English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 May 2008, 01:23   #1
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 677
A500/A600/A1200 ATX power adaptors

Hi,

I'm giving consideration to making a new batch of my ATX power adaptors for the A500/A600/A1200 and was wondering who would be interested?

It looks like this on the underside:


New board will have solder resist, not sure what colour yet

It simply plugs into the ATX power connector and there is a connector for an ATX case switch. You need to either buy a new Amiga PSU lead from Amiga centre france or butcher your old cable and attach it as shown here:



The revised design will have a connector for the case power LED and a push button switch, to allow it to be used outside of a case.

To recoup my costs, I need to sell 25-30 assembled units at £6-7 each. I can sell bare PCBs for £2.50. Take into account that this board uses surfacemount parts and is single sided, which lowers the cost a lot.

Any interest?

Last edited by Stedy; 04 February 2010 at 22:32. Reason: broken links
Stedy is offline  
Old 22 May 2008, 02:32   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Stedy

I can take a couple of PCB's sir PM your deets , I could certainly use a few of the ATX connectors too

whats the IC your using on their?

I know for sure that Akira will want one these assembled!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 22 May 2008, 10:38   #3
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 999
I would be interested in a couple of them if they are able to handle the current draw of an A1200D with BPPC + 256MB + 2.5inch hard drive. I currently power this with a dodgy AT power supply, but could do with this ATX gizmo in a little box outside of the A1200.

I notice from your website the rating for the old version of the PCB is "The PCB tracking is rated upto 4 Amps on the +5V supply and 2 Amps on +12V, -12V is 0.5A."
Calgor is offline  
Old 22 May 2008, 13:23   #4
frost242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: France, 87
Age: 40
Posts: 96
Hi, I'm interested in two boards.
frost242 is offline  
Old 22 May 2008, 15:28   #5
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Stedy,

I'll have 2 assembled mate to help with the costs.

Cheers
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 22 May 2008, 15:54   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@TheCorfiot

Actually thats a VERY good point...


@Steadyliciuos

I would like to change my order to a Big Mac and Fri.... errrmmm

two fully assembled please sire

Zetr0 is offline  
Old 23 May 2008, 00:37   #7
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 677
@All

Currently have 3 of the original PCBs built and tested if anyone wants one now. PM if interested.

I'll get a batch of PCBs ordered towards the end of next week.
It costs me the same to buy 50 PCBs as it does to buy 20, so more will be bought!

I propose a small design update.

As well as adding a pin header for the case power LED, how about I add the connector for the A1200 FDD and HDD LED board?

What you could then do is disconnect the LED board from the A1200 wedge case, connect the plug into this board, then use the case HDD LED and another LED (Turbo/powersave) for the FDD. This could provide a simple no solder power/LED mod.

Need to check some physical fittings first before committing to this.

@Calgor

I do not know what the power consumption of a BPPC is. I will check the power figures for the PPC 603 CPU.
The beefiest brick PSU can source 4.5A @ 5V, my PCB is safely capable of taking that.
Will get back to you soon.

@Zetro

The chip used is a 74AC74 D-type. The schematic is on my Amiga PSU guide page.
All it does is act as an electronic toggle switch. The momentary push switch on the ATX case is latched on/off and it drives the PS-ON signal of the ATX supply directly. Logic 0 turns on the PSU.

The ATX connectors came from RS components. Farnell also stock them. I also have the cable mount versions, handy for making up A4000 PSU leads

Ian
Stedy is offline  
Old 23 May 2008, 00:44   #8
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Stedylicious

Awesome thanks for the info's

PM incomming
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 23 May 2008, 15:06   #9
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,349
How much are these boards?
Akira is offline  
Old 26 May 2008, 01:29   #10
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 677
@Akira

Still working on the final price but around 6-7 UKP each + postage.
In the process of pricing up for larger component orders before I settle on the price.

Ian
Stedy is offline  
Old 26 May 2008, 02:01   #11
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,064
Ian,

I'll take one when you get a final price.

Any chance for an A4000 version? With the tick generator built in too?
adolescent is offline  
Old 26 May 2008, 12:28   #12
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,349
DEfinitely interested., Let us know.
Akira is offline  
Old 26 May 2008, 23:33   #13
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 677
@Adolescent
The A4000/T does not need a tick circuit but the A2000/A3000 do. Though with the A2000/A3000 you can set the tick source to the Video VSync which will be 50/60Hz depending on tv standard.

An A4000 uses the Amp Mate n Lock connectors which are still available to purchase. It is possible to make a cable that converts from ATX to A4000. Does the A4000 have a latching power switch?

I ask as there may be no need for a PCB with circuit.

@Calgor.

I can not find the power figures for the BPPC cards but I estimate 3-4 Amps worst case.
It is possible to retrack the board to increase the +5V supply to 7-8 amp rating, which will be more than enough. The A1200 + HDD takes about 1.9A, so add 4A for the BPPC, 1A for CDROM and you are at 7A worst case, in line with the new design.

@Thread

My idea of adding a connector for the floppy/HDD led for the A1200 has hit a cable length snag! The lead to the LED board of the A1200 is quite short, hands up who has inadvertantly pulled a wire off! You would need to fit this board on the right hand side of the A1200, or near the top of a towered Amiga. This would be too far away from the LED cables at the bottom of the case.

I am testing a prototype PCB of a different circuit at the moment, assuming all goes well, I may also order some PCBs of that design at the same time as the ATX adaptors.

Will keep you posted.

Ian
Stedy is offline  
Old 28 May 2008, 16:04   #14
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,064
Ian

You are right, sorry. There is a latching power switch on the A4000 (on the end of a rod like the A3000). I guess I'll see about making an adapter cable.

BTW, do you know of any source for A2000 power supply connectors?
adolescent is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 01:59   #15
Silver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Age: 42
Posts: 118
I will definitely purchase an assembled board once you have them....
Silver is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 00:58   #16
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 677
Hi,

@Adolescent

I do not seem to have the part number for the A2000 motherboard connector. If I knew what it was, I may be able to help.

@All,

The updated PCB is done, I plan to send it out for a batch of 50 to be made next week.

I have also prototyped a floppy adapter PCB, that allows you to plug in a PC floppy drive, with no wire mod and it should then work as a DS/DD drive. 1xPCB has been etched and drilled, plan to test this weekend. This PCB is 40x25 mm, so is cheap to make, like the ATX adapter.

Ironically, it costs the same to buy 3 prototype PCBs as a run of 50 does! By combining my order I only pay one lot of postage (£20), hence the slight delay on the PCBs. Parts are sourced from Farnell and Rapid.

Will update again over the weekend.

Ian
Stedy is offline  
Old 01 June 2008, 21:57   #17
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 677
Hi,

I have built and tested a prototype of the new design today. It is working fine so an order can go out this week.

Two pictures:


and


Ian
Stedy is offline  
Old 01 June 2008, 23:09   #18
Silver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Age: 42
Posts: 118
Looking good!
Silver is offline  
Old 14 June 2008, 14:20   #19
Silver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Age: 42
Posts: 118
Any progress/eta on these? Hope the order went ok.....
Silver is offline  
Old 14 June 2008, 17:01   #20
alphonsus
Registered User
alphonsus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 181
@stedy:

A 60W A500 powerbrick with +5V rated at 4.3A is just enough to run my BPPC 603@160MHz 040@25MHz, 16Mb RAM, floppy drive, cf card in ide convertor.
Adding a BVision card was too much for it
alphonsus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power two A600 with one ATX PSU? Akira support.Hardware 7 16 January 2013 16:13
Wanted: A1200 power supply or ATX adapter (in London) Akira MarketPlace 5 28 December 2011 17:40
Ian "tinkering with Amiga's since 1986" Stedman's A500/A600/A1200 ATX power adaptor Paul_s MarketPlace 0 05 October 2010 22:39
New batch of ATX power adaptors? Stedy Hardware mods 9 08 April 2009 00:25
ATX PSU to A1200/A600/A500/+ TheCorfiot support.Hardware 6 16 March 2008 19:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09724 seconds with 13 queries