English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 January 2020, 12:20   #141
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
Cheers mate

Do you think you could move this into the Amiga Scene section and drop "Unfinished prototype" from the title? It's no longer really a prototype, though there's still some surprises in store for future updates.

Superb work Earok.

In the current climate it might be better renaming it to ‘Raid over Tehran’.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 05 January 2020, 12:29   #142
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
It's no longer really a prototype, though there's still some surprises in store for future updates.
Looking forwards to the surprises!
crazyc is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 02:11   #143
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 37
Posts: 701
great work Erik! pretty slick!
I ran it succefully under Amibian.
I didn't play this as a kid so I was pretty desperate in hangar but I manged to destroy few aircrafts and Washington DC

btw for colorcycling, did you use "built-in" commands or did you diy?
Cobe is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 02:21   #144
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,197
Cheers guys!

@McGeezer haha, I'd almost be tempted to add Tehran to the map if it wasn't such a political hot potato.

I feel bad for this but I've still got to give Rygar a proper go. I'll set it up with my CD32 and arcade joystick soon.

@Cobe I'm still using the built in palette cycling commands since the source art used standard IFF palette cycling, though I probably should have split it into multiple discrete palettes.
earok is online now  
Old 06 January 2020, 08:42   #145
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 517
Just a thought, but will you be adding a high score table?
Cheers
C
crazyc is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 10:14   #146
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,197
We don't really have a high score table planned at the moment. Though saving the top score to disk (or CD32 NVRAM) is a possibility.
earok is online now  
Old 06 January 2020, 11:20   #147
MBry0
Ten Pints
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Coldest part of Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 50
Great work.
MBry0 is offline  
Old 08 January 2020, 00:50   #148
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,554
earok; one thing that I've noticed and not really sure what triggers it...

Sometimes I load the game and the timer countdown is 7:39 and other times it's 7:19.

What should be it be in the ideal situation?
DamienD is offline  
Old 08 January 2020, 00:56   #149
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 517
I actually got to the end (ok easy level) and fully completed it in time for the first time but then it crashed. Might well have been my miggy as instead of showing the final screen it dropped back to my desktop which had a screensaver but that was frozen.
Maybe need to try it on my wedge.
Also, this was not on the very latest version actually.
crazyc is offline  
Old 08 January 2020, 00:56   #150
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
earok; one thing that I've noticed and not really sure what triggers it...

Sometimes I load the game and the timer countdown is 7:39 and other times it's 7:19.

What should be it be in the ideal situation?
The time it takes is based on the relative distances of the source city and the target city - generally, the timer should be shorter if New York is the target, and longer if Denver is.

I'm not 100% sure how the timer is calculated in the C64 original but what I implemented was a guess based on how I figured it worked.
earok is online now  
Old 08 January 2020, 00:59   #151
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyc View Post
Also, this was not on the very latest version actually.
You should always test with the latest version from earok; otherwise, what's the point?

Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
The time it takes is based on the relative distances of the source city and the target city - generally, the timer should be shorter if New York is the target, and longer if Denver is.

I'm not 100% sure how the timer is calculated in the C64 original but what I implemented was a guess based on how I figured it worked.
Ok, but usually when I see the "map" I just press the <Fire Button> without moving.

This is constant, yet I see variations in the time left.
DamienD is offline  
Old 08 January 2020, 01:02   #152
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Ok, but usually when I see the "map" I just press the <Fire Button>.

This is constant, yet I see variations in the time left.
But it varies the order of target cities etc each game doesn't it?
crazyc is offline  
Old 08 January 2020, 01:03   #153
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,554
...but if I'm not moving or selecting different cities; shouldn't the time remaining be the same every time?
DamienD is offline  
Old 08 January 2020, 01:06   #154
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 517
I didnt think there was any selecting to be done? (Although it could be I am missing something)
You get to the map screen and it says that a Russian site has launched against an American city (which varies) and the time then depends on distance between the launch site and target city?
I am not 100% on all this as am in the sofa not in front of the amiga
crazyc is offline  
Old 08 January 2020, 01:11   #155
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyc View Post
I didnt think there was any selecting to be done? (Although it could be I am missing something)
Yeah, exactly.

...sometimes I have "7:39" countdown and other times it's "7:19".

Why?
DamienD is offline  
Old 08 January 2020, 01:12   #156
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 517
For the exact same combination of Russian and target cities?
crazyc is offline  
Old 08 January 2020, 01:13   #157
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyc View Post
For the exact same combination of Russian and target cities?
What combination; I haven't selected anything... just started the game?

Unless you're saying this is random every new game; I guess that would explain it
DamienD is offline  
Old 08 January 2020, 01:21   #158
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 517
Yeah I thought it was random each game, but haven't paid that much attention to guarantee it
crazyc is offline  
Old 08 January 2020, 01:51   #159
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,197
It works like this:

The source Soviet city from where the nuke is launched is selected at random (from 4)
The destination American or Canadian target city is selected at random (from 8)

It's all approximate, but the time it takes the nuke to travel from the launch silo to the target depends on the pixel distance between them.

From Leningrad to Washington DC: 7:19 approx
From Leningrad to Dallas: 8:34 approx



With less time than that on the harder difficulties.

@crazyc sorry to hear about the crash
earok is online now  
Old 08 January 2020, 02:04   #160
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 517
Oh dont worry, my tower has a cwb 3.9 based os that has built up over the years and various mods and so is possibly a little unstable, let alone I run a custom rom.
It was just typical that it was the first time ever having done it in time, with about 8 seconds left.

However I have had great fun recently with this game and again I would like to say how grateful I am that you picked this up and have put in all this work.

Such a shame that beach head couldn't be done the same way.

Well I shall have to make do with raid over Moscow and learn how to play on harder levels, which I look forwards to.
crazyc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion: River Raid Reloaded Alpha One Coders. Contest 33 01 April 2019 23:32
Entry: River Raid Reloaded Alpha One Coders. Entries 1 02 November 2018 21:56
Beach Head 1/2 and Raid Over Moscow Amiga graphics earok project.Amiga Game Factory 12 06 March 2018 18:39
Star Raid, more info or ADF s2325 request.Old Rare Games 0 16 July 2008 13:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09721 seconds with 16 queries