English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 June 2011, 13:28   #1
Vars191
The Red Baron Rides Again
Vars191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 324
UAE emulator for the Android

How good is the UAE emulator for the Android machine?
You don't here much about them
Vars191 is offline  
Old 03 June 2011, 13:40   #2
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,714
Search function!
BippyM is offline  
Old 03 June 2011, 13:41   #3
Vars191
The Red Baron Rides Again
Vars191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym View Post
Search function!
I did, not much up to date info
Vars191 is offline  
Old 03 June 2011, 13:45   #4
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,348
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Some recent info here, granted not a lot.

I've played a few games on it, seems ok but I wasn't expecting much
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 03 June 2011, 14:08   #5
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,714
I played a couple of games, and tbh I would much prefer them to be remade and sold.. Android is quickly grabbing market share from apple so it is time developers supported it more!
BippyM is offline  
Old 03 June 2011, 15:29   #6
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,624
It is, I've often wondered why every man & his dog makes apps for the crappy iPhone when Java or Android would reach a far bigger audience.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 03 June 2011, 15:41   #7
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,960
Yeah the iPhone is crappy!
seuden is offline  
Old 03 June 2011, 16:20   #8
Parsec
Registered User
Parsec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lancashire
Age: 43
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
It is, I've often wondered why every man & his dog makes apps for the crappy iPhone when Java or Android would reach a far bigger audience.
Because there's much more money to be in iPhone app development than any other smartphone platform regardless of user base. Android folk don't like to pay for things as much as iPhone owners do it seems.

I have just ordered an Android phone by the way so am not slagging the platform off
Parsec is offline  
Old 03 June 2011, 16:24   #9
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,624
You've got a good point, you've only got to look at the success of iTunes to realise Apple users would rather pay for things than get them for nothing.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 04 June 2011, 00:40   #10
Parsec
Registered User
Parsec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lancashire
Age: 43
Posts: 431
I was thinking of this table before but couldn't find it, it's about half way down the page and shows the amount of revenue each phone platform app store makes. Numbers are eye opening!

http://www.isuppli.com/Media-Researc...t-in-2010.aspx

I interviewed a Windows Phone 7 developer on my site recently and he said the only way to make money at the moment on that platform is to do a free games with adverts in it - I think it's similar with Android because Rovio did it with Angry Birds
Parsec is offline  
Old 05 June 2011, 07:38   #11
Vars191
The Red Baron Rides Again
Vars191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 324
At the moment I am using PSPUAE BETA 13 on a PSP 3000 to play Amiga games, would an Android 1Ghz do it better?
Vars191 is offline  
Old 06 June 2011, 14:19   #12
LordNipple
Registered User

LordNipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Preston England
Posts: 351
I have played on the Amiga Emu for Android, and it's far from perfect. I have emailed the developer suggesting ways he can improve it but he has bever replied. Other people have complained about his lack of interest in making the emu better.
Games like Speedball 2 and Supercars 2 worked a treat, but I wanted to try Ishar 3 but input options on the emu are limited and so you can't progress through the screens properly...

I would love to know of another emu in development. I hope someone makes one.
LordNipple is offline  
Old 08 June 2011, 08:52   #13
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 400
it is hard to do mouse controls on a touch screen, 2 buttons and all that.
At least it has more then one tactile button on most android hand sets, which could be useful.

I couldn't get it to work on my Galaxy s2, anyway.. :/
Vairn is offline  
Old 09 June 2011, 09:00   #14
Vars191
The Red Baron Rides Again
Vars191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vairn View Post
it is hard to do mouse controls on a touch screen, 2 buttons and all that.
At least it has more then one tactile button on most android hand sets, which could be useful.

I couldn't get it to work on my Galaxy s2, anyway.. :/
Thank you very much for that info I was going to get the same android you mentioned but I will give it a miss many thanks you saved me a lot of time and money
Vars191 is offline  
Old 13 June 2011, 15:11   #15
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 400
I got it working now, if I had the kickstart roms on the internal memory, it wouldn't load them. (just sits at a grey screen, probably trying a kickstart alternative), and then nothing.

Got myself a 8gb external micro-sd, and it runs, controls are hard though. didn't seem to like using the vol, for left and right mouse. haven't tested much with it though.
Vairn is offline  
Old 14 July 2011, 16:45   #16
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 542
I've got UAE4Droid on my Xperia Play and it works fine on most of the games I've thrown at it. Being able to map the game keys to the HW keys on the device is a real plus!! I've not bothered putting WB on yet, but I might give it a go for a laugh.
LuMan is offline  
Old 14 July 2011, 23:31   #17
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
How long before the new AROS-68k ROM runs on UAE4Droid? (Even if it is slow.)

Last time I tried it on my brother's Android phone, it only worked with Kickstart 1.3.

Of course bundling the 1MB ROM (as Toni did with WinUAE) is a logical next step once it works, even if it's slow on a mobile device.
Mequa is offline  
Old 15 July 2011, 03:21   #18
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 400
Uae4Droid is based on Uae4ALL I think, so it might be a little effort to get it to support it.

I will port my emuCore (based on winUae, and E-UAE) to android, once I get the iphone alpha out.
Vairn is offline  
Old 16 July 2011, 02:54   #19
radon_22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 77
Vairn- we await anxiously await.

I'd kill to be able to run RTG Workbench on my tablet. Or at least whdload games...
radon_22 is offline  
Old 11 August 2011, 10:49   #20
tomaswoj
 
Posts: n/a
DroidPUAE

Just to let you know, that i'm (asymptotically ) approaching the android port of PUAE. A quick and dirty .apk file expected to be released within few days. You can look at the progress (with screenshots) here: http://droidpuae.blogspot.com.

Btw. kudos to Vairn, especially for a tip on missing (or in a wrong place) kick.rom. That unblocked me few days ago .

PS. kind of a side comment, but the resulting apk file i have currently (fat binary for both ARMv5 and ARMv7) is quite large in size. Approx 4.8MB. From what I have looked into interim build obj files - majority of code is in cpuemu_* files.
I wonder how that compares to UAE4Droid that is only ~2MB in size? Is that difference due to 68000 only of UAE4Droid? Also no AGA, hard disks, and stuff?
I also have comparison to Basilisk port (that was only 1.2MB) and Hatari port (1.5MB). It seems their code is much more compact, despite both of them support up to 68040 (and custom chips like Videl in case of Hatari Falcon).
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omega500 - Android Emulator galu support.OtherUAE 126 07 June 2015 14:13
fs-uae - a new multi-platform amiga emulator for games! FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 477 03 April 2012 21:52
UAE4Droid Amiga emulator for Android released tonyyeb News 80 22 February 2012 01:32
UAE for Android trackah123 request.Other 17 30 July 2011 22:28
Cannot emulator joystick on keyboard with E-UAE or PUAE goldenegg support.OtherUAE 2 03 February 2011 03:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09006 seconds with 13 queries