English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 August 2019, 18:07   #1
WStyle
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 15
A3000 - VC190 (22-47pF) and VC470 (3-11pF)

Hello,

I need two new variable capacitors for my Amiga 3000.

VC190 value range is 22-47pF
VC470 value range is 3-11pF.

Does anyone know, which is the correct setted value of this two capacitors ?

And maybe where to get this two capacitors ?

Thanks and regards.
WStyle is offline  
Old 11 August 2019, 23:56   #2
cdh
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Los Altos, CA, USA
Posts: 23
You can find these cheap on ebay, for example:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/45-Pcs-9-Va...s/223444787706

I recommend using the blue (5pf) for your 3-11pf range replacement, and yellow (40pf) for your 22-47pf range replacement.

As an aside, be aware it is tricky to tune VC190 using an oscilloscope to measure the resultant crystal frequency because your probe is going to add some capacitance to the circuit. If you have a 10x mode, that will help somewhat.
cdh is offline  
Old 12 August 2019, 11:07   #3
WStyle
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 15
Hello,

thanks ! Ordered the Blue and the Yellow ones.

But I dont have a Osciloscope :-(
What to do with VC190 without a Osciloscope ?
WStyle is offline  
Old 17 May 2020, 07:07   #4
cdh
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Los Altos, CA, USA
Posts: 23
Without an oscilloscope, the best I can suggest is to do repeated cycles of
1) Set the RTC to the current time
2) Wait X minutes
3) See how far your RTC is off
4) Tweak VC190
until the difference is small enough that it's good for you.
cdh is offline  
Old 17 May 2020, 20:28   #5
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdh View Post
As an aside, be aware it is tricky to tune VC190 using an oscilloscope to measure the resultant crystal frequency because your probe is going to add some capacitance to the circuit. If you have a 10x mode, that will help somewhat.
That, and most scopes are not that accurate when it comes to measuring frequency. For the kind of accuracy you need for an RTC clock you really need a dedicated counter. That said, my cheap ass Rigol DS1052E actually has a counter built-in. Dunno how accurate it is though but I used for some relative measurements once and that went quite well.

Last edited by Mathesar; 18 May 2020 at 10:59.
Mathesar is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get this A3000 up and going? joethezombie support.Hardware 9 08 August 2016 01:44
a3000 lost_loven support.Hardware 11 22 March 2010 01:20
FS: FULLY LOADED A3000, a bare bone A3000 and lots of Amiga Stuff! emc_errol MarketPlace 0 30 January 2009 22:33
One last try to fix my A3000 webmany support.Hardware 27 18 March 2008 03:07
A3000 Used jmmijo MarketPlace 13 09 April 2002 21:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07469 seconds with 16 queries