PC to do this and I doubt the Amiga has the CPU power to do but only with a small picture. ps TOME is a piece of shit write your own map editor - obviously your have to write your own code to display the map.If you think theres a way to magically cut up a image and display it for you theres not.

Last edited by Retro1234; 11 June 2016 at 16:39.
Old 11 June 2016, 16:55   #3
Brick Nash
Prototron

No I didn't think anything was magical. I'm new to this and was just inquiring to see if there were any options.
Old 11 June 2016, 17:53   #4
idrougge

I think it would be a good exercise for you to make your own tiles grabber and map editor. You can then reuse the same routines in your game, so it's not a waste and a learning experience.