English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 December 2003, 17:45   #1
Sir Kidd
Warrior Mage
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hyrule, Dark World
Age: 42
Posts: 24
Send a message via ICQ to Sir Kidd
Wonder Dog

I have bought an original version of Wonderdog but I can't get it to work on my A1200.
It crashes in the first 'loading screen' when 'CORE' is displayed.
Any ideas ?

I already tried some other configs in the startup menu.
Could NTSC have anything to do with it ?
Sir Kidd is offline  
Old 17 December 2003, 18:54   #2
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,343
Re: Wonder Dog

Quote:
Originally posted by Sir Kidd
Could NTSC have anything to do with it ?
Depends. is your Amiga NTSC? if not, why are you asking about NTSC?

The chances here are:

1) This game is incompatible with the A1200. I doubt this since it's a game created when there were A1200s around already

2) You bought knackered disks.

3) Your disk drive is knackered.


But with the scarce ammount of details you post about your problem, we're not bound to e of much help.
Akira is offline  
Old 17 December 2003, 20:13   #3
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Re: Re: Wonder Dog

Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
[B]Depends. is your Amiga NTSC? if not, why are you asking about NTSC?

The chances here are:

1) This game is incompatible with the A1200. I doubt this since it's a game created when there were A1200s around already
Your doubt is granted!

*The* site for real-Amigans, GAGE, says:

Works from disk on a plain A1200!

So
Quote:
2) You bought knackered disks.
appears to be the right "suggestion".

It's not the first time that it happened that ebay sellers (et al.) had BROKEN original disks and copied CRACKED (!) versions over these former original disks and didn't tell a word!
No wonder then if the "original" doesn't work on your A1200, but merely on an A500.

Last edited by andreas; 17 December 2003 at 20:20.
andreas is offline  
Old 17 December 2003, 21:54   #4
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,343
Re: Re: Re: Wonder Dog

Quote:
Originally posted by andreas
appears to be the right "suggestion".
It could also be a knackered diskdrive. But with the few details he posted about this, it's hard to tell.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 December 2003, 14:17   #5
Sir Kidd
Warrior Mage
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hyrule, Dark World
Age: 42
Posts: 24
Send a message via ICQ to Sir Kidd
No no, my drive is fine other games work.
I asked about NTSC because it's in the early startup menu.
Well maybe it is a corrupt version then yes but I got the game sealed.
Hmmm.
Sir Kidd is offline  
Old 18 December 2003, 14:55   #6
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 38
Posts: 2,651
Install with WHdload :

http://www.whdload.de/games/WonderDog.lha

kriz is offline  
Old 18 December 2003, 17:00   #7
Sir Kidd
Warrior Mage
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hyrule, Dark World
Age: 42
Posts: 24
Send a message via ICQ to Sir Kidd
? n00b here!
Sir Kidd is offline  
Old 18 December 2003, 18:31   #8
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,722
Sector 1 od first disk is erased or damaged. Games uses RNC copylock. Is this sector is bad game always hang just after loading level 1.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 18 December 2003, 18:47   #9
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,343
Quote:
Originally posted by haynor
Is this sector is bad game always hang just after loading level 1.
He doesn't even get to the Level 1, so not.

Quote:
? n00b here!
Kriz linked you to the official site. Would you care to read instead of making us red it for you?

In any case, if you are 100% SURE your diskdrive is fine, then your disks are knackered. Sealing can be done anywhere man, it means really nothing. Try the game in another Amiga to be sure.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 December 2003, 19:29   #10
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,722
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
He doesn't even get to the Level 1, so not.
I wrote:
Is this sector is bad game always hang just after loading level 1

not

game always hang after entering level 1


Game crashes when RNC date are decrunched into memory. This is standard method for copylock.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 18 December 2003, 23:37   #11
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,343
Sorry, but I had/have trouble following your english, hence the cnfusion (I still think you're saying that the game has sector 1 bad and that's why the game hangs after loading level 1. which doesn't happen)
Akira is offline  
Old 19 December 2003, 06:09   #12
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Roll eyes (sarcastic)

haynor, you had meant pre-loading level 1, right?
Games tend to pre-load first levels without the user noticing to avoid excessive loading times.

So "crash at bootup" and "crash when pre-loading level 1" makes sense first time because pre-load IS usually done at bootup.
andreas is offline  
Old 19 December 2003, 18:00   #13
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,722
Well, almost - when screen with "Level 1" appears level 1 is loading. After this loaded data must be decompressed and here copylock hangs game.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 19 December 2003, 18:14   #14
hal
where am i ?
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: akureyri iceland
Age: 38
Posts: 185
weird
i have this same game in a box
it's never worked
maybe they used extra low quality disks
hal is offline  
Old 19 December 2003, 19:37   #15
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,343
Quote:
Originally posted by haynor
Well, almost - when screen with "Level 1" appears level 1 is loading. After this loaded data must be decompressed and here copylock hangs game.
But the original post says that it hangs on the CORE DESIGN SCREEN.
Akira is offline  
Old 20 December 2003, 17:07   #16
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Hooooo

Whoops - true!
(after 2nd re-read)
andreas is offline  
Old 20 December 2003, 19:22   #17
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,722
I see. So maybe disks are really damaged but from my experiment (copy from original disks) game always hang in exactly the same place. Maybe it's possible that on other machines game hang up in different places.
haynor666 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dylan Dog: The Murderers solaris104 project.WHDLoad 1 15 June 2010 17:53
Megafortress: Flight Of The Old Dog mai HOL data problems 1 27 November 2009 16:50
Dylan Dog 12 + 13 Don_Adan request.Old Rare Games 49 27 April 2009 21:48
Dylan Dog 9 Kodoichi request.Old Rare Games 1 15 July 2004 17:13
Dylan Dog XoreX support.Games 9 29 August 2001 21:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08602 seconds with 13 queries