English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 December 2019, 03:21   #581
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikerochip View Post
That onboard sound, the ESS1371 was my main soundcard for my Win9x machine for aaaages. It worked beautifully in DOS (once you ran the TSR) and even better in Windows.

Since it resampled the sound, it also made the DOS games sound (to me) a bit better. But it didn't have a real OPL3, so, FM music might sound a little different.

I stuck with it until I got my SoundBlaster Live! (whenever that came out) with it's 5.1 Audio support (if you used the proper digital cable and the Cambridge soundworks 5.1 audio speaker set)

I used to use PowerQuests Partition Magic 8 to work on partitions, but, it also came with Boot Magic, which was pretty easy to use and had a lovely little menu!
You could not only boot off of different disks, but, also hide partitions, and disks too.

If you can find it, I suggest you have a look at that as well as GAG.

I had 3 main partitions on my boot disk, Win95, Win98se and Win2K, and then a fourth partition for Data. Each menu hid the other two, so, Win95 only saw P1, and Data, etc.

I wish it was still around. Symantic bought I think, and buried it
Ive got Partition Magic 6.0 I may see if that has boot disk also

It's sad When Companies buy Useful Software etc just to Bury it! Happens Everyday :-(
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 12 December 2019, 14:39   #582
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,882
Do you guys use Ultimate Boot CD??

Good selection of free tools for all your hacking needs... bootable from CD or USB stick.
Anubis is offline  
Old 12 December 2019, 15:39   #583
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Do you guys use Ultimate Boot CD??

Good selection of free tools for all your hacking needs... bootable from CD or USB stick.
No ive not tried it will look into it?
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 12 December 2019, 17:09   #584
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,882
Some tools are very nice to have, like how to break user ID/Password on Windows etc.
Anubis is offline  
Old 12 December 2019, 23:18   #585
OldAmigan
Professional old fart!

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dumfries, Scotland
Posts: 7
Yes, it's really useful.


I used one of the progs to salvage all the main files from my pals HD when it failed on him. Took a while but it was for his business - was he relieved!
OldAmigan is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 01:19   #586
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
Some tools are very nice to have, like how to break user ID/Password on Windows etc.
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldAmigan View Post
Yes, it's really useful.


I used one of the progs to salvage all the main files from my pals HD when it failed on him. Took a while but it was for his business - was he relieved!
Perfect Timing as I have a Repair Job in at the Minute where a Laptop has no output on the Display but does have a HDMI Output. My friend was Using it with his Projector purely to Watch Films with but his Projector burnt out so he got a new one. He Plugged the Laptop in as Usual to the New Projector and he says his Laptop just went on a mental one and Starts Beeping and Shutting down and since then he has been able to do nothing with it. I cannot Get a Display out of it either but if this Disc can Salvage his Hard Drive Data I have a PC he can Buy
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 01:22   #587
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 583
I know this is X86 Discussion but just Lately my A1200 has been Used so Much! My Amiga love has Finally returned after having no end of trouble with A500's and Accelerator Cards (Whole other Story). on a Serious note can I WHDLoad with no Ram Expansion?
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 13 December 2019, 01:24   #588
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,108
No RAM at all is probably unlikely. I sort or assume it needs enough RAM for at least 1 disk... maybe wrong but even basic games need more RAM.

Either look at true HD installer versions which require less resources or go down route of Gotek.

I bought some brand new DS DD to write disks (copy protected working too now) but fortunately I have a large collection of original disks from my years of collecting.

I may part with all of this soon and like @DamienD , go to full emulation.

Also on a side note. I put Lakka on my MXQ and configured it to output CVBS to my 28" 4:3 CRT TV! It looks so good... just like it would on playing console directly without the big pixel graphics (due to native low resolution of CRT TV)
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 14 December 2019, 03:14   #589
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
No RAM at all is probably unlikely. I sort or assume it needs enough RAM for at least 1 disk... maybe wrong but even basic games need more RAM.

Either look at true HD installer versions which require less resources or go down route of Gotek.

I bought some brand new DS DD to write disks (copy protected working too now) but fortunately I have a large collection of original disks from my years of collecting.

I may part with all of this soon and like @DamienD , go to full emulation.

Also on a side note. I put Lakka on my MXQ and configured it to output CVBS to my 28" 4:3 CRT TV! It looks so good... just like it would on playing console directly without the big pixel graphics (due to native low resolution of CRT TV)
I have HD Installed a few games that have the Installer on Floppy but I thought there may just be a easier way haha

That's really Cool that your using a CRT with Emulation I bet it does give it the look it so needs :-)
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 14 December 2019, 03:53   #590
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,108
All these HD upgrades etc are over rated.

The device was built for these TVs... it works natively effortlessly.

Hence emulation works best on CRT. No need for shaders. No need for screen configuration etc.

You should try TV out to CRT from your graphics card. You'll be impressed that DOS games work without showing block pixels and looks like playing on a console ie pixel perfect.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 21:10   #591
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
All these HD upgrades etc are over rated.

The device was built for these TVs... it works natively effortlessly.

Hence emulation works best on CRT. No need for shaders. No need for screen configuration etc.

You should try TV out to CRT from your graphics card. You'll be impressed that DOS games work without showing block pixels and looks like playing on a console ie pixel perfect.
Why have I not done this Before! hooked my pc up to the new Arrival of a 24 inch Sony Trinitron its so Cool playing Dos games like this

Would still love a Actual CRT Monitor though just for Convenience
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 16 December 2019, 21:28   #592
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,108
I'm not sure if a CRT monitor would give the same image as they are usually higher resolution than TV.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 17 December 2019, 00:58   #593
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
I'm not sure if a CRT monitor would give the same image as they are usually higher resolution than TV.
Very true indeed! But for Convenience as I swap Pc's a lot for Different types of Stuff. Now I got a p2, p3 and a p4 (Both socket 478 and LGA775) and they are all useful for Different Gaming / Computing Tasks. would love a Pentium, 486 (This is where I started), 386 and everything else but for Backwards Compatibility the P2 will Suffice enough wouldn't you say? anyway going off topic a bit Crt Tv's are the Actual nuts! if you like LGR on youtube he does some interesting upscaling with a Black and White Crt TV and a Xbox :-) Great Stuff!
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 17 December 2019, 01:02   #594
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 583
Have also Seen a lot of Modern Gamers use Crt Monitors Still! the Colour Depth and Refresh Rates have a lot to do with it I Think! the new Doom running on a CRT Monitor looks Fantastic I must say
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 18 December 2019, 19:44   #595
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,108
I got rid of a CRT monitor ... I wasn't so keen as I prefer to play modern games on higher refresh rate screens.

My philosophy: stick the the original hardware the game/device was intended or go to emulation completely.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 23 December 2019, 16:07   #596
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 583
Does GAG Work with Modern OS as Well? I want to put a Secondary Windows 10 on a Hard Drive Partition I made but Windows Will not let me Install to that Partition as it Already Detects Windows 10 Installed on my SSD :-(

I really Should just Move a Few things off of my SSD and Create the Secondary Install on to that but I am Feeling a Bit Lazy at the Moment
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 23 December 2019, 16:09   #597
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,108
Not sure... the website may help on this query although I cant imagine why it wouldn't
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 23 December 2019, 22:00   #598
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 583
Thanks to @GlenM for the Parts and Sticker. I don't usually Sticker up my Daily Driver but I just Couldn't Refuse that's Ace (There isn't a Rats Nest in the Bottom of My Pc it's the Reflection from my 360 Gamepad Wire I Can Assure you It's Cable Managed )
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20191223_195544.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	708.7 KB
ID:	65646  
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 24 December 2019, 02:01   #599
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 583
I think my Amiga 1200 needs a recap. Occasionally just White Screens :-( Shall I Attempt myself as I Can solder or shall I leave this one to a Proffesional?

Or would it Be the Homemade Atx Psu to Amiga Psu Conversion I have Done? Commodore PSU Died :-(
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 24 December 2019, 16:19   #600
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,108
Sure its recap that is needed? Did you add anything to the Amiga that might have caused this. Check boot screen errors for possible causes and maybe it might be simple fix. Although recap is recommended if not been done.

It looks relatively doable on YouTube but when it comes to practically replicating the videos it's another matter altogether! Lol
lesta_smsc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
x86 VS 64-bit? jb2815 support.WinUAE 1 11 July 2016 15:12
DO OR DIE,x86 or ARM? hydragon Amiga scene 19 21 March 2014 13:05
What could have happened if AmigaOS went x86? ancalimon Amiga scene 4 08 January 2010 22:47
The Amiga x86 lelezetec Amiga scene 5 27 September 2009 20:59
Amiga x86 Cerberus73 project.EAB 27 10 August 2009 21:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14682 seconds with 16 queries