English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 March 2007, 14:05   #1
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,679
68060

Quote:
68060 emulation?
NOOOO!...

Err.. Hmm..

Correction, yes, unfortunately

Wait for next beta.

..

..

.
(serious mode: 68060+FPU properly implemented, new enough setpatch+68060.library needed blahblah, also 68EC030, 68881/68882 selection etc.. Extremely pointless, I know.)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 March 2007, 14:06   #2
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,048
Yay!!!! Tho i have no idea, what will i use it for, but wow, thanks
Shoonay is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 16:55   #3
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,925
Yes, thank you for something I will probably never use.

I'm waiting for different kind of those: ' Err.. Hmm.. Correction, yes' things. (regarding HD save state)

Great work Toni!
Anubis is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 17:02   #4
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 41
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
I think this will at least save Toni's time answering "when will you add 68060/68030 support ?" threads. Thanks !
coze is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 17:02   #5
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,959
w00t... mmu support

sorry misread
BippyM is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 17:06   #6
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 41
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
NOOOO!...

Err.. Hmm..

Correction, yes, unfortunately

Wait for next beta.

..

..

.
(serious mode: 68060+FPU properly implemented, new enough setpatch+68060.library needed blahblah, also 68EC030, 68881/68882 selection etc.. Extremely pointless, I know.)
Well, it makes the emulator even more perfect.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 19:00   #7
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
Well, it makes the emulator even more perfect.
Hello, is that the grammar police? Kindly arrest this man

(Sorry, in one of those moods today, heh.)
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 19:03   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey
Hello, is that the grammar police? Kindly arrest this man

(Sorry, in one of those moods today, heh.)
Post a correct swedish or german sentence, or shut up Graham.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 19:05   #9
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 41
Posts: 3,313
Well, imo, it's not bad grammar ...

making something "more perfect"... and making something "even MORE perfect"... nothing wrong with that .

"Even" is important in that sentence.

IMO! .
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 19:05   #10
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
Sorry sir, I'll behave
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 19:06   #11
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 41
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Post a correct swedish or german sentence, or shut up Graham.
You didn't

correct:

"Post a correct Swedish or German sentence, or shut up, Graham. "

I think languages should be capitalized.. or was that countries only.. hmm.. don't remember what I learned in school way back.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 19:08   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
You didn't

correct:

"Post a correct Swedish or German sentence, or shut up, Graham. "

I think languages should be capitalized.. or was that countries only.. hmm.. don't remember what I learned in school way back.
Bean counter!!!
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 19:10   #13
mrbob2
Registered User

mrbob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sheffield
Posts: 330
I bought an 060 blizzard board from gordon harwood for 400 of the queens english pounds back in the day. It made my 1200 flyyyyyy. If i run winuae with 8mb chip, jit settings at 8mb, 040 cpu, 16mb fast ram, fastest possible cpu timing option the emulation is very fast in workbech and games are as fast (alien breed 3d etc) as my 060 1200. So what will adding 060 emulation do exactly? make it even faster? i dont know a great deal on the techie side but i assume emulation of the 040 processor only allows winuae to go as fast as an 040? still lookin forward to it all tho!! lol
mrbob2 is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 19:10   #14
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 41
Posts: 3,313
+1 post.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 19:40   #15
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbob2
i dont know a great deal on the techie side but i assume emulation of the 040 processor only allows winuae to go as fast as an 040?
I think it is more that demo's written exclusively for the 060 may now work?

Emulating the more complex pipeline of an 060 possibly requires more host CPU time and WinUAE *MAY* go slower as side effect. But enough speculation, we await the real thing.
alexh is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 21:11   #16
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 44
Posts: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbob2
i dont know a great deal on the techie side but i assume emulation of the 040 processor only allows winuae to go as fast as an 040?
Short Answer: No.

No emulated CPU besides A500 respects the original machines timings and speeds.

I'll explain in loose terms. After the A1200 the 68k's started coming with CPU intruction cache as a feature. If the instruction your're telling the CPU to do was still in cache for having been done previously, they'd use it as it' warranted the same result and save a cycle.

WinUAE does not emulate this. The reason is simple. It'd be slower to emulate it properly than to provide the gains it does in real hardware.

Because it does not fully emulate this, the timings and thus speed of A1200 and post A1200 68k Amigas cannot be guaranteed.

The solution: all post-A1200 goes as fast as it can be emulated.

Conclusion: A1200, A4000 and and 68060 go at exactly the same speed (as fast as your computer can emulate). Thus, they're only there for compatability, they provide no other advantadge.

Ok, hopefully this is understandable even to the layman and squashes a lot of possible future questions
Ultron is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 22:56   #17
wizard66
FPGA Replay inside A590
wizard66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 53
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze
I think this will at least save Toni's time answering "when will you add 68060/68030 support ?" threads. Thanks !
That's tru ! Next one we want winuae PPC included LOL,
Toni always telling us he will not include PPC in winuae.
That's what he tolt us also about the 68060 function.
You never no when you get lucky.
wizard66 is offline  
Old 30 March 2007, 23:27   #18
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,679
Quote:
I'll explain in loose terms.
Great, that should be added to some FAQ

Quote:
That's tru ! Next one we want winuae PPC included LOL,
Toni always telling us he will not include PPC in winuae.
That's what he tolt us also about the 68060 function.
You never no when you get lucky.
PPC == NEVER.

I said implementing 68060 is useless and pointless, not that I didn't want to do it. But it was interesting to do because I learned something new about 680x0 series CPUs and Amiga's OS.

I have no interest in PPC.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 31 March 2007, 00:18   #19
mrbob2
Registered User

mrbob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sheffield
Posts: 330
I now understand the 060 emulation thing BUT emulation of the PPC to me, has nothing to do with the amiga. Winuae for me is emulation the amiga computer, naturally how nature intended with the 68000 processors.
mrbob2 is offline  
Old 31 March 2007, 01:33   #20
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 44
Posts: 757
Yes, AFAIC PPC isn't an Amiga. An Amiga was a68k with specialised chipsets.

That's what makes the whole AmigaOne\Amigans thing even more senseless, but that's a whole another discussion.

The Emulation of PPC also entails to total development of a new Emulator. The only one out there is borderline useless, which also atests to the difficulty of doing it.

The value of PPC only software is highly dubious as well, since most is ported or copycat material, particularly games, and in very low quantity as far as the Amiga software library is concerned.

I think i'm correct in saying that the only chance PPC is coming into UAE is if you do it yourself. And that's not going to happen
Ultron is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
68060 numbers Cosmos Hardware pics 4 30 May 2011 22:54
68060 Overclocking Hewitson support.Hardware 56 03 February 2010 15:15
68060 glue request.UAE Wishlist 19 25 January 2007 00:00
68060 on ebay Syko MarketPlace 5 28 September 2005 17:44
68060 killergorilla support.Hardware 2 24 March 2003 16:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09327 seconds with 13 queries