English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 June 2006, 16:42   #1
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Question Modules playing slower on WinUAE than on DeliPlayer Win32?

(apologies - i should possibly file this as a bug (?) on deliplayer forum)

Last edited by andreas; 07 June 2006 at 17:22. Reason: maybe i was too quick; winuae+a1000 are in sync; deliplayer is slightly faster
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 June 2006, 16:54   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 20,902
This is nothing special and very possible.

There are two view points. Emulated program sees things synced and "perfect" but for outside viewer it may be something different.

For example background program can steal all cpu time for 1 second, emulation appears to be paused + sound keeps repeating but emulated program does not see anything special and is still perfectly happy.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 07 June 2006, 17:04   #3
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Phh, you were slightly too quick (as always )
In a quick thought, I planned to actually get this thread deleted again, as ...

WinUAE + my REAL THING (A1000) *are* in sync!! (at least in "human terms")

But DeliPlayer is a bit too quick, *significantly* faster, about 1/3 BPM!
With a sequencer in your reach, this difference is possible to measure, as it will create "divergence" with the one, while it will not with the other!
andreas is offline  
Old 07 June 2006, 17:13   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,615
Doesn't DeliPlayer have an option to switch between 50Hz and 60Hz (PAL and NTSC repectively) when playing Amiga mods ? "Too fast" might be a European opinion. Americans might find it "too slow". Mod players on the Amiga always used the vertical blank interrupt for playing mods and didn't care about PAL or NTSC. So this doesn't need to be a bug but rather a feature.
thomas is offline  
Old 07 June 2006, 17:17   #5
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
It might, but where?
Moreover, I think that the 50/60 Hz difference is MUCH more than just 1/3 bpm in playing speed. I can upload you an NTSC game, and you can try yourself to set it in "wrong" 60 Hz mode and then hear the huge difference in sound. :-) In BPM terms, this may be roughly 5 whole ones apart, not just a fraction < 0.5.

Oh, last minute I read this from you: vertical blank interrupt!
Yes, I did have seen this option (Players->Tracker), and it was set to:

[x] CIA timing (else VBlank Timing)

CIA timing is preset, I haven't yet changed this.
andreas is offline  
Old 07 June 2006, 17:38   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 20,902
I am surprised, I was expecting some small difference
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 June 2006, 14:56   #7
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
I reckon that not. A tune that is played in "wrong" mode (50/60, ntsc/pal, vsync on etc.), i. e. a NTSC game's in-game tune in PAL mode or a PAL game's in-game tune in NTSC mode rather sounds as if you have the tune pressed on a 12'' and crank up the PITCH slider on your turntable, as DJs sometimes do it...

1/3 (read: one third) bpm difference is *far* too small to perceive unless you measure it with a good software or either hardware "BPM meter" or sequencer.
If *I* can hear it without measuring in PAL/NTSC stuff, it must be a whole 2 or more.

Last edited by andreas; 17 June 2006 at 15:11.
andreas is offline  
Old 19 January 2008, 02:29   #8
alankila
 
Posts: n/a
Some stabs at explanation

Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas View Post
Phh, you were slightly too quick (as always )
In a quick thought, I planned to actually get this thread deleted again, as ...

WinUAE + my REAL THING (A1000) *are* in sync!! (at least in "human terms")

But DeliPlayer is a bit too quick, *significantly* faster, about 1/3 BPM!
With a sequencer in your reach, this difference is possible to measure, as it will create "divergence" with the one, while it will not with the other!
If I would have to take a stab at guessing the cause for this, it could be rounding error when calculating "ticks of paula clock between output samples".

The PAL paula clock is 3546895 Hz if I recall correctly, and division by either 44100 or 48000 isn't going to go even. If you ignore the residual, you produce values such as 80 ticks of Paula per sample instead of 80.3 which is more correct. (In this case you should actually play slower than the real Amiga, so I guess deliplayer guys have made some other kind of error. They might round up, or use wrong clock value, or something else altogether.)

Slight speed errors are common, because most mod player writers ignore this kind of problems because you can't really tell it without comparing playback closely like you have done. In UADE, this calculation uses floating point and corrects for any accumulated error, and the constants should be authentic Amiga values, so the playback speed should be exact (in audible comparisons, further errors may arise from inaccuracy in your sound hardware: maybe you don't get exact 44.1 kHz or 48 kHz playback. Lots of hardware actually produces something pretty close, but not always quite exactly that output sample rate).
 
Old 07 May 2009, 14:17   #9
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Thanks alankila!

That's a fantastic explanation for the matter! I wager Toni read this too with interest! If I had spotted before that somebody replied to my 3-year-old thread, I'd have replied you much earlier too - sorry!

Last edited by andreas; 07 May 2009 at 14:23.
andreas is offline  
Old 07 May 2009, 16:39   #10
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
and I though I was forgetful hehehhee
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 07 May 2009, 20:49   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 20,902
Thanks for reminding, it is finally done

(not that it has nothing to do with playing speed but it made sound sync more stable)
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real 1200 Slower vs WinUAE 1200 Same settings... Pioneer500 support.Hardware 4 11 May 2013 15:43
Problem playing modules from fast ram ED-209 support.Hardware 4 19 February 2013 23:51
Deliplayer VS WinUAE Another World support.WinUAE 35 19 January 2008 12:50
WinUAE slow after playing game Heula support.WinUAE 5 03 January 2008 12:42
Playing Clockwiser CD32 in WinUAE mcbpete New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 07 June 2006 00:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21508 seconds with 12 queries