English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 July 2018, 19:05   #1
intric8
AmigaLover

intric8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 62
Fun project: Connecting a Zip Drive to A1000 and booting workbench

Hey everyone,

I wanted to share a hardware project I finished recently. It took me several weeks (off and on) and I had a lot of help from others.

But after much effort and education, I learned how to connect an Iomega Zip Drive (100mb, SCSI) to one of my Amiga 1000's. It uses a very specific SCSI controller to get the job done made by Microbotics way back in 1986.

And the really cool part? I still have to use floppy disks to boot the machine, but the WB floppy was converted into more of a partial boot, where it passes control from itself over to the Zip drive. The Zip has an entire version of WB 1.3 on it, and starts to continue the boot process from there.

I recorded a video about it:
[ Show youtube player ]

And wrote down very detailed instructions on how to do it in the very rare event someone else out there happens to have the hardware and wants to give it a try:
https://amigalove.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=691

I have to say that now that it's all working, I just love it. No click of death here (knock on wood) just Amiga good times.
intric8 is offline  
Old 30 July 2018, 21:20   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,599
Next up, Create a boot disk that makes the smallest possible RAD: drive that can hold the mountlist, driver, mount, assign, execute and then you can reboot without a floppy. ;-)

Oh and a note on the instructions, where you say copy df1: #? all to DH0: you should just omit the #?
Jope is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 08:13   #3
intric8
AmigaLover

intric8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 62
@Jope not sure if you're joking or not, but that really is a very cool idea. Trimming it down to it's most basic essentials.
intric8 is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 09:49   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,599
Not joking, a suggestion for you to up your game to the next level. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 04 August 2018, 20:16   #5
E-Penguin
Banana

E-Penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 871
Rom disk? I know you'd need to have a ks in the A1000 in the first place somehow, but you could do a minimum WB on that then hand over.
E-Penguin is online now  
Old 06 August 2018, 16:54   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,599
ROM mentioned.. Next step: make a rommable autobooting driver with RDB support. "Totally easy"
Jope is offline  
Old 07 August 2018, 14:48   #7
matburton
Registered User

matburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 98
As a random aside I won an ebay auction a while back which unexpectedly contained some SuperDisks (LS-120), one of which was labelled "Workbench 3.1"

I had no clue what it was, but having seen this I guess the original owner could have had a similar setup, presumably with a later Amiga model. I've never even seen a SuperDisk drive so I have no way to check the contents.

Also I love the RAD idea! And it really wouldn't be that hard.
matburton is offline  
Old 07 August 2018, 16:38   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,599
I have an LS-120 that I haven't been able to test because I never got around to buying any media. If your LS-120 disks are for sale, drop me a line please. :-)

I can send you HDFs back of course.
Jope is offline  
Old 08 August 2018, 00:52   #9
matburton
Registered User

matburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 98
Hey Jope,

After sifting through what I have I can only find 3 SuperDisks.
They are all used judging from the labels and none have cases.
(I assume they would have comes in plastic cases like Zip 100 disks? )

They're certainly untested by me but if you want them and you're willing to cover postage from the UK I'm more than willing to send them to a good home!
matburton is offline  
Old 08 August 2018, 08:33   #10
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,599
Sometimes they came in individual jewel cases, but very often they just had a cardboard sleeve + shrink wrap.

Let's continue in PM
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting more than one ADF/DMS from within ZIP/LHA archive Foebane support.WinUAE 2 29 June 2018 19:26
Amiga formatted zip disks via USB zip drive in WinUAE? planetidiot New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 02 February 2018 09:43
Connecting A1000 to Amiga Explorer via serial Marchie support.Hardware 2 23 January 2018 20:46
Blowing up expensive things is not fun - Connecting SCSI2SD to A590 IvanEBC support.Hardware 7 29 November 2016 13:39
Connecting an external zip drive to the amiga paulo_becas support.Hardware 17 05 March 2010 11:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07270 seconds with 15 queries