English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Contest

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 January 2019, 18:30   #641
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
I'll be honest, I'm rather looking forward to seeing the background water animate. It's a tiny effect, but it would really 'sell' the look for me - though the masses of flying bats added also helped

Yeah, yeah, I know - gameplay is more important, right
Well i have to make a batch of graphics changes tonight so i will see if i can squeeze it in, i might as well! Watch this space.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 28 January 2019, 22:49   #642
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Well i have to make a batch of graphics changes tonight so i will see if i can squeeze it in, i might as well! Watch this space.
Done the graphics update.... went into the code and it isn't straight forward to do the animation using repeatable code.

Here's the problem....

This is the table that creates the copper list for the gradients on round 2/3.

Code:
; 	LINE NUMBER, COLOUR REG, 24BIT VAL, COLOUR REG, 24 BIT VALUE,-1 (TERMINATE)
	;	-2 = Terminate.
ROUND2_COLOUR:
		dc.l	45,1,$6867ff,-1				; Sky Gradient
		dc.l	50,1,$726cff,-1
		dc.l	55,1,$7c71ff,-1
		dc.l	60,1,$8676ff,-1
		dc.l	65,1,$907bff,-1
		dc.l	70,1,$9a80ff,-1
		dc.l	75,1,$a485ff,-1
		dc.l	80,1,$ae8aff,-1
		dc.l	85,1,$b88fff,-1
		dc.l	90,1,$c294ff,-1
		
		dc.l	95,1,$8080ff,-1	

; Top of the waterfall animation pointers
; 		dc.l	100,1,WATERTOP_BG_COL01,0			; Store pointer to WATERTOP_BG_COL01 here	
; 		dc.l	100,6,WATERTOP_BG_COL06,0			; Store pointer to WATERTOP_BG_COL06 here			
; 		dc.l	100,7,WATERTOP_BG_COL07,0			; Store pointer to WATERTOP_BG_COL07 here	

; Mid section of waterfall animation pointers
; 		dc.l	120,1,WATERMID_BG_COL01,0			; Store pointer to WATERMID_BG_COL01 here	
; 		dc.l	120,6,WATERMID_BG_COL06,0			; Store pointer to WATERMID_BG_COL06 here			
; 		dc.l	120,7,WATERMID_BG_COL07,0			; Store pointer to WATERMID_BG_COL07 here

; 		dc.l	156,1,WATERBOT_BG_COL01,0			; Store pointer to WATERBOT_BG_COL01 here
; 		dc.l	156,5,WATERBOT_BG_COL05,0			; Store pointer to WATERBOT_BG_COL05 here	
; 		dc.l	156,6,WATERBOT_BG_COL06,0			; Store pointer to WATERBOT_BG_COL06 here			
; 		dc.l	156,7,WATERBOT_BG_COL07,0			; Store pointer to WATERBOT_BG_COL07 here

; 		dc.l	169,1,100-105-250,0			; Reset Water Colours
; 		dc.l	169,5,36-50-252,0			; Reset Water Colours	
; 		dc.l	169,6,236-193-188,0			; Reset Water Colours			
; 		dc.l	169,7,252-254-252,0			; Reset Water Colours



		dc.l	170,1,$1010dd,-1			; Water Gradient
		dc.l	172,1,$0000ff,-1
		dc.l	173,1,$3010ff,-1
		dc.l	174,1,$3818ff,-1
		dc.l	175,1,$4020ff,-1
		dc.l	176,1,$4828ff,-1
		dc.l	177,1,$5030ff,-1
		dc.l	178,1,$5838ff,-1
		dc.l	179,1,$6040ff,-1
		dc.l	180,1,$6848ff,-1
		dc.l	181,1,$7050ff,-1
		dc.l	182,1,$7858ff,-1

		dc.l	-2
As the gradients are no longer static so I need to have pointers in place where the code can update the colours for the animation. The commented out bits are how I propose to do this but the code/handler isn't in place yet to do it because well..... I haven't written and only just thought about how to do it.

Probably take a couple of coding sessions to do it...maybe for the weekend (Then Damien and Roondar will be happy )

Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 28 January 2019, 22:50   #643
van_dammesque
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: England
Posts: 94
This is looking very good mcgeezer!
What about the later levels when things get hectic? i.e round 19? Will graphical or otherwise sacrifices be made or a slow down or no problems?

RE: A1200 AGA version, I come from an 8 bit ZX Speccy to 16-bit A500+, WOW!
Bought an A1200, ok but the same step up (yes better games in 3-d the likes of Frontier, F1GP and Wing Commander, even a 040 was needed for a good Doom experience when I 'towered' up) was never the same impact! People who whine about AGA vs OCS must be technically illiterate. OK then, name a game on the A500 that was as hard to convert as this game and at even at this stage was as accurate?!
So to summarize going from 8 to 16 bit WOW! 16 to 32 bit not so much wow!
van_dammesque is offline  
Old 29 January 2019, 10:36   #644
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,062
@Geezer: My antivirus (Kaspersky) blocks your url "http://109.228.4.199/rygarproj1.png". It isn't really clear what it doesn't like about it, but just wanted to let you know.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 29 January 2019, 13:49   #645
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by van_dammesque View Post
This is looking very good mcgeezer!
What about the later levels when things get hectic? i.e round 19? Will graphical or otherwise sacrifices be made or a slow down or no problems?

RE: A1200 AGA version, I come from an 8 bit ZX Speccy to 16-bit A500+, WOW!
Bought an A1200, ok but the same step up (yes better games in 3-d the likes of Frontier, F1GP and Wing Commander, even a 040 was needed for a good Doom experience when I 'towered' up) was never the same impact! People who whine about AGA vs OCS must be technically illiterate. OK then, name a game on the A500 that was as hard to convert as this game and at even at this stage was as accurate?!
So to summarize going from 8 to 16 bit WOW! 16 to 32 bit not so much wow!
I can probably push around 20 32x32 sprites, the arcade can push up to 24 - but those will include the disk armor so roughly the same. The complication I have is that I can only have hardware sprites in upper, mid or lower zones, so if a hardware sprite moves from an upper to mid zone then I need to swap it to a BoB.

In all honesty I'll be happy if I get levels 1 to 4 done for the end of February, the rest of the game will come before May.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
@Geezer: My antivirus (Kaspersky) blocks your url "http://109.228.4.199/rygarproj1.png". It isn't really clear what it doesn't like about it, but just wanted to let you know.
Not sure why it flags up if it doesn't even know why it flags up. I guess if you're running Kaspersky you're of the opinion that if you can't beat the Russians then join them.

Personally I wouldn't run it as UK government does not recommend it.

Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 29 January 2019, 21:19   #646
van_dammesque
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: England
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
I can probably push around 20 32x32 sprites, the arcade can push up to 24 - but those will include the disk armor so roughly the same. The complication I have is that I can only have hardware sprites in upper, mid or lower zones, so if a hardware sprite moves from an upper to mid zone then I need to swap it to a BoB.

In all honesty I'll be happy if I get levels 1 to 4 done for the end of February, the rest of the game will come before May.
A good timescale, as I can only imagine the problems you are facing, but what a foundation you have built!!
van_dammesque is offline  
Old 29 January 2019, 23:49   #647
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
Here's my first stab at the background animation...

It's a bit buggy at the minute but hopefully you'll get the idea.

I'll need to modify the arcade pixels some more to get it to become more fluid.

Nearly there though.

http://109.228.4.199/rygarbg.mp4

Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 30 January 2019, 02:27   #648
buzzybee
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Landsberg / Germany
Posts: 329
@mcgeezer: If I understood you correctly, you want to add color variations. May I suggest to prepare several color subtables as in copperlists-format, and then just jump from your main copperlist to the subtables currently needed using COP1LCH etc.? Speeds things up a bit, that´s how I do it in RESHOOT R ... also, in general, there is no need to write color regs within the copperlist, it´s sufficient to write them once via cpu. Unless of course you reuse color regs within one frame.
buzzybee is offline  
Old 30 January 2019, 08:17   #649
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzybee View Post
@mcgeezer: If I understood you correctly, you want to add color variations. May I suggest to prepare several color subtables as in copperlists-format, and then just jump from your main copperlist to the subtables currently needed using COP1LCH etc.? Speeds things up a bit, that´s how I do it in RESHOOT R ... also, in general, there is no need to write color regs within the copperlist, it´s sufficient to write them once via cpu. Unless of course you reuse color regs within one frame.
Yes thanks for the tip, I currently do this for the bonus scene at the end of each round where I use the COPJMP registers and set different colours for the text.

The problem in game isn't too difficult to solve and using multiple copper lists doesn't really help with it because I need to factor the sprite registers at the correct vertical position, the routine has to be repeatable because different rounds have different copper lists.

To optimise the background fade when the time runs out I'll use multiple copper lists, at the moment it doesn't do that and is rather slow.

Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 30 January 2019, 14:22   #650
sokolovic
Registered User

sokolovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Marseille / France
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
Don't blame them, back in time there was almost only A500 quick ports to A1200. People just were not able to figure out what these specs were all about ...
Exactly. It reminds me a discussion with one of the Super Street Fighter 2 Amiga coder on facebook. He was saying that the AGA Amigas we're perfectly able to do a nearly 1.1 conversion of the game, but that the lead developpement version was aimed to fit in the 512kb chip Amiga ram. In fact, the AGA version just benefits of some few extra colors and maybe SFX, but don't benefits at all of extra CPU power or 2mb chip ram of the 1200. The AGA version was just a recolorized OCS one, a quick and dirty port made for US Gold in few time (unlike they were saying in previews at that time).
sokolovic is offline  
Old 30 January 2019, 16:12   #651
buzzybee
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Landsberg / Germany
Posts: 329
The Amiga was never capable of a percect translation of any SF-game, simply because it lacked a sufficient and standardized game-controller. Visuals alone do not make a perfect game :-)

Having said that, I think there were a few AGA-games that did the Amiga justice. Skeleton Crew and Banshee are some examples of games that did more than just fill the background with a second AGA-only playfield. Also, Aladdin made good use of the 2 MB Chipmem to draw big and lively animated objects onto the screen.

Last edited by DamienD; 31 January 2019 at 15:00.
buzzybee is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 14:58   #652
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,927
All discussion related to "arcade games that should be ported to the Amiga" have now been moved to this thread: Arcade games that should be ported to the Amiga, though I'm sure there's already a similar thread... need to search.
DamienD is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 21:26   #653
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
I've branched off the background water fall animation as it was causing all manner of issues and I need to focus on the enemies...

Don't worry it will get done, it's just not a priority for the moment.

Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 22:39   #654
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,389
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
ok
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 13:15   #655
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzybee View Post
The Amiga was never capable of a percect translation of any SF-game, simply because it lacked a sufficient and standardized game-controller. Visuals alone do not make a perfect game :-)

Having said that, I think there were a few AGA-games that did the Amiga justice. Skeleton Crew and Banshee are some examples of games that did more than just fill the background with a second AGA-only playfield. Also, Aladdin made good use of the 2 MB Chipmem to draw big and lively animated objects onto the screen.
To be fair, the CD32 controller standard was perfectly adequate for SF (even if the controller itself was janky). The CD32 port of SSF2T did at least control correctly (although the game itself performed terribly).
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 14:00   #656
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 746
I said similar, but... well... it was moved here.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 22:47   #657
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
Had a bit of time tonight to add in the small Rhino. Also added in is better enemy collision detection, you'll notice the enemies all respect the environment now like obstacles and platforms.

http://109.228.4.199/rygarrhino.mp4

Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 23:38   #658
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
[...] UK government does not recommend it. [...]
since when do politicians know anything about anti-virus?
Probably a mistake on their part They have missed this :
Karpersky for Home users, for Business
malko is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 00:00   #659
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
since when do politicians know anything about anti-virus?
Probably a mistake on their part They have missed this :
Karpersky for Home users, for Business
Politicians dont.
The National Cyber Security Centre does though.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 00:43   #660
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
[...] you'll notice the enemies all respect the environment now like obstacles and platforms. [...]
I have noticed that some enemies are able to walk over the hole.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rygar.png
Views:	123
Size:	220.2 KB
ID:	61880  
malko is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entry: Rygar AGA Edition mcgeezer Coders. Entries 75 28 February 2019 20:41
On the Ball - World Cup Edition AGA djcasey request.Old Rare Games 4 25 January 2013 12:39
On The Ball League Edition AGA , Player Manager 2 StarEye Games images which need to be WHDified 11 22 January 2010 18:21
The Vague #1 AGA-RTG edition is released ! kas1e Amiga scene 12 30 October 2007 00:27
On The Ball: World Cup Edition AGA CodyJarrett request.Old Rare Games 11 27 May 2003 06:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16342 seconds with 16 queries