English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old Today, 02:06   #3241
TimT
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Savannah Ga USA
Posts: 2
Hi Everyone

Received my TerribleFire 530 today! started soldering the parts I had. Installed the XC9572XL's with no problem. Then I lingered to long with a CAY16 removing the solder mask. So now the copper traces are covered in solder. So my question is do the traces connect with the 4 pads anyway? if not I will have to remove all the solder and use epoxy.

Also I see the board is marked for component orientation but some of the parts I got from digikey are not marked. is there a diagram that shows the orientation?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture_00001.png
Views:	45
Size:	199.0 KB
ID:	58319  
TimT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old Today, 02:50   #3242
chue
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimT View Post
Hi Everyone

So my question is do the traces connect with the 4 pads anyway?

Thanks
That looks ok to me. I have a hi-res rendering of the board and it shows that the 4 pads are connected together. See attached image in the upper left.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tf530-rev3-board-top.png
Views:	44
Size:	819.2 KB
ID:	58320  
chue is offline  
Old Today, 03:14   #3243
TimT
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Savannah Ga USA
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by chue View Post
That looks ok to me. I have a hi-res rendering of the board and it shows that the 4 pads are connected together. See attached image in the upper left.

Thank you chue! anyone have a high-res image of a completed rev3 board? would be helpful for component orientation.
TimT is offline  
Old Today, 03:58   #3244
chue
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Well here's mine - As I recall all parts were marked, so I'm unsure where you are having trouble. As a side note, I do see some potential solder bridges on my board, so I will have to check it out.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1040168-board-cropped.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	830.7 KB
ID:	58321  
chue is offline  
Old Today, 06:26   #3245
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by chue View Post
Well here's mine - As I recall all parts were marked, so I'm unsure where you are having trouble. As a side note, I do see some potential solder bridges on my board, so I will have to check it out.

As for me - i see several bridges on ram cpls and also second RAM ic has bridges too
8 Bit Dreams is online now  
Old Today, 14:28   #3246
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,119
Terrible Fire Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
As for me - i see several bridges on ram cpls and also second RAM ic has bridges too


Agreed. One of the ram pins is shorting power to ground too. Microscope time. Even a cheap usb one
plasmab is online now  
Old Today, 19:36   #3247
chue
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 23
I can say that the soldering looks much better under a scope. I would attribute the bridges in the prior image to camera shake.

Here is an image of the chips under a usb scope. The image is a composite of multiple images, therefore you may see color changes. Also because of the compositing, the RAM chips are not all the same size.

I did check the RAM chips and RAM CPLD with a meter and it does not indicate shorts.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	board-stitch-all.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	482.4 KB
ID:	58323  
chue is offline  
Old Today, 19:48   #3248
chue
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 23
After checking the board again, as indicated above, I decided to do something radical.

I hinted before that I was having trouble with Diagrom when using my 68K with a relocator board. I was also seeing the dreaded "unimplemented instruction" error in this scenario.

I once again tested the 68K + relocator combination to confirm. Diagrom would again randomly show "unimplemented instruction".

After this I pulled out the Diagrom and put in my 1.3 ROM.

I put in the TF530 and was able to boot Workbench, as well as play a couple of games from floppy (Turricane II, Stunt Car Racer, Agony).

The TF530 is not "perfect" with the 1.3 ROM, as sometimes it will boot to a black screen. A simple reset will bring up the "insert disk" image.

I suspect my Diagrom setup is bad - maybe a bad eprom.

In any case, more testing needs to be done. I may try some testing from within the Workbench environment, and/or install the IDE header and Classic Workbench onto compact flash.
chue is offline  
Old Today, 20:44   #3249
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by chue View Post
After checking the board again, as indicated above, I decided to do something radical.

I hinted before that I was having trouble with Diagrom when using my 68K with a relocator board. I was also seeing the dreaded "unimplemented instruction" error in this scenario.

I once again tested the 68K + relocator combination to confirm. Diagrom would again randomly show "unimplemented instruction".

After this I pulled out the Diagrom and put in my 1.3 ROM.

I put in the TF530 and was able to boot Workbench, as well as play a couple of games from floppy (Turricane II, Stunt Car Racer, Agony).

The TF530 is not "perfect" with the 1.3 ROM, as sometimes it will boot to a black screen. A simple reset will bring up the "insert disk" image.

I suspect my Diagrom setup is bad - maybe a bad eprom.

In any case, more testing needs to be done. I may try some testing from within the Workbench environment, and/or install the IDE header and Classic Workbench onto compact flash.
If You still have Your double-wipe CPU socket - it can be the issue. It is better to swap it out to gold plated one with turned pins

Last edited by 8 Bit Dreams; Today at 22:24.
8 Bit Dreams is online now  
Old Today, 21:49   #3250
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Agreed. One of the ram pins is shorting power to ground too. Microscope time. Even a cheap usb one
I bought a cheap jewelers loupe from aliexpress recently. Great for for inspecting small stuff.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old Today, 23:52   #3251
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,119


These pins look shorted to me
plasmab is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 9 (2 members and 7 guests)
8 Bit Dreams, CRP
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listening to Amiga music with too much treble makes it sound terrible! Foebane Amiga scene 4 08 October 2016 06:30
Terrible usb drive performance? lovinggames support.FS-UAE 5 11 March 2015 09:06
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 01:41
Accelerators pmc MarketPlace 9 04 November 2009 20:23
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 08:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07007 seconds with 15 queries