English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 August 2019, 23:05   #101
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark sealey View Post
What zorro II space does this card take up ?
I think the documentation says 0x200000-0x600000
Hedeon is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 12:38   #102
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
I think the documentation says 0x200000-0x600000
I dont have the Documentation.....what is that in meg...?

Ive asked in many places if this card would work with a 030/50 A500+ z-500 zorro slot.... but nobody ever replies.
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 17:43   #103
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,549
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark sealey View Post
I dont have the Documentation.....what is that in meg...?
In hex, 0x100000 is 1MB, so it's a 4MB card.

Quote:
Ive asked in many places if this card would work with a 030/50 A500+ z-500 zorro slot.... but nobody ever replies.
I'd like to know too Lukas actually has a Z-500 board too, but I suspect it's not fully compatible or he would have shown it working himself. Could be wrong though...
Daedalus is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 18:23   #104
mntmn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 10
Hi all,

thanks for your interest in ZZ9000. Most relevant links are bundled here, incl. the online version of the user manual:
https://mntre.com/media/ZZ9000_info_...resources.html

Sources for firmware and drivers (Ethernet sources also coming very soon):
https://source.mntmn.com/MNT/zz9000-firmware
https://source.mntmn.com/MNT/zz9000-drivers

ARM SDK (baby steps so far, later I could use some help from people knowledgeable with Datatypes and/or extending a music player):
https://source.mntmn.com/MNT/zz9000-sdk

Firmware 1.3b for Zorro II will come very soon (TM).

Zorro II version currently uses 4MB address space, but this could be customized.
The Zorro III version uses 256MB address space. ZZ9000 can act as ZII or ZIII by using the respective firmware.

We've finished packing and shipping almost all orders of batch 1. Batch 2 pre-order will launch soon.

I have a Z-500 and ZZ9000 shows up in Autoconfig, but I don't have an accelerator for A500, so I cannot test P96 on it at the moment. Also I plan to make a RGB capture cable for the A500, but only after the dust settles. Of course, if somebody else has spare time and would like to build this instead, HMU.

Cheers!
mntmn is offline  
Old 15 September 2019, 00:00   #105
SKOLMAN_MWS
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 147
[ Show youtube player ]
SKOLMAN_MWS is offline  
Old 15 September 2019, 23:26   #106
Overmann
Registered User

Overmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 270
How does the card perform? MNTMN should do a demo-video
Overmann is offline  
Old 17 September 2019, 20:29   #107
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 59
Agreed. It would be great to see speed tests against other cards.

I was hoping this card would get close to speeds of a radeon on the mediator.

Really like my VA2000 it does a great job, but my only complaint is that it isn't terribly fast.
matt3k is offline  
Old 17 September 2019, 21:28   #108
Etze
A3000-Fan

Etze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt3k View Post
Really like my VA2000 it does a great job, but my only complaint is that it isn't terribly fast.
According to P96Speed, the VA2000 (Z3-firmware, in an A3000/030) is, in fact, way slower than a Picasso II (in an A2000/030)...
Etze is offline  
Old 17 September 2019, 23:33   #109
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 59
Thanks Etze,

That was what my eye perceived.

I hope the new ZZ card is fast.
matt3k is offline  
Old 18 September 2019, 22:37   #110
gdonner
Ancient Amiga User

gdonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Elkhart / United States
Posts: 68
I got mine yesterday, and it (mostly) seems to work in my A4000, but I get a corrupt screen with ZZ9000-native video output (Amiga video via the ZZ9000CX comes through OK to my ASUS VE248H monitor):



Clean install of P96 2.4.2, latest 1.3c drivers from diskette using "Altais" were successful. Zorro III 1.3c firmware BOOT.BIN was copied to the MicroSD card (I got the long ribbon cable even though I'm a Zorro III user)--but no worries; just tucked the cable in.

The ZZ9000 is reported as "working" by the Amiga Early Startup screen:



I sent an e-mail last night to Lukas in regards to hopefully being able to sort out the issue--but I know he's very busy with multiple ongoing projects.

Anyway, I'm in the process of putting together a resource of info in regards to the ZZ9000 that I trust (over time) will be helpful to other users, or those interested in knowing more details about it:

https://www.gregdonner.org/zz9000/zz9000compendium.html

I can say that the color from my native Amiga video via the ZZ9000CX seems noticably more vibrant and responsive than what came through my PicassoIV (which was recapped not long ago).

Last edited by gdonner; 19 September 2019 at 01:40. Reason: Added photos
gdonner is offline  
Old 19 September 2019, 01:38   #111
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 279
Contact Lukas on irc as he advised me. You may wait a while with email.
#mnt-amiga irc.freenode.net

It seems you get a 3/4 screen in native mode. Mine the same. But as I have said no card is recognized in zorro 3 slot. That’s my issue it seems.
Signman is offline  
Old 19 September 2019, 16:34   #112
gdonner
Ancient Amiga User

gdonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Elkhart / United States
Posts: 68
Thanks--I left a synopsis for him on the channel, and will see what he says.

Good to know we have some similarity of issue; however, on your card not being recognized--if you haven't already--you might(?) try cleaning all your slot contacts (daughterboard, motherboard and cards themselves) with some isopropyl alcohol and a soft toothbrush. That made all the difference in the world for me on my A3000 not recognizing my X-Surf 100 card. Once I did the cleaning, everything worked perfectly.

I've cleaned all those slots, etc. in my A4000 already, so that might(?) be why my card is recognized but still has some other ZZ9000-specific issue going on.

The fit was incredibly tight--wasn't sure I was going to be able to get it to go in, but it finally did.

Last edited by gdonner; 19 September 2019 at 16:47.
gdonner is offline  
Old 19 September 2019, 16:40   #113
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,284
As with all Zorro things, if in doubt, whip out all the other cards. If the ZZ9000 is your only Zorro card then never mind.

My P4 never worked well in the Video Slot Zorro if other cards were in a particular order in the slots. Move em about a bit and voila
alexh is offline  
Old 19 September 2019, 16:46   #114
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 279
Yeah I cleaned everything , reseated etc. Tried all slots, nothing. Scandoubler works, zz9000 led all light up but nothing. No other cards to test. Trying with someone on Amibay to purchase new daughterboard. If that's not it will sell it.
Then I will just accept this 4000 is as far as it will go.
Signman is offline  
Old 19 September 2019, 17:08   #115
gdonner
Ancient Amiga User

gdonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Elkhart / United States
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnybarker View Post
Mine has arrived! Looks amazing. Will install at weekend and feedback.
Hi johnny,

Any chance at posting your experience with the card? Also, what version of the drivers and firmware are you running?

Quote:
Yeah I cleaned everything , reseated etc. Tried all slots, nothing. Scandoubler works, zz9000 led all light up but nothing. No other cards to test. Trying with someone on Amibay to purchase new daughterboard. If that's not it will sell it. Then I will just accept this 4000 is as far as it will go.
Hopefully a solution will be found!

Quote:
As with all Zorro things, if in doubt, whip out all the other cards. If the ZZ9000 is your only Zorro card then never mind.

My P4 never worked well in the Video Slot Zorro if other cards were in a particular order in the slots. Move em about a bit and voila.
My X-Surf 100 and BigRamPlus cards are working just fine, but it's worth a try! I'll see if a different brand and shorter length of HDMI cable helps any as well...

Last edited by gdonner; 19 September 2019 at 17:33.
gdonner is offline  
Old 19 September 2019, 18:49   #116
gdonner
Ancient Amiga User

gdonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Elkhart / United States
Posts: 68
Just had a thought; I'm wondering if a similar data cache and/or Zorro III issue(s) that Individual Computer's RapidRoad module for the X-Surf 100 had (eventually fixed in their "RRDevice17Bin.lha" archive) might possibly be affecting the ZZ9000?

"V1.7 of the RapidRoad devices fixes the Z3 problems that a few customers with 3640 and Cyberstorm accelerators have reported. Requires Thor's mmu.library to be installed. Copy the unpacked archive to your DEVS:USBHardware/ folder. RR drivers V1.7"


Source link

I mention this because my RapidRoad would not work in my A4000 until I installed IComp's 1.7 patch in the form of updated rapidroadcpusb.device and rapidroadxs100usb.device.

Although I'm now running a Rev 1.1 A3660 ('060) in my A4000 and not an A3640 w/'040, I wouldn't at all be surprised if there's still something related that's somehow affecting the ZZ9000.

Last edited by gdonner; 19 September 2019 at 21:28.
gdonner is offline  
Old 21 September 2019, 13:25   #117
RoC
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdonner View Post
Just had a thought; I'm wondering if a similar data cache and/or Zorro III issue(s) that Individual Computer's RapidRoad module for the X-Surf 100 had (eventually fixed in their "RRDevice17Bin.lha" archive) might possibly be affecting the ZZ9000?

"V1.7 of the RapidRoad devices fixes the Z3 problems that a few customers with 3640 and Cyberstorm accelerators have reported. Requires Thor's mmu.library to be installed. Copy the unpacked archive to your DEVS:USBHardware/ folder. RR drivers V1.7"


Source link

I mention this because my RapidRoad would not work in my A4000 until I installed IComp's 1.7 patch in the form of updated rapidroadcpusb.device and rapidroadxs100usb.device.

Although I'm now running a Rev 1.1 A3660 ('060) in my A4000 and not an A3640 w/'040, I wouldn't at all be surprised if there's still something related that's somehow affecting the ZZ9000.
EDIT:

The ZZ9000 works just fine now. The problem was the 68060.library which created issues with the A3660 card. This can be reproduced with the special kickstart for the A3660 (the so called KS 3.9)

Moreover, I suspect the KS 3.1.4 should work as well.

Informed Lukas, should some other people enquires about the same.

Great card. Crystal image and smooth switch from AGA to RTG.

-------

Same here. The card works great on a "plain" A3000, however it is not working well with the A4000.


The A4000 has more or less your configuration - i.e. A3660, BigRam plus with a Buddha controller.

I tried the Z3 as well as the Z2 boot.bin firmwares with the latest driver. I swapped the different zorro slots and performed a precauationary clean-up of the slots.

Moreover, I tested three different P96 drivers, starting from the 1990s one to the two new ones from icomp.de. I re-installed the AOS 31 image to make sure it was not somehow damaged.

Lukas confirmed it should work fine with the Buddha, therefore I am pointing my attention to hardware-issues, mmu and other things related to the A3660. It could be my A4000 which might have some issues, because it is not recapped and with a faulty IDE.

The card in itself is awesome. On the A3000 the image is crystal clear and it is smooth in changing resolution between Full-ECS and RTG.

With reference to the Thor MMU test, should I install it in Libs or anything else to be done? I am not using RapidRoar, therefore I am not familiar with their drivers.

Last edited by RoC; 29 September 2019 at 10:28.
RoC is offline  
Old 21 September 2019, 13:27   #118
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,588
Can someone post p96speed results for the zz9000 with the latest Z3 firmware? 640x480 8bit.
trixster is offline  
Old 21 September 2019, 13:57   #119
Acill
Tech Guru

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 171
A friend of mine with a 4000 is having all sorts of issues with his ZZ9000 and a BigRAM Plus board. His machine doesnt boot properly with the RAM card in but is fine with it out he is mentioning. Also with a floppy booting he said it boots to WB with bothe the ZZ9000 and RAM installed. Maybe the 4000 is an issue?
Acill is offline  
Old 21 September 2019, 14:28   #120
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,588
Sounds like something in his hard drive startup-sequence isn’t playing properly.
trixster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MNT VA2000, an Amiga 2000 Graphics Card (Zorro II) mark_k support.Hardware 15 30 March 2017 09:10
AmigaKit.com Product News amigakit.com News 3 31 July 2016 15:50
Product Warning! Mounty MarketPlace 7 14 May 2015 21:02
Help identifying Commodore product ! Foul request.Other 9 25 April 2010 04:17
Need a manual for a Commodore product? Paul_s support.Hardware 13 07 December 2006 17:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11103 seconds with 16 queries