English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 July 2011, 21:45   #1
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
My uA1 MicroAmigaOne Project =D

Hey Guys n Girls

Since my new MiniITX case arrived today I thought I'd share with you a few pics of the initial install. There still a lot to do like routing cables and getting the USB/LED's connected, but I have made some progress

So this is what an AmigaOne looks like:



It has a 750mhz IBM PPC processor which is overclocked to 800mhz, 512mb Ram and built in Radeon 7000 with 32mb Dedicated VRam

As some of you know I bought an Antec ISK 100

This is the awesome case which will house my uA1:





First thing to do was strip down the case and install the Motherboard, this case is about as small as MiniITX come and it was really tough to squeeze into the Antec, it only just fit in through the opening.

Here she is installed in the case:




Next job is to hook up the Hard Drive, its a Laptop drive for now but I want to use a SSD to keep the temps as low as possible, plus it should be much faster too



Finally here is a quick shot of her connected and booting up for the first time



As you can see there are a lot of cables to try and route inside this small case, I'll have to plan carefully how I hook up the USB, etc.

To give an idea of what this little fella can do I made a couple of Video's for my YouTube page:

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]

Thaks for looking, I'll update the post as my project is updated. More pics to come one I have the cables routed and have fitted a smaller H/S as with the H/S now I wont be able to close the case

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 July 2011, 23:33   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks guys!

Time for a little update already

I done some slight cable house keeping (will have at it again soon)

But for now I routed them round the outsides and hooked up two of the front USB ports, I had to move the connectors round in the connector block as the pinouts are not standard on the uA1:



I still need to hook up the LED's, I need a slightly longer IDE cable as the HDD LED is under where I feed the cable and its pretty tight. I didn't fit the Power LED yet as the manual dosen't say which side is + and - lol

As you can see I also removed the CPU Fan, this way the case closes and the Case Fan is directly over the CPU. I've tested for 1hr this evening and it dosen't even get slightly hot

Here's how she looks all setup:









Sadly I found this TV has died today, so I'll be on the look out for a new one

Thanks for looking

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 22 July 2011, 23:51   #3
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Nice one Steve! You're always tinkering around with interesting projects.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 22 July 2011, 23:58   #4
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpect View Post
Nice one Steve! You're always tinkering around with interesting projects.
Thanks my friend, I'm really pleased with this one
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 01:47   #5
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Hey Guys n Girls
What do you want to hear? jeje... This is one of the more powerful machines to run Amiga software, and I know even you are surprised with that board... And you are making it looking nicer

But about Guys n Girls... I believe by now there's only one girl here in EAB... isn't it, Roberta?

Last edited by Retrofan; 23 July 2011 at 03:43.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 16:30   #6
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Sorry for the lack of Girls my friend, but be impolite not to address them

Well I replaced my JVC TV with my Test Bed set, it'll have to do for now till I get a nice new 19-20in screen



Oh and I hooked up the LED's for HDD/Power, easy stuff I know but was the last thing to do...
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 16:58   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,612
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Oh and I hooked up the LED's for HDD/Power, easy stuff I know but was the last thing to do...
You get my PM?
FOL is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 17:09   #8
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
You get my PM?
Hi!

Thanks yeah I did, I already had the Manual, what I meant was the Manual does not say which is - and + on the Power LED header so I had to guess, got it wrong the first time tho

50/50 lol

Cheers!

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 17:13   #9
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,612
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Hi!

Thanks yeah I did, I already had the Manual, what I meant was the Manual does not say which is - and + on the Power LED header so I had to guess, got it wrong the first time tho

50/50 lol

Cheers!

Steve.
Last link is best, where you can click on different parts. Much more detailed.
FOL is offline  
Old 28 July 2011, 15:06   #10
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
\o/

New TV arrived

fitzsteve is offline  
Old 29 July 2011, 05:57   #11
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Now paint the desk in black!
rkauer is offline  
Old 17 September 2011, 00:27   #12
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Here are some Screen Grabs I took of my uA1 setup, I'm running OS4.1 Update 3 now, annoyingly since the update I can't get online, something I need to fix over the weekend lol, but anyway here are the screens

A quick Ranger shot, as you can see PowerPC 750 running at 800mhz, 512mb Ram



Some of the Icons, I've added lots of personalised Masons Icons I got from Aminet





A little bit of Quake 2, I was watching a Video too but the Screen Grabber didn't capture that!



Some E-UAE as you can see it runs much like WinUAE, you can run in a Window or full screen, you can even run games in native screen modes of your screen supports it!










Thanks for looking
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project X 2 ST Dragon Nostalgia & memories 14 20 March 2013 00:17
AmigaOne uA1 complete system + OS 4.1 JLPedro MarketPlace 0 30 October 2011 01:14
project x NfernalNfluence support.WinUAE 9 02 June 2009 19:10
The ST-01 Project HideawayStudio Amiga scene 16 29 July 2008 19:54
Project F BippyM request.Old Rare Games 8 20 July 2004 23:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08154 seconds with 13 queries