English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 June 2006, 13:19   #1
misguided_fool
Registered User
misguided_fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cardiff
Age: 46
Posts: 68
Saving to disk within WinUAE

Hello guys. I've got a question about WinUAE which is probably simple to answer.

I have defined my paths for my disks/save states/configs/kickroms etc
All is working fine.

I am then using an ADF of Diskmaster in DF0: (Its a file management utility)
I have another ADF in DF1: which was a blank ADF which I've now added various files to, and now contains various pics / sound files etc

When I write files to an ADF using a program within WinUAE, does WinUAE overwrite the ADF that I have within my disks directory path, or does it write it to a file within the saves directory path ?

Simply, does WinUAE write over the original ADF of the disk ?
And does it matter if the ADF is within a zipfile ? Does it write to the ADF within the zipfile ?

I've edited a few ADFs recently, but the data seems to have remained the same. I don't know where I've gone wrong, as sometimes I've had ok results.

Any ideas ?

Cheers guys..
misguided_fool is offline  
Old 20 June 2006, 15:34   #2
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 443
Check to see if in the "Floppy drives" tab in winuae settings, the adf file
is write-protected.
amiga is offline  
Old 20 June 2006, 15:38   #3
misguided_fool
Registered User
misguided_fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cardiff
Age: 46
Posts: 68
If it is write-protected - I get the 'Disk in DF0: is right protected', so this notifies me that it won't write to the disk. When I take the protection off, it seems to write to disk ok. The question is, does it overwrite the original ADF image within the zip file in the disks directory, or write a new image in the saves directory ?
misguided_fool is offline  
Old 20 June 2006, 15:53   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,662
Disk images inside zips are never modified. Zipped images are write-protected by default, unticking write-protection will create separate save image.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 June 2006, 16:04   #5
misguided_fool
Registered User
misguided_fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cardiff
Age: 46
Posts: 68
Cheers Toni. I was hoping you were around to answer my question.
That makes sense.

Thanks a lot.
misguided_fool is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a way of saving Cannon Fodder save disk to HD? Kenan support.Games 1 19 May 2013 22:41
winuae not saving HDD settings csc2ya support.WinUAE 2 30 September 2009 01:28
Exile ECS in WinUAE- saving? Baiame New to Emulation or Amiga scene 11 22 July 2009 20:09
Problems with Saving in Winuae. skell support.WinUAE 3 03 May 2005 04:04
AVI saving from WinUAE not working and very slow Pyromania support.WinUAE 7 04 April 2003 14:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06159 seconds with 13 queries