English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

Old 26 April 2010, 19:04   #1
Krumelur

Rip graphics: what's the secret with the 4th bitplane?

Hi,

I'm a PC developer and have always been interested in the Amiga. I'd like to do some programming practice and bring a simple game from the Amiga to the PC. I chose Pac Mania by Namco.
First thing is to rip the graphics. I'm using "GfxRip" which does a pretty good job but I don't fully understand the Amiga's memory layout.
Have a look at the attached image.
The ghosts already look correct. I have set the color depth to 5 bit which gives me 32 colors in total (selecting any other color depth breaks the found graphics). I had the unique number of colors in the game counted and the result was 24, so I decided I'd need 5 bits and the result proves me right.
The thing is now: I'm hiding bitplane number 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8. If you look top right at the image, "0, 1 and 2" are shown the others are set to "7", meaning: there is nothing. If I switch on plane 4, the graphics get overlayed with horizontal lines. So I assume only 3 planes are used but how does that match with the 5 bit color depth?
Also: how do I get the palette right? It should be or must be somewhere but GfxRip cannot find it (I'm broswing an uncompressed state dump of WinUAE).

Cannot anybody give me a few hints?

Thanks!

k
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pm.png
Views:	457
Size:	77.8 KB
ID:	25133  

Old 27 April 2010, 08:54   #2
pmc
gone

Hello Krumelur

Before I say anything, there are guys on here who are *far* better at this type of stuff than me so I might not be giving you the best ways to do this stuff, but...

You can find palette information by looking at the colour registers. I would recommend loading the game into WinUAE with the HRTMon cartridge ROM attached. Get to where you want in the game, go into HRTMon and enter the "e" command (without the quotes...)