English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 March 2021, 12:56   #561
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 82
Ah! I'll be careful not to codeblock too much.

This is going to be confusing..

Just recorded the sliding bug and looked at my codeblocks it's once again it's a ME bug, not a scorpion bug. But it's still potentially interesting! It's not "when spawning" - It's actually when you change-actor - the animation behaviour's slightly different now. (i got confused because all my code I refer to it as spawning but it technically isn't from your POV, doh - at times some of my actors do spawn a different actor and destroy the old version of themselves too, so I thought that was what was happening with the beetle!)

It seems to play the first animation in an uninterruptable way. Previously I had francis teleport in null/dead form and play the franidle anim on him to trigger him into visibly existing again. Now the idle animation plays in full regarldess of whether you're walking. I've now fixed it in his case by making a single frame animation and tell him to play that instead. So it's not a necessarily a bug just a subtle change in the way you're dealing with prioritising animations/motion, and I can fix it easily now.

The beetle code I've included here used to work: "when the dice was <= 2 change actor to bigbugfly" overriding the bigbughide animations. Now he plays the bigbughide animation while flying, then continues flying (and playing the appropriate animation) after the hiding animation is complete. Now I can just tell those not to play if the diceroll is >2 and that'll be fixed too.

[ Show youtube player ]

(The second after Im reincarnated .. And the moment where the beetle switches from shell to flying and slides along)

So, not sure if this is intended functionality, it doesnt seem like a worse way for it to be really. Probably not going to affect anyone else..?

These bugs are definitely real though: The sticky sprites are back.. (my vwoosh hovers on screen until another sprite is also on screen) And there's a flash of copper rainbow in the middle of fades.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2021-03-02 101129.png
Views:	45
Size:	64.1 KB
ID:	71103  
Mixel is offline  
Old 02 March 2021, 21:53   #562
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,495
Fixes for the day checked into CMOHX, Experimental and Duckstroma repos.

1. (re)fixed sticking sprites
2. Fixes for blanking copper rainbow between level loads


Regarding set_type, the behavior is that if there's a one shot animation playing from the previous type (which is to say, one manually triggered from codeblocks), it continues playing until the end. I can't remember the exact reason for that, but it's a deliberate thing I put in the codebase so there must have been some case for it.
earok is offline  
Old Yesterday, 05:17   #563
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
Fixes for the day checked into CMOHX, Experimental and Duckstroma repos.

1. (re)fixed sticking sprites
2. Fixes for blanking copper rainbow between level loads


Regarding set_type, the behavior is that if there's a one shot animation playing from the previous type (which is to say, one manually triggered from codeblocks), it continues playing until the end. I can't remember the exact reason for that, but it's a deliberate thing I put in the codebase so there must have been some case for it.
Thanks! yeah that’s totally great change_actor behaviour now I know why it’s happening, it’s probably better for stringing animation sequences together anyway.

Two bugs.. if you punch and then activate dialogue your projectile sprite flashes between pages of the dialogue. (Easy to activate by punching while walking toward Lucy in the blue barge section at the start)

I haven’t set up obs properly yet and should go to sleep but in tunnels1, there are creases that if you fall down the sewer, then the next big fall to the right, like ripples across the entire map. Idk if it’s an emulator thing or a scorpion thing so I’ll try it on the A1200 in the morning. (This is another one of those bugs where I look at it and think “wow, if you could control that you could make an awesome water effect..” like those half opacity clouds before, haha)
Mixel is offline  
Old Yesterday, 17:26   #564
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 82
Woo thanks for the border fix that's so much nicer now.

Had a chance to capture it on the real A1200, so it's definitely the same in UAE and real life..

It seems to be at the tile heights.. 17, 35, 53

Included is a screenshot where francis' legs are chopped off.. (see what I mean about how it'd be neat as a water effect if you could do it intentionally? haha)

And here's a video of it. but youtube seems to process it out a bit.

[ Show youtube player ]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2021-03-03 151334.png
Views:	44
Size:	715.9 KB
ID:	71117  
Mixel is offline  
Old Yesterday, 20:12   #565
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,694
A little playability warning: i would make walkable blocks brighter than the ones in background so people kinda know where to jump
saimon69 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 20:53   #566
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by saimon69 View Post
A little playability warning: i would make walkable blocks brighter than the ones in background so people kinda know where to jump
Agreed - that'd be really annoying if this wasn't a secret path - they're not supposed to know to jump there. I purposely hint to it with the existence of those two pipes leading down as a way of introducing hidden paths to the player early. There are a lot of this sort of thing, it's just the most clear demonstration of the graphical wibble happened next to one. (I also have walls that appear solid but you can walk through them, etc.)

Last edited by Mixel; Yesterday at 20:59.
Mixel is offline  
Old Today, 04:34   #567
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,495
Ah, thanks for the video and screenshot, I know exactly what the cause is.

From a technical point of view, for efficient vertical scrolling, the bottom of the display buffer connects to the top of itself. Like sending a fax where the paper is taped top-to-bottom in a loop.

Which is fairly complicated as you can imagine (part of the way through rendering the screen, I tell the copper to draw the top of the display buffer rather than the bottom). But what about for objects that cross that boundary and have to be drawn on the top AND bottom? Well, you need to split them in half and draw them twice.

For whatever reason, a bug has crept in where the alignment between the top and bottom halves is wrong, I'll see if I can fix that in the next experimental update.

---

I meant to say, in regards to the "one shot" animation from the previous type still playing, I still can't remember the exact reason for that behaviour so maybe it wasn't important. But in any case, I have been thinking of adding an additional trigger to override a one shot and put the animation back to what it normally should be (the same way there's an animation trigger to trigger whatever attack animation is correct for the actor)
earok is offline  
Old Today, 06:14   #568
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
Ah, thanks for the video and screenshot, I know exactly what the cause is.

From a technical point of view, for efficient vertical scrolling, the bottom of the display buffer connects to the top of itself. Like sending a fax where the paper is taped top-to-bottom in a loop.
Ah that is interesting.. I didn't have any idea that's how it works. Glad you know what's happening.


I found another glitch, though it might be related to the previous one.. I can see it in two places in CMOHN so far.. it's really obvious in the World Map, but I thought that might be something I did so ignored it as I dont have the world map working full yet anyway.. But it also happens at a really random seeming part of Tunnels1.. This is one place I've noticed it so far in the video, though it also happens to the left of the lake. Basically places along the bottom of the map.. (I included some footage of it not happening, so you can see the transition between the jitter and non-jitter state)



You might not be able to see the jitteriness unless you watch at 720p/50 and fullscreen, I didn't think the video had captured it at all when YT had only partially processed it! It's like you're vibrating back and forth a pixel while running, but incredibly quickly.



[ Show youtube player ] - and this time it's definitely not my capture set-up. It only seems to apply to the player actor.



Quote:
I meant to say, in regards to the "one shot" animation from the previous type still playing, I still can't remember the exact reason for that behaviour so maybe it wasn't important. But in any case, I have been thinking of adding an additional trigger to override a one shot and put the animation back to what it normally should be (the same way there's an animation trigger to trigger whatever attack animation is correct for the actor)
That sounds good to have options.. Then everyone's covered regardless.. I've fixed my beetle behaviour so it works as expected, but there's probably some situation where that won't be as easy.
Mixel is offline  
Old Today, 13:36   #569
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,495
Fixes checked in to CMO/DS/Experimental repos. The bug was a rather embarrassing one: The area underneath the copper split (where the bottom of the display buffer wraps around to the top) was displaying the front buffer rather than the back buffer.

Which is to say, the area underneath that line was displaying the image buffer that was still being drawn to, hence the glitchiness when moving/jumping underneath the line.
earok is offline  
Old Today, 17:10   #570
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,495
It's nearly 4AM, and it's not heavily tested, but Scorpion is compiling part of the codeblocks system to native 68K ASM

Most of the codeblocks system is still interpreted bytecode, but the part that calculates results of expressions is now 68K, eg stuff like

Variable1 = 5 * 5 + Variable2

Would translate into something like

ADD.W #5, D0
MULS.W #5, D0
ADD.W 100(A0), D0 (Assuming the memory address of Variable2 was A0+100)
RTS



The long and short of it is, custom codeblock events should become far less of a performance burden than they currently are.
earok is offline  
Old Today, 19:33   #571
Tsak
Pixelglass/Reimagine

Tsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Athens
Posts: 665
Awesome man!!
Tsak is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2D Platformer Engine carrion Coders. Blitz Basic 27 06 June 2019 15:35
New Chaos Engine!! arpz Retrogaming General Discussion 75 31 August 2013 23:20
F/S Warp engine 32 mb tabuhuso MarketPlace 0 24 February 2012 16:13
PC Engine CD TodaysForgotten Retrogaming General Discussion 47 14 May 2009 00:57
Scorpion (100% working) andreas request.Old Rare Games 13 01 August 2003 09:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09891 seconds with 15 queries