English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 October 2019, 10:39   #1
davethemackem
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 9
Hardfile not recognised in WinUAE 4.2.1

Hi All
I am new to emulation and haven't used my real amiga for years so I bought WinUAE just to relive old times. I am using the latest version 4.2.1(2019.05.16) 64 bit
I am following youtube [ Show youtube player ] which seems very good but I am struggling at @27:00 creating a hardfile. I follow the instructions and have created a hardfile as described but when I start the program the hdtoolbox says no drives present. Not sure what I am doing wrong.
A second issue I have is that sometime the configuration will just reset itself and I have to repeat everything again. I have set to run WinUAE as admin.

Can anyone shed any light on whats happening and why or am I just being thick ;-)
Thank you
Dave
davethemackem is offline  
Old 24 October 2019, 11:12   #2
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,538
Sounds like you haven't told HDToolBox to use the correct SCSI device. I don't know what that is in WinUAE, but it is changed in the HDToolBox ToolTypes.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 24 October 2019, 13:09   #3
davethemackem
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 9
Soppytwist has posted this - [ Show youtube player ] and I followed it so its working now thank you. Its amazing how much you forget and how much learning I have to catch up on. Thanks for replying anyway
davethemackem is offline  
Old 25 October 2019, 20:28   #4
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by davethemackem View Post
It's amazing how much you forget and how much learning I have to catch up on. Thanks for replying anyway
Actually, literally, your mind is remaking the pathways again to the information that is already stored. When I "came back" though I didn't leave the Amiga, I could feel inside as it was happening. I've done that all this life. The mind records everything..and it depends on your focus also how much detail is stored. So, if you're a lazy thinker+not very intuition aware the details will be not be great.

When I powered on my A4000 after many years, I knew the experiences where still there..but they weren't coming immediately. After about a week of lightly doing stuff, it was "coming back"... Now, after about a year..much is reconnected. I didn't relearn anything. It was all there all along. The mind is a very powerful tool, and will change priorities when you want it to.

Welcome back to the fantastic OS and fun. Wooohooo! Hehehe.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating a hardfile in WinUAE Soopytwist support.WinUAE 56 28 December 2018 16:43
WinUAE: Mount Two Hardfile AMIGASYSTEM support.WinUAE 5 22 December 2018 21:04
WinUAE: Create HardFile AMIGASYSTEM support.WinUAE 3 20 August 2018 19:48
Transferred Hardfile comes up as NDOS in WinUAE? rlcarr support.WinUAE 0 26 April 2008 23:48
Winuae Hardfile littleb2005 support.WinUAE 3 03 May 2007 21:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06218 seconds with 15 queries