English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 September 2019, 17:22   #1
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 279
A4000 boot issues etc

I have had intermittent problems with my A4000 since I acquired in a few years ago.
It seems like something creates a fault state on boot up and it just will not boot.

Before, and I can't remember exact circumstances, but after attaching a new monitor or ? it will not work until attempts hours later after non use.

Now I have had issues with the video toaster which buzzes on start up (and a burning smell). So yeah, took that out right away.

Just received the new ZZ9000 graphics card and when it is inserted, system will not boot. At least almost all of the time. The few times it did, system does not see
card. But the Scan doubler part (smaller card) will work partially and display 3/4 image on LCD in amiga rgb mode.

So is it daughterboard, Buster chip or something else. I am trying to acquire another zorro card to test but until then just asking.

If it is a daughterboard where to purchase, Amibay is dry.
Signman is offline  
Old 16 September 2019, 18:24   #2
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,584
Does the machine boot consistently without the daughterboard inserted?

What buster? is it socketed?
trixster is offline  
Old 16 September 2019, 19:03   #3
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 279
Yes it boots without daughterboard but not with ZZ9000 in it.

Buster is socketed.
Signman is offline  
Old 17 September 2019, 00:08   #4
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 279
https://i.postimg.cc/Rh3j5hPH/E355-D...41-D7-CFB4.jpg
Daughterboard

https://i.postimg.cc/MTcSx9HH/29504-...54-C928-D9.jpg
Signman is offline  
Old 17 September 2019, 00:48   #5
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
I would remove your Buster, clean it and the socket thoroughly and put it back in. Usually the sockets were added after the fact and quite a lot of them have problems.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 18 September 2019, 03:09   #6
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 279
Cleaned socket and reinserted buster. Nope.
Everything still works until I insert the ZZ9000. Then it just hangs at boot, no boot sound , nothing. It would be nice to have any spare zorro 3 card to check if all cards do this.
Signman is offline  
Old 18 September 2019, 03:16   #7
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signman View Post
Cleaned socket and reinserted buster. Nope.
Everything still works until I insert the ZZ9000. Then it just hangs at boot, no boot sound , nothing. It would be nice to have any spare zorro 3 card to check if all cards do this.
How about a spare A4000?
What else is in the system? You had a Video Toaster that went up in smoke, what's to say that something else isn't going to go up in smoke too-however unlikely?

Any Z2 cards to test? When I had some Buster/Z3 problems inserting a Z2 card with a ROM on it was detected as the correct device in early s-s but showed as failed, gave me a little more to go on troubleshooting it. Even an old Z2 memory board would be helpful for testing, especially since they're not all that useful any more.

It's a little worrying that the scan doubler sounds like it is not working correctly, or is it and it just needs configuration? The Toaster might have done some damage to the parts that connect to the Video slot, but the Video slot extender doesn't connect directly to the Zorro pins.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 18 September 2019 at 03:56.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 18 September 2019, 22:11   #8
gdonner
Ancient Amiga User

gdonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Elkhart / United States
Posts: 68
If you haven't already, you might try giving the daughterboard sockets (and its connection to your motherboard) a good scrub with isopropyl alcohol and a clean, soft toothbrush.

My Amiga 3000 wouldn't recognize a card I tried to add until I cleaned it--then it worked perfectly. I got this advice from Individual Computers, and before I assembled my A4000, did the same cleaning routine to all contacts (daughterboard, motherboard, card edges themselves, etc.)

After multiple decades, Amiga equipment contacts just need some good cleaning...

BTW, what revision of Super Buster do you have? Rev. 11 is, of course, recommended for both A3000s and A4000s. If yours is either rev. 9 or 7--since it's socketed--it would be an easy replacement and a good investment for stability.

Last edited by gdonner; 18 September 2019 at 22:22.
gdonner is offline  
Old 18 September 2019, 23:57   #9
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 279
I ordered a Super buster 11 from Amikit.
Cleaned every contact twice.

Here is one that just happened and does from time to time. After reinserting card after cleaning system won't power period. I haven't used the 4000 much over the last few years but it seems this happens often enough when fixing cable or fiddling with monitor connection on back etc.

After a while everything powers back on. Some sort of short?

Yes the scan doubler working at all seems weird even if the other card isn't recognized.
Signman is offline  
Old 19 September 2019, 00:25   #10
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,171
No power at all? Then there was a short and the PSU failsafe kicked in. After a while it can boot again if the short was resolved.

It happened to me more than once when I hit i think it was the scsi port with the RGB cable (A4000T)
Hedeon is offline  
Old 19 September 2019, 19:15   #11
gdonner
Ancient Amiga User

gdonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Elkhart / United States
Posts: 68
Has your A4000 motherboard (and accelerator board) been recapped in recent years?
gdonner is offline  
Old 19 September 2019, 20:01   #12
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 279
4000 has not been recapped. That should be next on my list.
At one time this was the daily computer for a videographer and all his video work.
When I received it, all slots were full: Video Toaster, time based corrector and other related cards. Such a strain on the system I would think.
Signman is offline  
Old 19 September 2019, 23:33   #13
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signman View Post
4000 has not been recapped. That should be next on my list.
At one time this was the daily computer for a videographer and all his video work.
When I received it, all slots were full: Video Toaster, time based corrector and other related cards. Such a strain on the system I would think.

Yikes! I would strip that machine down right away and avoid powering it up further until it has had some refurbishment.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 20 September 2019, 00:10   #14
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 279
What do you think of this, when I got the computer two years ago.
there were more than that originally.
I do now have an atx power supply

https://ibb.co/6RGjTJF
Signman is offline  
Old 20 September 2019, 00:14   #15
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Can't tell anything from that picture, but that looks like it might be a replacement battery at least, I hope, no fur visible.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 20 September 2019, 02:00   #16
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 279
[IMG][/IMG]
I see some gunk right side almost half way up. Doesn’t look like leakage



Yellow piece where back shows gunk. Tried cleaning.
Signman is offline  
Old 20 September 2019, 02:23   #17
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Really does look well cared for. The cap next to the first SIMM slot most definitely looks like it leaked, by the discoloration on the backside in the middle of the SIMM pins. The cap next to the battery looks dull like it is leaking, a couple others, 100uf one next to the keyboard also looks iffy.

I would recap immediately to prevent further damage. Save her! Even if you can't save yourself!
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 20 September 2019, 02:44   #18
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 279
I just ordered the recap kit from amigakit. As for myself, I am dieting and eating better now.
Thanks for the input.
Signman is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000T Boot Issues tiim support.Hardware 5 15 August 2019 22:21
A2000 Boot-up issues pneron support.Hardware 4 09 April 2019 12:07
A1200 boot issues Vypr support.Hardware 5 19 January 2017 11:19
Pre-used A3000 Boot Issues Perran support.Hardware 1 30 December 2010 01:45
A4000 CDROM issues fpacheco support.Hardware 1 30 October 2006 05:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09648 seconds with 15 queries