English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2019, 17:14   #1
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 505
How to get my Amiga read DVD

I am using an Amiga 500 and I have Lite-ON DVD-ROM and it can only read CD's but not DVD's. The DVD is working full functional and it can read DVD if hooked into the PC but on my A500 it can only read CD's.

I am using CD2 mount in the mount list...how do I modify it so it can read both DVD's and CD's?

Thanks in advance.
xboxown is offline  
Old 20 February 2019, 18:11   #2
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,346
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
DVD needs a different filesystem or drivers I think.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 20 February 2019, 20:41   #3
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
DVD needs a different filesystem or drivers I think.
Isn't this something that can be resolved by modifying the mountlist icon in the devs folder?
xboxown is offline  
Old 20 February 2019, 21:31   #4
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,516
No, DVD-ROMs usually use a different filesystem (UDF) to standard CD-ROMs (ISO9660). AllegroCDFS is supposed to support UDF, but I can't verify that. If you have a DVD that was created using ISO9660 instead of UDF, you should be able to read it with a normal CD filesystem, as essentially then it's just a big CD-ROM. ISO9660 (the standard CD filesystem) is limited to 4GB, whereas DVDs can hold closer to 5GB, or nearly 9GB in dual-layer format, so to use all the space on a DVD, CD filesystems are useless.

Last edited by Daedalus; 20 February 2019 at 23:00.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 20 February 2019, 22:42   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,939
What kind of DVD do you try to read? Normally any DVD with an ISO9660 file system can be read just fine. UDF is not supported by any Amiga driver (even if there is one which claims so).
thomas is offline  
Old 20 February 2019, 23:43   #6
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
What kind of DVD do you try to read? Normally any DVD with an ISO9660 file system can be read just fine. UDF is not supported by any Amiga driver (even if there is one which claims so).
Normal 4.7 GB ones!

I am going to do some experiments when I go home.
xboxown is offline  
Old 20 February 2019, 23:56   #7
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Not totally sure which driver I'm using on my A4000, but it was able to read DVD Movies ok, and also play them to an extent with AMP2.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 20 February 2019, 23:58   #8
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Not totally sure which driver I'm using on my A4000, but it was able to read DVD Movies ok, and also play them to an extent with AMP2.
How did you get it working?
xboxown is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 00:04   #9
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
How did you get it working?

Honestly it's the same one I've had forever, I just saw the player said it had DVD support and I mounted the drive and put a DVD in it. Then I got my CD0 icon that had VIDEO_TS and the usual dirs you'd see for a DVD. It is a SCSI DVD drive if that somehow matters.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 00:12   #10
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Honestly it's the same one I've had forever, I just saw the player said it had DVD support and I mounted the drive and put a DVD in it. Then I got my CD0 icon that had VIDEO_TS and the usual dirs you'd see for a DVD. It is a SCSI DVD drive if that somehow matters.
Then so be it! Today I am going to have fun and see what I get! - nods - WAIT

STOP

YOU SAID YOU HAD THE CD0 THAT HAD THE VIDEO_TS AND THE USUAL DIRS YOU'D SEE FOR A DVD.

CAN YOU PLEASE PRINT OUT THE CONTENT OF YOUR CD0??!
xboxown is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 00:30   #11
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,308
@xboxown

VIDEO_TS is a standard directory on DVDs.

I doubt it was in the CD0 icon info
davideo is online now  
Old 21 February 2019, 01:03   #12
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by davideo View Post
@xboxown

VIDEO_TS is a standard directory on DVDs.

I doubt it was in the CD0 icon info
M..u...s....t....control self.......must wait until go home.......
xboxown is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 01:08   #13
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
Then so be it! Today I am going to have fun and see what I get! - nods - WAIT

STOP

YOU SAID YOU HAD THE CD0 THAT HAD THE VIDEO_TS AND THE USUAL DIRS YOU'D SEE FOR A DVD.

CAN YOU PLEASE PRINT OUT THE CONTENT OF YOUR CD0??!

It's nothing special, but here it is. Disk Info shows up as 5.5GB Handler:{what you see below}CD01


Code:
/* $VER: CD0 40.6 (31.8.93)
 *
 * CD-ROM file system entry
 *
 * This file enables the CD-ROM file system which allows you to read standard
 * ISO-9660 CD-ROM disks from an Amiga with a SCSI or IDE controller.
 *
 * The "Unit" line defines the SCSI address of the CD-ROM drive. Drives
 * often come configured as unit 2, which is the default. Check the
 * documentation for your CD-ROM drive to find the exact SCSI address.
 * Note that most drives let you change this number using jumpers.
 */

FileSystem    = L:CDFileSystem
Flags        = 0
Surfaces    = 1
SectorsPerTrack    = 1
SectorSize    = 2048
Mask        = 0x7ffffffe
MaxTransfer    = 0x100000
Reserved    = 0
Interleave    = 0
LowCyl        = 0
HighCyl        = 0
Buffers        = 5
BufMemType    = 0
StackSize    = 1000
Priority    = 10
GlobVec        = -1
DosType        = 0x43443031

/* The Device and Unit fields are controlled by tooltypes in the CD0 icon.
 *
 * Device    = scsi.device
 * Unit        = 2
 */
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 01:50   #14
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
DVDs if created with a UDF/ISO standard can be mounted and run on AmigaOS, of course amigaos slowly shows the videos, see screenshots and video:

http://eab.abime.net/zone/Test-DVD.avi

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 26 February 2019 at 22:48.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 01:57   #15
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
DVDs if created with a UDF/ISO standard can be mounted and run on AmigaOS, of course at low speed, see screenshot and video:

http://eab.abime.net/zone/Test-DVD.avi

I'm not sure what you mean, but my DVD drive reads at 4591KB/s with RSCP, which would be something like a 4X DVD rate, which is probably correct. Or maybe you're talking about how to master an ISO to read on the Amiga?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 02:01   #16
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
I'm talking about the DVD management, as you can see from the second screenshot, i mounted a DVD "UDF" (burn UDF/ISO)
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 02:03   #17
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
I'm talking about the DVD management, as you can see from the second screenshot, i mounted a DVD "UDF"

Sorry I'm even more confused now. If you're talking about mounting virtual ISOs I use that one on Aminet, not sure if it supports DVDs though.

*EDIT* Oh I get it now, you're talking about mounting stuff in WinUAE. Xbone is talking about his beloved A500.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 02:08   #18
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
*EDIT* Oh I get it now, you're talking about mounting stuff in WinUAE. Xbone is talking about his beloved A500.
Nothing changes, I did not use the automatic mount of WinUAE, to mount the DVD I used a mountlist "CD0" with Filesystem AsimCDFS, watch the video well. I have not mounted an ISO but a real DVD

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 21 February 2019 at 02:32.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 02:15   #19
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
It's nothing special, but here it is. Disk Info shows up as 5.5GB Handler:{what you see below}CD01


Code:
/* $VER: CD0 40.6 (31.8.93)
 *
 * CD-ROM file system entry
 *
 * This file enables the CD-ROM file system which allows you to read standard
 * ISO-9660 CD-ROM disks from an Amiga with a SCSI or IDE controller.
 *
 * The "Unit" line defines the SCSI address of the CD-ROM drive. Drives
 * often come configured as unit 2, which is the default. Check the
 * documentation for your CD-ROM drive to find the exact SCSI address.
 * Note that most drives let you change this number using jumpers.
 */

FileSystem    = L:CDFileSystem
Flags        = 0
Surfaces    = 1
SectorsPerTrack    = 1
SectorSize    = 2048
Mask        = 0x7ffffffe
MaxTransfer    = 0x100000
Reserved    = 0
Interleave    = 0
LowCyl        = 0
HighCyl        = 0
Buffers        = 5
BufMemType    = 0
StackSize    = 1000
Priority    = 10
GlobVec        = -1
DosType        = 0x43443031

/* The Device and Unit fields are controlled by tooltypes in the CD0 icon.
 *
 * Device    = scsi.device
 * Unit        = 2
 */
Thanks! I just have one question to ask. If I paste you the content of my CD2.info here would you confirm to me that it supports DVD as well?

Thanks in advance.
xboxown is offline  
Old 21 February 2019, 02:25   #20
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,403
Try your mountlist and your device!

Attention, please:

DVD UDF= "Not" You can mount them

DVD UDF/ISO = You can mount them
DVD-ROM (ISO) = You can mount them
DVD-Video = You can mount them

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 26 February 2019 at 22:48.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't read a dvd, cd ok toddbailey support.Hardware 8 23 July 2015 17:18
Another Amiga Demo DVD Dizzy Amiga scene 41 20 January 2007 13:10
My Amiga 1300 DVD Amiga A1300 Amiga scene 104 14 June 2005 19:57
Amiga Demo DVD's MortimerTwang request.Demos 2 24 April 2005 20:11
Can WinUAE read DVD? Fred the Fop support.WinUAE 1 23 June 2003 10:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09466 seconds with 16 queries