English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 November 2019, 10:23   #121
JohnnySlick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Austin
Posts: 7
Mine came in pretty quickly. Sadly, I had planned to put it in an A500++ board that I haven't finished yet, so I can't comment on how it works yet. On the plus side, having Diagrom easily accessible should be very helpful for my build.
JohnnySlick is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 04:27   #122
xterc
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Tomball
Posts: 14
The Romulator came in today. Here it is running in a REV 5 board:

xterc is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 21:48   #123
gdunlapsd
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: San Diego / USA
Posts: 19
I ordered two, one for each of my Amigas!

When the firmware is updated to allow you to change the menu music, I'm going to put the Amiga 1000 startup tune on at least one of them! :-D
gdunlapsd is offline  
Old 25 November 2019, 07:33   #124
xterc
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Tomball
Posts: 14
How can I address a 1MB Kickstart? I see the pins marked 1 & 42 are snipped off of the board, can I install new pins to make this work?

A 27C800 programmed with the same ROM works fine. The Romulator only sees the 1st 'Standard' part of the ROM.
xterc is offline  
Old 25 November 2019, 15:09   #125
solidcore
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: birmingham, uk
Posts: 548
Hi, answering for Kipper2k :

You'll need to install the new pins .

and Possibly the 8572a for the 1mb chip, Expansion ram to chip (not fast memory)

But not 100% sure on the address line hookup etc.

; vague I know but this needs testing. Maybe someone else here will know more.

Do you have an a500+ to test , would be easier than modifying your rev5

Kipper2k added:
"8572a, 512k expansion and some jumpers cut/reset"

added:

Here is a good reference regarding upgrading a500 :
https://www.dropbox.com/s/8vni4u90rv...Xform-A500.pdf

Last edited by solidcore; 25 November 2019 at 15:48.
solidcore is offline  
Old 25 November 2019, 18:54   #126
xterc
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Tomball
Posts: 14
The board is a new A500++ I just finished building (see below). It works fine with a 1MB EPROM, so the board is 1MB Kickstart 'ready', but with the ROMulator installed the extended portion of the Kickstart was not detected. I didn't want to add pins to the ROMulator without knowing if this was supported (I assume it is as it is meant to support 1MB roms).

xterc is offline  
Old 25 November 2019, 22:40   #127
gdunlapsd
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: San Diego / USA
Posts: 19
Has anyone had any luck booting a Kickstart 1.0 or 1.1 ROM image? The review on "10 Minute Amiga Retro Cast" on Youtube claims that this works, but all I get is a blue screen.

Also, I can't get Kickstart 1.2 to load either, though it gets further; it cycles through white and grey screens like normal, but then hangs.

KS1.3, KS3.1, KS3.1.4, DiagRom 1.2, and the Logica Diagnostic roms all work fine.

Edit: Also tried the AROS ROM and it also just gave a blue sceeen.
gdunlapsd is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 01:39   #128
xterc
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Tomball
Posts: 14
I can confirm soldering a pin onto position #1 (A18) does allow a 1MB Kickstart.
xterc is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 08:56   #129
breech
Asking stupid questions
breech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Syd.Oz
Posts: 148
@gdunlaps: are you using the correct roms for your region (NTSC)? Start with known good ones (Cloanto) before messing with hacks. Also there a significant chance that some pins are not connecting if you are inserting round pins in the standard rom socket.
breech is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 19:52   #130
gdunlapsd
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: San Diego / USA
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by breech View Post
@gdunlaps: are you using the correct roms for your region (NTSC)? Start with known good ones (Cloanto) before messing with hacks. Also there a significant chance that some pins are not connecting if you are inserting round pins in the standard rom socket.
Thanks breech; I did try with the Cloanto 1.0 and both PAL and NTSC 1.1 roms, and included the rom.key file alongside them (don't know if it's needed). I also tried some "unencrypted" rom images of 1.0 and 1.1 iwh the same result.

I think it's in the socket OK, because it boots fine with 3.1, 3.1.4, 1.3, diagrom, and lociga.

I'll have to tinker with it some more. I have an HC533 accelerator installed, maybe that's causing some incompatibility, so I'll try with just the stock 68000.
gdunlapsd is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 00:16   #131
quantum8
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: BNE AU
Posts: 117
Late to the party but I'd definitely like to try this out on either my A1200 or A4000!
quantum8 is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 21:07   #132
xterc
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Tomball
Posts: 14
This only works on 16-bit Amigas at the moment, Kipper2K mentioned a future 32-bit version if this one is well received.
xterc is offline  
Old 03 December 2019, 02:02   #133
JohnnySlick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Austin
Posts: 7
Kipper, did you manufacture any 600 versions for AotL or were you waiting to judge the interest in the 500 models?
JohnnySlick is offline  
Old 07 December 2019, 10:11   #134
gdunlapsd
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: San Diego / USA
Posts: 19
I figured out why my 1.0 and 1.1 ROMs wouldn't boot; it seems that the Romulator doesn't like it if the ROM file has "NTSC" or "PAL" in its filename; case doesn't matter. Weird, but I can boot into 1.0 and 1.1 fine now that I've renamed the files.
gdunlapsd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted : Amiga A500/A600/A1200 Power Connectors Zetr0 MarketPlace 2 21 April 2014 12:53
A1200, A600, A500+ and A500 maddoc666 MarketPlace 1 22 May 2011 10:11
Ian "tinkering with Amiga's since 1986" Stedman's A500/A600/A1200 ATX power adaptor Paul_s MarketPlace 0 05 October 2010 23:39
Amiga SVideo Adapters A500 / A600 / A1000 / A1200 / A4000 Zetr0 MarketPlace 194 12 December 2009 21:48
A500 Vs A600 MoonStone-500 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 03 June 2002 00:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07825 seconds with 13 queries