English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 November 2013, 12:43   #21
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
Doom and Duke on PC was the turning point for me. @Novacoder - why didnt you port Doom to amiga sooner? Its basically all your fault the amiga died
Big-Byte is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 November 2013, 13:14   #22
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS454 View Post
AGA does do VGA but the kicker is, it was never sold set to do that.
It's a half baked attempt at VGA using software which kills memory bandwidth.
alexh is offline  
Old 14 November 2013, 14:39   #23
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,271
i think the amiga 1200 should have had a cdrom too. But 1 mega fast ram + a cd-rom = price up.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 14 November 2013, 15:48   #24
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS454 View Post
AGA does do VGA but the kicker is, it was never sold set to do that.

If they'd have sold them bundled with a 1942 or other multisync, set default to VGA or DBLPal, some nice icons... But no. They didn't raise the bar and it stayed looking like a joke.
AGA was faster and better than any VGA card of 1992-1995 but only in low -res 320x256-320x200
problem was AGA sucks in high res, is really slow, add flicker issues and you have an obsolete computer for serious tasks
Sandro is offline  
Old 14 November 2013, 18:26   #25
SS454
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: up north
Posts: 70
I ran an A1200 with 28Mhz 030, At DBLPal (with overscan even!) on an Acorn multisync monitor, with FBlit to disable the slow blitter.

The speed of workbench was snappy at 16 colours, I even had a program running that banged the copper to give a nice colorful backdrop.

So I had no flicker, no speed problem, and almost 800x600. I did all my work like this for college.

So I think its really strange you decide to tell me my computer wasn't capable of the stuff it did every day for two years.
SS454 is offline  
Old 15 November 2013, 04:40   #26
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
AGA was faster and better than any VGA card of 1992-1995 but only in low -res 320x256-320x200
problem was AGA sucks in high res, is really slow, add flicker issues and you have an obsolete computer for serious tasks
give it some fast ram and aga is not so slow anymore, the pc has had some fast ram.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 19 November 2013, 09:55   #27
tin
eezeenow!

 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chester
Posts: 409
I think the A1200 and the CD32 were fine. They needed to hit a price point and they did.

I agree the problems were business related, several years of mismanagement and commodore's subsequent financial woes. Given this - and how old tech A1200 and CD32 were when they came out - C= should have been thanking their lucky stars they sold as well as they did. It's just unfortunate that they were both too late to save the company.

What I think they should have done is brought a PC-box style A1200 as well, and maybe sold a couple of models of it, with the option to add the rest to the low-end ones by expansion cards later.

What they also should have done is get some in-house teams or permanently contracted Digita or something to make proper decent productivity software, and a sales team pushing A4000s and box-A1200s into businesses. I think THAT would have sold far more Amigas than anything else.

They should have also hooked up with the major users of Amigas in video use & production - Prevue, Macrosystem, G2 systems, Newtek, Scala etc, rather than just supplying a base consumer hardware that these companies added to or modified. Could have made a lot higher margin, and got some good ideas (particularly from Macrosystem I think) about what to stick in the next Amiga.

Nonetheless, I ramble. I think they got the A1200 right considering all the pressures at the time. If they added 1mb fast, it wouldn't have hit the price point and as we see, that can kill a system dead.
tin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it right you can add 32 meg of ram into a 1200? Kola New to Emulation or Amiga scene 17 14 September 2012 10:12
fast ata mk 4 not booting amiga 1200 retro style support.Hardware 0 16 July 2012 23:30
A600/1200 4 Mb Pcmcia Fast Ram mikele MarketPlace 10 16 February 2012 15:21
Power Flyer ( Fast ATA 1200 ) Driver Charlie request.Other 2 13 October 2007 17:18
Elbox Fast ATA 1200 MK-111. Startrek-amiga MarketPlace 0 18 March 2006 01:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06515 seconds with 15 queries