English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 December 2009, 22:44   #1
Van_Dammesque
 
Posts: n/a
WinUAE Idea

Hi Guys, 1st post, really caught the winuae bug now.

Had a beefed up A1200 in a tower and a HD, CD Rom, 040 16 mb accelerator, catweasel etc...., I had this upto 2001 then went to the PC darkside!

Anyway ( ) one feature I would like to see with WinUAE is a file drag and drop facility that is similar to VMware virtual machine program.
e.g. drag a text file from windows desktop onto the workbench main screen or more likely a draw.
 
Old 21 December 2009, 22:47   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,012
It already works with drawers. Just give it a try
TCD is offline  
Old 21 December 2009, 23:03   #3
Van_Dammesque
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks will try it out!

(sorry may have posted in wrong section!)
 
Old 21 December 2009, 23:04   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,012
Doesn't work with single files though (except if they are archives like zip or lha).

Welcome to EAB btw
TCD is offline  
Old 21 December 2009, 23:14   #5
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,595
I never knew this Shit -all the time I could have saved
:LOL this has been supported for ages

Last edited by Retro1234; 21 December 2009 at 23:23.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 22 December 2009, 09:54   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Doesn't work with single files though
It does work.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 December 2009, 10:55   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,012
I should have enabled show all files in the in the folder with the name of the file Sorry Toni
TCD is offline  
Old 27 December 2009, 01:25   #8
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It does work.
Testing it with very long file names like "Orari e acquisto - Trenitalia - RM a VR 23-12-09.mht" doesn't work so well: WB will complain that " Volume 'Orari e acquisto - Trenitalia' is not present" when I try to open the file within the dir "Orari e acquisto - Trenitalia - RM a VR 23-12-09.mht" from the Amiga side. It's ok with shorter names. Is this a WB issue with too long volume names (probably has nothing to do with WUAE)? The problem in that case is that WUAE will import too long volume names into WB... it should truncate the (virtual) volume name created after drag'n'drop to 30 chars or the dragged file within will be inaccessible.

Last edited by hexaae; 27 December 2009 at 01:35.
hexaae is offline  
Old 27 December 2009, 18:33   #9
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Testing it with very long file names like "Orari e acquisto - Trenitalia - RM a VR 23-12-09.mht" doesn't work so well: WB will complain that " Volume 'Orari e acquisto - Trenitalia' is not present" when I try to open the file within the dir "Orari e acquisto - Trenitalia - RM a VR 23-12-09.mht" from the Amiga side. It's ok with shorter names. Is this a WB issue with too long volume names (probably has nothing to do with WUAE)? The problem in that case is that WUAE will import too long volume names into WB... it should truncate the (virtual) volume name created after drag'n'drop to 30 chars or the dragged file within will be inaccessible.
Agree that it should truncate - unless Toni's decided not to interfere with file systems. It's sane with a circa 32 char filename limit. It's also sane to give files no longer names to begin with.

Hey, I drew a penguin flying a saucer in 1995 for my comic Zoot & Ty. He was on a trip from Ganymede to Canada. Curious
Photon is offline  
Old 29 December 2009, 20:20   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,672
I guess I can truncate volume name to 30 characters or so but file and directory names won't be truncated.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 December 2009, 14:24   #11
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I guess I can truncate volume name to 30 characters or so but file and directory names won't be truncated.
Best thing to do IMHO too... Or you could use fixed names for those volumes (like "WUAE Dragged Vol.1, 2, 3..."). Files and dirs within should obviously stay untouched and not truncated.
hexaae is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
idea about WinUAE-based tool vulture support.WinUAE 12 15 February 2013 20:15
Neat idea - borderless WinUAE and Amiga wallpaper Bloodwych Amiga scene 8 12 January 2011 23:58
Any Idea what Arabuusimiehet.WinUAE is? ancalimon support.WinUAE 15 12 December 2009 12:35
An Idea Miggy2TheMax Amiga scene 22 01 May 2002 01:12
Class idea for WinUAE MethodGit Amiga scene 26 28 August 2001 23:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08112 seconds with 13 queries