English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 May 2008, 22:30   #1
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,203
one more amiga 4000 is dead

I'm desgusted i just tried to test my a4000 and after i have installed the wb3.9, it reboots and after black screen, the disk drive and hd made no more noise my monitor told me check connection (something like that) and no sign of life from the motherboard.
I tried to find the problem but i think he 's just dead, peace for his soul, he is going to go near his creator, his father, farewell amiga 4000.
I think i have to change my signature: "the amiga will never die!".
turrican3 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 May 2008, 22:36   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,020
My condolence turrican3.
I mourn with you
But perhaps Zetro knows a way to bring it back from the dead.
This can't be the end. Every one of them must be saved.
Try to keep your head up mate.
TCD is offline  
Old 03 May 2008, 22:39   #3
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,203
I don't know if zetro could help, i just can't help him to find where is the problem (because i don't know).
turrican3 is offline  
Old 03 May 2008, 22:42   #4
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
I don't know if zetro could help, i just can't help him to find where is the problem (because i don't know).
Pay shipping cost (x2) and send it to him.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 03 May 2008, 22:47   #5
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,203
without the tower then, because it will be very expensive, it's a really big one.
Do you really think than zetro could do it ?
turrican3 is offline  
Old 03 May 2008, 22:56   #6
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,020
I think it's worth a try.
But wait till Zetro sees this (PM him to let him know).
Maybe he can direct you to find the problem.
TCD is offline  
Old 03 May 2008, 23:22   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
I tried to find the problem but i think he 's just dead
Sounds more likely you've broken the PSU.

Take everything out except the daughter card and RAM. Disconnect all Power connectors to floppy and hard drives etc.

See if you can get the KS screen.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 May 2008, 23:50   #8
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 67
Posts: 681
just a suggestion, if zetro cant help you. it might be worth your while contacting mathew at amigakit. he does repairs to mb`s.
twizzle is offline  
Old 04 May 2008, 00:10   #9
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@Turrican

this is very sad indeed, but please try Alexh suggestion of changing the PSU, its surprising as to why just after installing OS3.9 it should just die like that.

alas as much as i want to help, i have very little experience with A4000 motherboards, so perhaps, JJB Amiga Center in france may help, I have done business with JJ and he is both professional and second to none in his skill

AK may be able to help but i would suggest JJB first, although slightly expensive, you get solid feed back as to what the problem is, and if there is a solution, and how much it would cost to fix before any work is considered.

again. due to my very little experience with A4000 i cannot help sorry my friend.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 04 May 2008, 00:11   #10
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Sounds more likely you've broken the PSU.

Take everything out except the daughter card and RAM. Disconnect all Power connectors to floppy and hard drives etc.

See if you can get the KS screen.
I did it and always the same no ks.
I can add that : the fkicker fixer continue to work and cd drives too, the rest gave me ni sign of live.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 04 May 2008, 00:16   #11
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,203
in fact i wanted to test my card to sell them but instead i kill my a4000.
Now it will be hard to test them, today i saw that they work but now ?
i wanted keep the amiga 4000, too sad

Last edited by turrican3; 04 May 2008 at 02:37.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 04 May 2008, 11:44   #12
alphonsus
Registered User
alphonsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 181
Stupid question, but have you tried booting from floppy with thge hard drive disconnected?
You could have trashed your wb setup by installing 3.9
alphonsus is offline  
Old 04 May 2008, 11:58   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,041
Didnt you read? It's dead. i.e. nothing comes on... not even kickstart!
alexh is offline  
Old 04 May 2008, 12:10   #14
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,203
nothing and the monitor show nothing too. nothing move appart cd-drives and flicker fixer scandoubler which light on.
the 3.5 drive : no noise
the hd : no noise, but if you unplugged its nappe then it works. I think this the motherboard, the psu light on every drive and the scandoubler work.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 04 May 2008, 16:12   #15
alphonsus
Registered User
alphonsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Didnt you read? It's dead. i.e. nothing comes on... not even kickstart!
Yes I did, but a malfunctioning/incorrectly plugged in IDE drive can stop a PC from booting. I have no idea how an Amiga would be affected by this, but it was worth a try.
alphonsus is offline  
Old 04 May 2008, 18:09   #16
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,041
It wouldnt stop the BIOS being displayed which is the PC equivalent of Kickstart.
alexh is offline  
Old 04 May 2008, 18:34   #17
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
It wouldnt stop the BIOS being displayed which is the PC equivalent of Kickstart.
I have seen this occur on a few occasions, either the BIOS is corrupt or it can't read the peripheral devices properly and hangs without even displaying the press F2/DEL to enter setup.

Usually it's a simple fix to resolve by unplugging all the cables to all the internal devices and trying it again with only the CPU/MB/RAM installed.

However, if the PS Unit is faulty, it will also cause issues with the MB and/or the internal devices not powering up and hence initializing properly
jmmijo is offline  
Old 04 May 2008, 19:04   #18
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,041
Maybe, but it cannot be a hard drive / floppy drive being connected as the cause of such a thing.

It doesnt matter, it's all academic.
alexh is offline  
Old 04 May 2008, 19:58   #19
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,203
not possible bad plud, i tested all unplugged always same result.
I think it's really dead.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 05 May 2008, 09:29   #20
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,041
I would still recommend getting an replacement PSU for a test. Or at least measuring the voltage out of the PSU with a multimeter.
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CU Amiga Coverdisk 74 - Dead Link Djay AMR suggestions and feedback 2 26 February 2010 17:01
Amiga 4000 dead?? Adam support.Hardware 18 06 November 2009 10:12
Amiga Games That Weren't ...dead? jamielemon project.aGTW 5 11 May 2008 01:22
Is Amiga Alive Dead? AmigaEd Amiga scene 5 12 June 2005 19:51
Amiga UKHQ not dead Djay Amiga scene 1 06 December 2001 01:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30218 seconds with 12 queries