English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 December 2010, 14:25   #1
JohnnyWalker
aka ThunderPeel2001
 
JohnnyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Age: 45
Posts: 303
TRAINER mode?

Hi there, as a longtime Amiga fan I was wondering if WinUAE had any capabilities to help train games? On my old Amiga 500 I used to use my Action Replay 3 cartridge to train games using the trainer command.

(For those who don't know, it was a simple thing where the AR3 would scan all available memory for a number (eg. the number of lives you had). You would lose a life and tell it to scan again. Then lose another life. Scan again. Etc. Eventually, if you were lucky, you'd find the address where lives were being stored... and so be able to be able to remove and sub routines that altered that address / or just set the address to FF.)

The A1200 had no such cartridge (AFAIK) so I was wondering if WinUAE allow the user to scan memory addresses in the same way so that all games might be trained (or at least, attempted to be trained).

Thanks!
JohnnyWalker is offline  
Old 31 December 2010, 14:29   #2
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Press Shift+F12 to enter WinUAE's debugger. There you can use the "C" command then which should do what you want. "?" will show a short help text.
StingRay is offline  
Old 31 December 2010, 14:35   #3
JohnnyWalker
aka ThunderPeel2001
 
JohnnyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Age: 45
Posts: 303
Thanks. Looking around, I found this simple guide from CodyJarrett, too:

Quote:
You've got three commands that enable you to find memory addresses:

a) C
b) D
c) s

C is used when you know the value and what it is changing to. For example, C is best for finding lives where it starts at 3 and counts down to 0. You always know how many you've got left.

D is used when you don't know the value. A health bar might not be an obvious value so you could use D to find it. It works by eliminating addresses that have or haven't changed. The commands are Ds (start/reset deep trainer), D (find any addresses that have changed since last D command), Dx (find any addresses that haven't changed since last D command).

s is a basic search and is used less than the other two. It will search for a certain value but the value needs to be quite unique or else too many results are returned.

You've got to decide which is the best command to use for each game and value.

When you've found values you can freeze them with the watchpoint command:

w <watchpoint number> <memory start address> <length in bytes> <flags>

To freeze your 1E7E6 address in Crazy Cars 3 you would do:

w 0 1E7E6 2 frw

This sets freeze watchpoint 0 on the contents of that address and the following one.

The flags are (from Toni):

FR = writing changes value in memory normally, reading always return frozen value.
FW = writing replaces value in memory with frozen value, reading returns original value in memory location. (of course only if location has not yet been written to)
FRW = original operation, both reads and writes are frozen.
JohnnyWalker is offline  
Old 07 January 2011, 03:45   #4
JohnnyWalker
aka ThunderPeel2001
 
JohnnyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Age: 45
Posts: 303
Hmmm. Anyone know how I can just view the contents of one address?
JohnnyWalker is offline  
Old 07 January 2011, 07:47   #5
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator
 
CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 46
Posts: 6,160
Use the following to view one line starting at address 1E7E6:

m 1E7E6 1
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 07 January 2011, 21:24   #6
JohnnyWalker
aka ThunderPeel2001
 
JohnnyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Age: 45
Posts: 303
Thank you!
JohnnyWalker is offline  
Old 08 January 2011, 01:12   #7
JohnnyWalker
aka ThunderPeel2001
 
JohnnyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: UK
Age: 45
Posts: 303
Argh. How do I reset the C command so I can search for a second trainer address?

Edit: Typing "C" by itself does it!

Last edited by JohnnyWalker; 08 January 2011 at 01:17.
JohnnyWalker is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ghostbusters II Trainer? TrainerFreak request.Old Rare Games 16 04 June 2010 10:44
The Best Trainer Ever! Old Fool Retrogaming General Discussion 15 25 September 2008 16:56
'Warp Mode' broken in 'windowed mode' NoX1911 support.WinUAE 3 26 May 2007 01:05
colonization trainer? mangemani support.Games 2 17 June 2006 13:30
Coding a Trainer redblade Coders. General 10 25 January 2005 21:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:24.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07201 seconds with 13 queries