English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 December 2019, 08:11   #1
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,137
Anyone got an A4000 with working PAR card?

If you have that setup up and running, please reach out. Thanks!

Your friend in retro, Perifractic
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 10 December 2019, 08:47   #2
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 984
Yes, i have a working parallel port on a VarIO card, what do you need to know?

...

Oh silly me, i suppose you meant: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/par

No nevermind!
Locutus is offline  
Old 10 December 2019, 08:57   #3
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,137
Yup but thanks anyway lol
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 00:01   #4
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
If you have that setup up and running, please reach out. Thanks!

Your friend in retro, Perifractic
It's not up and running at the moment as I have it stored away, but I do have a working (last I checked) A4000 in storage with DPS Personal Animation Recorder and TBC IV.

Do you have a PAR hard drive that needs extraction or something? You might be able to just extract it with a Linux box.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 00:07   #5
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaHope View Post
It's not up and running at the moment as I have it stored away, but I do have a working (last I checked) A4000 in storage with DPS Personal Animation Recorder and TBC IV.

Do you have a PAR hard drive that needs extraction or something? You might be able to just extract it with a Linux box.
That's exactly what I need yes. However I have someone else on the task now. Thank you!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 00:15   #6
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaHope View Post
Do you have a PAR hard drive that needs extraction or something? You might be able to just extract it with a Linux box.
As far as I'm aware, PAR hard drives use a proprietary file system.

Last time I checked Linux only had support for Amiga FFS partitions. So it would be no more helpful than a real Amiga (without PAR card) in this case.

Unless, of course, you could dd the drive and reverse engineer the resulting data. Needless to say, this is likely going to be extremely difficult.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 14 December 2019, 03:59   #7
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
As far as I'm aware, PAR hard drives use a proprietary file system.

Last time I checked Linux only had support for Amiga FFS partitions. So it would be no more helpful than a real Amiga (without PAR card) in this case.

Unless, of course, you could dd the drive and reverse engineer the resulting data. Needless to say, this is likely going to be extremely difficult.
Yeah dd the drive basically. You don't even have to totally reverse-engineer the filesystem, just be able to extract the raw jpeg frames. AFAIK the PAR just uses JPEG instead of a proprietary compression scheme. It also just stores individual frames rather than any sort of complex motion-based compression, and it doesn't do audio at all so there's not interleaving of data.

For instance this tool is great for extracting from known data formats even if the filesystem isn't understood:

https://www.r-studio.com/
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 04:27   #8
DiMaestro
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 5
This guy does. [ Show youtube player ]

And it's pretty neat.
DiMaestro is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 08:57   #9
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiMaestro View Post
This guy does. [ Show youtube player ]

And it's pretty neat.
Haha that's me!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 12:14   #10
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,329
Since you brought up the Personal Animation Recorder. that’s another card that WinUAE should emulate. The DPS PAR is a cool card, I sold tons of those when I worked at a Amiga dealer in California in the mid 1990’s. Starglider 2, I love your channel on YouTube and watch most of your videos. You videos are well done and fun to watch.

Last edited by Pyromania; 16 December 2019 at 12:16. Reason: Update
Pyromania is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 19:09   #11
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,137
Thank you for your kind words! Means a lot

It would be great if it could emulate it!

Last edited by Starglider 2; 16 December 2019 at 22:50.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 22:33   #12
dschallock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northern California
Posts: 92
I have a Amiga 3000 tower with a working PAR card and TBC IV card connected, just like the setup was you showed in the video. Love that card. Use it for playing traditional animation tests.
dschallock is offline  
Old 17 December 2019, 18:19   #13
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,169
If you want to help with reverse-engineering the PAR, please see this thread I posted asking for info...
mark_k is offline  
Old 17 December 2019, 20:04   #14
SantiDarkG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 12
starglider 2...... I have an Amiga 2500 with all those boards and VAmpire too, and I am in Santa Monica, very close if you need help.
SantiDarkG is offline  
Old 17 December 2019, 20:32   #15
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,137
Thanks everyone! I'll reach out if needed ?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 17 December 2019, 22:12   #16
Acill
Tech Guru

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 171
I have a working PAR card here, but its not setup on my system. Let me know if you want it on loan. We can maybe work something out. Message me (Paul Rezendes)
Acill is offline  
Old 17 December 2019, 22:24   #17
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,137
Well I have the PAR, it's the A4000 battery damage that's the issue, but I'm working on it. Thanks!!

I was previously looking for someone with the PAR working on their system so I could export the footage but I have that in hand too now
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 18 December 2019, 08:35   #18
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Well I have the PAR, it's the A4000 battery damage that's the issue, but I'm working on it. Thanks!!
Maybe a good excuse for a modern repro motherboard replacement project? Puppyfractic can learn how to do SMD soldering and Ashley can hold the heat gun.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 20 December 2019, 05:01   #19
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaHope View Post
Yeah dd the drive basically. You don't even have to totally reverse-engineer the filesystem, just be able to extract the raw jpeg frames. AFAIK the PAR just uses JPEG instead of a proprietary compression scheme. It also just stores individual frames rather than any sort of complex motion-based compression, and it doesn't do audio at all so there's not interleaving of data.

For instance this tool is great for extracting from known data formats even if the filesystem isn't understood:

https://www.r-studio.com/
Interesting, I should throw testdisk at it, as it also does some deep level investigating and may be able to pull jpegs out of the image.
Edit: Testdisk couldn't decide anything was on it.

Side note: I got my PAR working with the drive that came with it from the eBay auction for it. It's an 8GB drive (so the question elsewhere about what the limit is, it's at least 8GB). This one had a capture from the menu of Spider-man (I believe it was the original one with Toby McGuire).
When I tried using the Gnome Disk utility to restore the 4.0GB image the first time, bits of Spider-Man were still on the drive. So I wiped it with the PAR utility, and then imaged it again and it found... NOTHING!
Then I wiped it again and tried the 1.4gb hdf image... the one that should have had the Titanic stuff on it, but again nothing showed up.

@Starglider 2
How did you image these? I'm going to write the image I made back and make sure that's even working.... I did open up the Hex editor that's built into the PAR test software (which I made ADFs of) and it looked like it had some headers and such on the drive. So that'd be a start in figuring out the format.

Also, it's a shame you can't use the PAR as a standard IDE interface for the Amiga, it's fairly fast at 7MB/s I think my Ultra SCSI on my CSPPC only goes about 9MB/s

Last edited by slaapliedje; 20 December 2019 at 06:11.
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 20 December 2019, 10:44   #20
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 984
If you have disk images and by the sound of it PAR writes sequential jpeg's in one go to it.

Have you tried just running binwalk on them?
Locutus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED - A4000 a3640, RTG card, network card FREEMILK MarketPlace 1 24 February 2016 02:51
Will Swap for working a4000 ej2095 Swapshop 1 18 August 2015 12:53
A4000 keyboard: space bar not working DarrenHD support.Hardware 8 24 August 2014 21:55
My A4000 has stopped working!!! BinoX support.Hardware 19 02 June 2007 23:19
Wanted: working or faulty A4000 motherboard Yod@ MarketPlace 15 10 July 2005 16:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09084 seconds with 14 queries