English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 January 2020, 16:01   #1
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,758
Shadow Warriors: Great one...

I loved it so much! Allmost pixel perfect? Intro and intro Music so great!


[ Show youtube player ]


[ Show youtube player ]
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 00:21   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,333
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
from what i read in a retro magazine, tecmo gave them access to the arcade assets. it shows on screen. And Simeon Pashley, the amiga (ehm the ST coder lol) coder, what a great programmer. He did almost the same thing as what Ron Pieket did on Saint Dragon, Ninja Warriors and SWIV with its dynamic loading System.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 00:57   #3
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,441
This reminds of one thing.
When I tested WHDLoad version recently, I wondered why there's no in-game music.
It turns out the supported SPS0830 doesn't seem to have any, just sfx.
SPS1679 does have music, unfortunately that's not supported by the imager/slave.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 01:08   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
This reminds of one thing.
When I tested WHDLoad version recently, I wondered why there's no in-game music.
It turns out the supported SPS0830 doesn't seem to have any, just sfx.
SPS1679 does have music, unfortunately that's not supported by the imager/slave.
Noticed the same thing when I tested after ransom1122's PM request; and let him know

Mind you; with SPS1679 you don't have the option between music or sfx... it's only music. Pressing <S> doesn't toggle:

DamienD is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 01:11   #5
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Noticed the same thing when I tested after ransom1122's PM request; and let him know
Ah, you too.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 11:09   #6
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,333
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
for music in Shadow Warriors, press 'M' on the intro ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 11:45   #7
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,441
No, doesn't do anything.
SPS0830 does have intro music, it's just in-game music that's awol.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 10 January 2020, 16:50   #8
PatmanQC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Bettendorf
Posts: 119
The game had a great intro and music but the playability was just a bit off. The animation was too choppy as well.
PatmanQC is offline  
Old 10 January 2020, 17:10   #9
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,537
I remember throwing a lot in this game, pretty much a "one move is stronger than others" fighter. The video shows very similar tactics.

A bit boring game, but I love the acrobatics. You get to be a proper ninja
gimbal is offline  
Old 10 January 2020, 17:13   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,881
Boring as hell. Would love to see something like Super Shinobi/Revenge of Shinobi on AGA.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 10 January 2020, 18:11   #11
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,441
I like the arcade version, managed to beat it on 1 credit.

Never played the Amiga version much, one button, let alone two buttons isn't enough for this game.
On stage 4 you have to jump over a river using tree branches where you have to press the third button to grab onto them.
How well, or poor, did that convert to Amiga with only one button being used ?
Retroplay is offline  
Old 11 January 2020, 01:35   #12
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,836
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
I like the arcade version, managed to beat it on 1 credit.

Never played the Amiga version much, one button, let alone two buttons isn't enough for this game.
On stage 4 you have to jump over a river using tree branches where you have to press the third button to grab onto them.
How well, or poor, did that convert to Amiga with only one button being used ?
Yep that part on Amiga is as about as far as I got, and is extremely hard to get through.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 11 January 2020, 21:40   #13
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
I like the arcade version, managed to beat it on 1 credit.

Never played the Amiga version much, one button, let alone two buttons isn't enough for this game.
On stage 4 you have to jump over a river using tree branches where you have to press the third button to grab onto them.
How well, or poor, did that convert to Amiga with only one button being used ?
What is it with ninja games and horrendous jumping sections? The ones in the Last Ninja games where you have to cross water by jumping logs, lilies or rocks... my nightmare.
gimbal is offline  
Old 13 January 2020, 20:00   #14
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,259
A reminder that Shadow warrior is, in fact, known in US and japan as Ninja Gaiden
and btw another westernised palette - or at least blue feel plasticky on Amiga to me :/ - ok is actually due to the too light shade of grey as contrast

AND - added later - miss the ninja crashing the screen at the beginning like in the arcade...

Last edited by saimon69; 21 January 2020 at 22:02.
saimon69 is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 00:05   #15
power
Registered User

power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 32
i played the hell out of this but never finished it, got up to a bit where you had to jump over some big hole and always died. stupid game (more likely kid me). maybe i should play it again i still have my copy. People are saying the WHDLoad version is not working?
power is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 00:17   #16
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by power View Post
People are saying the WHDLoad version is not working?
No, the WHDLoad version is working

...the slave just won't install when using one original disk set (via .IPF) that supports music
DamienD is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 04:11   #17
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,545
The game needs to be ran in PAL to run. So NTSC users will need to use the PAL tool type!
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 09:19   #18
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,135
Actually, it runs fine under NTSC, faster/smoother too, at least the version I run here. About the jumping section, I agree it's kinda stupid, in the amiga version, you just have to find the right spot to start jumping consecutively and press fire to grab iirc. Once you find the spot and do it a couple of times, it's very easy to pull.

Last edited by vulture; 16 January 2020 at 13:59.
vulture is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 10:59   #19
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,441
About WHDLoad version, I added Codetappers v1.2 to FTP a long time ago.
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...7&postcount=11

http://grandis.nu:81/eabsearch/searc...xclude=&limit=
Retroplay is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 11:38   #20
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,425
Why are my ears burning?
ross is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Ninja Warriors: Great Port? sandruzzo Nostalgia & memories 13 21 January 2020 10:20
Shadow Warriors Jet Set Wally support.Amiga Forever 2 12 February 2019 00:56
Shadow Warriors 4th stage music amighista support.Games 11 03 December 2018 12:24
Shadow Warriors WHDLoad Help vulture Retrogaming General Discussion 13 17 February 2015 21:13
shadow warriors with cdda no possibility ? turrican3 Games images which need to be WHDified 5 11 May 2010 16:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11332 seconds with 15 queries