English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 December 2019, 16:25   #41
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
But in rare cases at the moment, nothing beats the original version.

For example for some rare good conversions for CD32.
In this case whdload does not support CDDA tracks, so no music ...

example:
Flink better on winuae booting on ISO
Yes, CD32 games (with audio tracks) and many native games that you will never see via WHDLoad due to the way it works e.g:

... Day Of The Tentacle
... Final Odyssey: Theseus Verses The Minotaur
... Napalm: The Crimson Crisis
... Nightlong: Union City Conspiracy
... onEscapee
... Payback
... Sam & Max Hit The Road
... Feeble Files, The
... Strangers, The

I could probably name another 40 or so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zodiac View Post
There are no cracktros with WHDload, which is part of the nostalgia for me at least.
Amen to cracktros and trainers; I feel the same way

Quote:
Originally Posted by zodiac View Post
Now that Damien released his collection, that’s all I use. And I have both an A1200 and A500 sitting right next to my PC.
Slightly shocked but humbled by your comments

You don't use your A500 or A1200 anymore and stick with my collection?

I guess it comes down to easy of use plus having all Amiga models / configurations in one

...and WinUAE is sooooo authentic these days that you'd hardly notice any difference between emulation or the real thing

Last edited by DamienD; 19 December 2019 at 16:31.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 17:21   #42
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 2,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by zodiac View Post
There are no cracktros with WHDload, which is part of the nostalgia for me at least. Now that Damien released his collection, that’s all I use. And I have both an A1200 and A500 sitting right next to my PC.
yes must many bad crack version too...
(example: beast2, Pang,....)

Whdload's can be updated if a game is badly cracked...
CFOU! is offline  
Old 26 December 2019, 01:48   #43
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
It's not about "Buttonwait" in the Pinball Prelude series; the title screens are missing completely last time I checked.

The title screens are definitely not missing in the latest Pinball Prelude patch! As they are quite ugly I didn't bother to add ButtonWait support for them though.
StingRay is offline  
Old 26 December 2019, 13:34   #44
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by zodiac View Post
There are no cracktros with WHDload
There are no cractros in original versions of games. And besides some patches WHDLoad is done to have as much as possible game similar to original ones. It's not part of game and You can always have cracktro in WHDLoad version itself (there are some of them here).
Moreover for me is only messing with original not part of game. So i'm happy that there are no cracktros in WHDLoad games, same as in original versions.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 26 December 2019, 13:45   #45
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Yes, CD32 games (with audio tracks) and many native games that you will never see via WHDLoad due to the way it works e.g:

... Day Of The Tentacle
... Final Odyssey: Theseus Verses The Minotaur
... Napalm: The Crimson Crisis
... Nightlong: Union City Conspiracy
... onEscapee
... Payback
... Sam & Max Hit The Road
... Feeble Files, The
... Strangers, The

I could probably name another 40 or so.

And You missed completely that WHDLoad was intended to install NoDOS floppy games, not CD ones mostly with own installer to HDD.


Moreover, see Aladin's WHDLoad generic versions, some of mentioned above are there...
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 26 December 2019, 14:57   #46
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,538
Day of the Tentacle and Sam & Max aren't exactly native games. They're only playable via ScummVM.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 26 December 2019, 15:00   #47
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo Kazuki View Post
Moreover, see Aladin's WHDLoad generic versions, some of mentioned above are there...
Sorry, I will not use rubbish generic slaves

You are missing the point... there are numerous games that cannot be WHDLoad due to the way it works
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 December 2019, 15:58   #48
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,525
Overall ADF cant be better how could it?

generic .slave can be fun but are more likely to introduce a problem for a game that is already HD installable.

Some games run Better for me with Native or Alternative HD installs but thats not the question.

alot of Cracktros exist as .EXE or make an Anim, IFF or Mod and start it before the game.

p.s Ive never had a reply via Mantis report ever

Last edited by Retro1234; 26 December 2019 at 16:12.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 26 December 2019, 16:50   #49
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,530
@Retro1234 there are a lot of unassigned issues. I must confess I didn't check mantis for a long time. Most of the time, if I can't reproduce the issue, I don't reply. If the bug hasn't been assigned, I'm not even aware of it.

But we fixed a ton of issues in the past.
jotd is online now  
Old 26 December 2019, 17:16   #50
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Sorry, I will not use rubbish generic slaves

You are missing the point... there are numerous games that cannot be WHDLoad due to the way it works
And You are missing that none of mentioned games are not in ADFs.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 27 December 2019, 15:40   #51
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,512
It's surely a question of taste, as happens often in life

I'm a nostalgic, so i strongly prefer floppies images to WHDLoad installs

Since 2002 that i use WinUAE, i tried WHDLoad logically, but i always "inserted" a floppy to see the begin of a game

Anyway i'm not a gamer, so for me it makes no difference if a game on floppy is bugged

I repeat, i simply like to relive the experience of an old floppy loading
chip is offline  
Old 03 January 2020, 23:03   #52
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 468
What I really don't get are WHDload slaves that use floppy emulation on games that load data via the OS. Sometimes I want to use WHDload because it is still providing useful patches for bugs/incompatibilities, but why have it emulate a floppy (and have the blank-screen timewarp loads) when the game already loads fine off HD and the real problem is 040/060 incompatibility or whatever?
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 04 January 2020, 00:15   #53
Aladin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: France
Posts: 339
d7 real or adf file (emulation). It is not the same. Play on a real amiga, or play from windows with a winuae interface? It's not the same thing. Launch the workbench, or never launch a workbench and select your game from windows via the winuae menu
Aladin is offline  
Old 04 January 2020, 16:01   #54
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,469
What do you mean be floppy emulation? Never seen such thing with WHDLoad. WHDload loads data via OS and then take over the system. Data written while playing will be written after pressing Quitkey if you don't change this default behaviour.
daxb is offline  
Old 04 January 2020, 16:15   #55
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,519
Aladin is probably referring to the use of "disk images" as opposed to individual files in various WHDLoad slaves / installs.
DamienD is offline  
Old 04 January 2020, 17:37   #56
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,469
You mean AmigaHope? However, I would say to extract files out of a disk image is extra work for the coder and some coder might think it is not necessary to make the game run. But WHDLoad authors can tell the true story.
daxb is offline  
Old 04 January 2020, 18:49   #57
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
You mean AmigaHope?
Sorry, yes.
DamienD is offline  
Old 04 January 2020, 18:52   #58
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,875
Extracted files is probably better. Can save some ram, faster loading.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 January 2020, 10:41   #59
E-Penguin
Banana

E-Penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 871
Whdload is brilliant, just so much less faff than with disks
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 05 January 2020, 10:43   #60
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Extracted files is probably better. Can save some ram, faster loading.
The loading could actually be slower. It's generally quicker to load one big file than a heap of small ones.
Hewitson is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHDLoad and ADF couterparts amiga_Forever support.Games 4 15 February 2017 13:26
WHDload and ADF PaulG support.Hardware 11 05 April 2016 06:05
Convert whdload to adf or floppy locksmith project.WHDLoad 3 16 November 2015 22:53
adf to whdload? empardopo support.Other 22 27 December 2013 00:15
whdload instructions? [where to put WHDLoad games for GameBase Amiga v1.4] luke_70it project.MAGE 8 28 October 2009 07:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09718 seconds with 15 queries