English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 December 2016, 13:44   #1
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 263
Amiga 4000T Custom rom

Got a Romy with 4000T support, as I have a Cyberstorm 060/PPC attached to it as well.

This combination makes it difficult to make boot floppy because you have to add workbench library in addition to 040/060 libs as well.

As of now I have OS 4.1 FE running on a real SCSI drive using Cyberstorms 68 pin SCSI connector.

This works fine, but would also like to use OS 3.9 in dual boot.

Here is the list of what I plan on using, but would like to hear if I have forgotten something, newer and better versions exists or if anything is redundant:

Quote:
23.10.2006 19:58 340 1MB_ROM
22.10.2005 16:46 748 68040.library
22.10.2005 16:46 86ÿ276 68040new.library
22.10.2005 16:46 43ÿ888 68040old.library
22.10.2005 16:46 161ÿ988 68060.library
24.11.2016 18:47 4ÿ360 audio.device_37.10
24.11.2016 18:47 2ÿ476 battclock.resource_39.3
24.11.2016 18:47 544 battmem.resource_39.2
28.11.2016 20:38 19ÿ408 bootmenu_44.7(68020)
24.11.2016 18:47 1ÿ068 cia.resource_39.1
24.11.2016 18:47 10ÿ284 con-handler_40.2
28.11.2016 20:38 16ÿ212 console.device_44.8
24.11.2016 18:47 908 disk.resource_37.2
24.11.2016 18:47 40ÿ132 dos.library_40.3
30.10.2001 18:56 10ÿ724 env-handler
04.07.2011 07:46 15ÿ424 exec.library_45.25.15
30.05.2009 19:58 26ÿ472 FastFileSystem
07.11.2009 20:17 26ÿ472 fat95
28.11.2016 20:38 488 filesystem.resource_45.10
28.11.2016 20:38 26ÿ468 filesystem_45.13
24.11.2016 18:47 23ÿ572 gadtools.library_40.4
24.11.2016 18:48 3ÿ816 gameport_keyboard_40.1
24.11.2016 18:47 106ÿ652 graphics.lib_40.24(AGA)
11.03.1999 22:06 4ÿ752 icon.library_PeterK
24.11.2016 18:47 5ÿ932 input_40.1
24.11.2016 18:48 114ÿ536 intuition.library_40.85
01.12.2016 21:44 0 kick.txt
24.11.2016 18:48 12ÿ800 layers.library_40.1
24.11.2016 18:48 1ÿ244 mathffp.library_40.1
24.11.2016 18:48 3ÿ816 mathieeesingbas.lib_40.4(020)
24.11.2016 18:48 236 misc.resource_37.1
28.11.2016 20:38 17ÿ352 NCRscsi.device_43.43(A4000T)
16.02.2005 21:01 1ÿ964 patchmath020-ALL
24.11.2016 18:48 376 potgo.resource_37.4
28.11.2016 20:39 9ÿ192 ram-handler_44.24_NoBss
24.11.2016 18:48 1ÿ592 ramdrive_39.35
24.11.2016 18:48 1ÿ116 ramlib_40.2
24.11.2016 18:48 3ÿ932 romboot_40.1
14.02.2005 14:42 3ÿ420 romfixes2
21.07.2011 04:49 15ÿ944 scsi.device_43.45IDE
28.11.2016 20:39 27ÿ824 shell_45.7
24.11.2016 18:48 3ÿ692 timer.device_39.4
24.11.2016 18:48 7ÿ520 trackdisk.device_40.1
24.11.2016 18:48 2ÿ552 utility.library_40.1(020)
24.11.2016 18:48 252 wbtask_39.1
24.11.2016 18:48 71ÿ408 workbench.library_40.5
The "math*.libs" I have later replaced with registered versions.
I used the ms-dos command dir > kick.txt to make this list.
Don't know why size has the y with 2 dots on top.

But does it look ok?

And while I'm at it. Is it possible to use 2x1mb chips with max 512Kb on each.

I should have 2 512Kb as well, and will use them if I can find them.
Bought them more than I year ago, and not certain where they are.
Viserion is offline  
Old 04 December 2016, 13:53   #2
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
workbench.library 45.136 is in BoingBag 3&4 package. maybe some more you can replace.
emufan is offline  
Old 04 December 2016, 14:51   #3
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 263
Thanks, I will have a look at that.
Viserion is offline  
Old 04 December 2016, 17:33   #4
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viserion View Post
Thanks, I will have a look at that.
np. over at the vampire forum Roman S. made a list with some usefull modules/libs and patches.
emufan is offline  
Old 04 December 2016, 19:17   #5
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 263
Looked it over quickley, so I'll take a closer look tomorrow, to see if there is something there that is newer than what I already have.
Viserion is offline  
Old 04 December 2016, 20:47   #6
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Thomas Richter's layers.library for AmigaOS 3.9 seems to work from ROM.

http://aminet.net/util/sys/layers.lha

Algorithm changes provide a significant performance improvement even if the optimization level is lacking (can be at least 10% faster with optimizations).

It may be faster and more reliable to use a 512kB kickstart with MAPROM from the CS. This is what I use on my 4000T (without workbench.library in kickstart) but I don't boot floppies anymore.
matthey is offline  
Old 08 December 2016, 18:52   #7
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 263
Sorry about late reply, got quite sick so will look into this again when I have recovered a bit more.
Viserion is offline  
Old 14 February 2017, 23:25   #8
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 263
Taken far to long this, but I finally got around to make these custom roms after life had gotten in the way of it.

Not burned the roms yet, but got them to work in fs-uae.

This is the how the first one is:

Quote:
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/exec_45.20(A4000)
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/1MB_ROM
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/audio.device_37.10
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/battclock.resource_39.3
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/battmem.resource_40.0
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/bootmenu_44.7(680
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/bonus_40.1(A4000)
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/cia.resource_39.1
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/KingCON-handler_40.4
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/console.device_44.1
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/datatypes.library_44.48
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/disk.resource_37.2
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/dos.library_42.1
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/expansion_40.2(A4000)
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/FileSystem.resource_46.0
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/FileSystem_45.16
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/gadtools.library_40.4
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/graphics.lib_40.24(AGA)
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/icon.library_68020
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/input_40.1
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/keymap.library_40.4
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/layers.library_45.27
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/mathffp.library my regged versions
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/mathieeesingbas.library my regged versions
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/misc.resource_38.0
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/potgo.resource_38.0
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/ramdrive_39.35
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/ram-handler_44.24_NoBss
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/ramlib_40.2
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/romboot44_3
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/scsi.device.43.45_IDE
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/scsi.device.43.45_SCSI
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/shell_45.7
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/timer.device_39.4
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/trackdisk.device_40.2
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/utility.library_40.1(020)
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/version.library_45.5
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/wbtask_39.1
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/NoClick
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/SpeedyIDE
Second:
Quote:
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/romheader
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/DummyCDstrap
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/workbench.librarary_45.136
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/intuition.library_40.85
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/xfdmaster.library_39.15
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/fat95
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/CrossDOSFileSystem
The 040 and 060 libraries are not romable as far as I can tell, and I tried to add them in the second rom, but would always give a pink screen.
Got the workbench.library, so should I need to boot from a floppy drive at least it's easier now, than managing to get both workbench.library, and the 040 and 060 library to fit 1 floppy.

I think I have the latest versions available, but if not please tell me.

There is a bit more space left, particularly in the second rom, so any suggestions on useful things to fill it up would be welcome.

This is for the 4000T, but should work on 4000D as well, but the scsi.device.43.45_SCSI can be dropped, as 4000D hasn't got that built in.
This is to help out if anyone later would like to do the same.
Viserion is offline  
Old 19 February 2017, 16:22   #9
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 263
Have managed to get quite a bit further on my own, to the point where I have burned the roms, and also booted os 3.9.

It went pretty well, almost.

There is a few issues I still have.

This is what I ended up burning to HI(175)

Quote:
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/exec_45.20(A4000)
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/1MB_ROM
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/audio.device_37.10
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/battclock.resource_39.3
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/battmem.resource_40.0
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/bootmenu_44.7(680
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/bonus_40.1(A4000)
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/cia.resource_39.1
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/KingCON-handler_40.4
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/console.device_44.1
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/datatypes.library_44.48
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/disk.resource_37.2
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/dos.library_42.1
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/expansion_40.2(A4000)
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/FileSystem.resource_46.0
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/FileSystem_45.16
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/gadtools.library_40.4
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/graphics.lib_40.24(AGA)
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/icon.library_68020
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/input_40.1
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/keymap.library_40.4
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/layers.library_45.27
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/mathffp.library
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/mathieeesingbas.library
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/misc.resource_38.0
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/potgo.resource_38.0
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/ramdrive_39.35
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/ram-handler_44.24_NoBss
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/ramlib_40.2
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/romboot44_3
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/scsi.device.43.45_IDE
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/scsi.device.43.45_SCSI
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/shell_45.7
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/timer.device_39.4
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/trackdisk.device_40.2
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/utility.library_40.1(020)
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/version.library_45.5
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/wbtask_39.1
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/NoClick
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom1/SpeedyIDE
And this to LO(176)
Quote:
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/romheader
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/DummyCDstrap
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/workbench.librarary_45.136
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/intuition.library_40.85
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/xfdmaster.library_39.15
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/fat95
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/CrossDOSFileSystem
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/norsk.language
ADD DH0:L/pfs3_aio-handler
The last 3 entries was mainly to fill up the rom.

I also made an alternative one, that I currently have installed:

Quote:
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/romheader
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/DummyCDstrap
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/workbench.librarary_45.136
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/intuition.library_40.85
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/xfdmaster.library_39.15
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/CrossDOSFileSystem
ADD Modules/Oppdateringer/Mu680x0Libs/Libs/680x0.library
ADD Modules/Oppdateringer/Mu680x0Libs/Libs/68060.library
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/norsk.language
ADD Modules/A4000Tc_090217_1/Rom2/fat95
As seen, I have included Mu060 libs, and they do seem to work.
I did include the 040, but got a guru saying 040 libs should not be used.

There is issues however.

If I try Sysspeed or Sysinfo I get an error of either suspend or reboot.

Also Directory opus 4 and another program I can't remember what is, refuses to start.
They are missing mathieXX.library or can't use version 0 of them.
As seen in HI rom I have regged versions of these in rom.

I only have a skeleton setup as I needed to take the MB out of the case(custom case, not original A4000T case), and can't find the keyboard adapter.
But rest seems to work.

I really like to have this sorted as installing the MB in this particular case is a true pain in the ass.
Viserion is offline  
Old 19 February 2017, 20:08   #10
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
I am surprised you were able to get the 060.library in there, you generally aren't supposed to do that since it has to be loaded by setpatch. If you run setpatch after Workbench is loaded does it say in 68060 support code loaded? Or if you run showconfig does it show 68060 MMU/FPU?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 19 February 2017, 22:59   #11
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 263
I commented out any setpatch reference in S:startup-sequence.
To test it out.

As I mentioned, I don't have a keyboard attached, so can't see what the results would have been.

Will search tomorrow, and see if I can find the keyboard and try it out.
Viserion is offline  
Old 19 February 2017, 23:25   #12
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 959
sfs and pfs filesystems.
utri007 is offline  
Old 19 February 2017, 23:26   #13
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 959
Blizkick doesn't support 1mb roms. Only possibility to get rom to fast ram with Phase5 product would Thor's MuLibs - > MuFastRom
utri007 is offline  
Old 20 February 2017, 00:47   #14
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
If you don't run setpatch then the 060.library is not loaded also lots of other stuff is not patched.

Even with a custom rom you still have to run setpatch just use setpatch NOROMUPDATE to avoid the reboot and to keep it from installing ROM modules.

Also aside from an updated Fastfilesystem, you almost never want to install filesystems to a ROM unless you have a very rare situation calling for it. What happens when a new version of a filesystem comes out? Don't laugh it can still happen.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 20 February 2017, 17:59   #15
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 263
When running showconfig it shows:
Quote:
Processor: CPU 68060/68060mmu
No mention of FPU.

You are correct, forgot I added the SetPatch NOROMUPDATE QUIET when setting it up under Winuae.

When running SetPatch after Workbench is loaded, it doesn't mention CPU at all, only some graphics stuff, and ramlib sihnal usage and stack size check for various things.

You can add the 040 and 060 library from Phase 5 to rom, though it will complain you already added the rom if you add both 040 new and old. It will also boot up with a pink screen(emulation, not tried real Amiga).
What I mean is that Remus don't tell you it isn't rom able as it does with other things.

The file systems was more a spur of the moment thing, as I had space left in the rom.
Viserion is offline  
Old 20 February 2017, 22:49   #16
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
So if Showconfig doesn't show the FPU and setpatch doesn't say 68060 support code loaded then the 060.library is not loading.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 20 February 2017, 23:16   #17
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 263
Wasn't a 060 libs necessary for a 060 CPU to be able to boot, but apparently I remember wrongly.

Anyway I take this one out, and make one with with the mathX libs as some programs wont work without them. I thought then regged versions replaced them, but doesn't look like it.
Viserion is offline  
Old 21 February 2017, 02:26   #18
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
No. No board has 060.library in ROM that I know of. I think on 3.1 IIRC with an 060 setpatch would crash if you only had an 040.library in libs.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 21 February 2017, 21:02   #19
Viserion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Oslo/Norway
Posts: 263
Sorry, I was thinking of in Libs, and not in rom.

Should have made that clearer.
Viserion is offline  
Old 21 February 2017, 21:26   #20
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 38
Posts: 1,229
Wouldn't having 3.9 rom as standard cause problem with OS4.1 ?

When I am using blizkick to kick my rom, later I am not able to boot into WB4.1 witout powering down the system first back to 3.1 rom
ancalimon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
29f800/160 custom ROM kipper2k Hardware mods 90 08 April 2017 09:31
Custom ROM with Poseidon, etc fgh support.Hardware 0 22 August 2016 08:28
custom rom 3.9 oddodo support.Hardware 14 26 September 2015 12:18
Help making Custom Kickstart rom Viserion Hardware mods 28 13 December 2014 05:43
Crash with custom ROM on 68000 UAE support.WinUAE 5 10 July 2012 09:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09068 seconds with 15 queries